Currently Online

Latest Posts

Topic: Main Menu Redesign

GunChleoc
Avatar
Joined: 2013-10-07, 15:56
Posts: 3268
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: RenderedRect
Posted at: 2020-08-11, 07:43

Nordfriese wrote:

I really don't like those leaves.

That's because they are placeholder art.

I think we should leave the code i in case an artist comes along. We can always remove them close to feature freeze.


Busy indexing nil values

Top Quote
Nordfriese
Avatar
Joined: 2017-01-17, 18:07
Posts: 1043
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: 0x55555d3a34c0
Posted at: 2020-08-11, 07:53

I'm talking only about the main menu here. The leaves do fit well to the other fullscreen menu screens, I removed them only for the main screen.

Another thing: The options and about screen currently scale to (½ screen width × ½ screen height). This looks quite cramped in 800×600, but a larger ratio is too large in widescreen. Should we give them a fixed size (like ~ 600×400) instead?


Top Quote
hessenfarmer
Avatar
Joined: 2014-12-11, 23:16
Posts: 1548
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Bavaria
Posted at: 2020-08-11, 08:08

Nordfriese wrote:

That would look good in 800×600 but it is pretty obtrusive at a larger scale:

The button background is also a bit too transparent now imho

Well , I'd like the button background and I think the bottomline with the version and copyright is looking good now as well.
The logo looks better in 800x600 because of the different screen resolution ratio, not the resolution itself. As it looks good in 800x600 which is 4:3 we should aim at having the same vertical distance between the logo and the buttons in 1920x1080 which is 16:9. then it should look pretty much the same as. Not sure however if we could get this to scale according screen height rather than width.


Top Quote
Nordfriese
Avatar
Joined: 2017-01-17, 18:07
Posts: 1043
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: 0x55555d3a34c0
Posted at: 2020-08-11, 09:42

I can make it scale in any way I want face-wink.png Will change the scaling factor calculation from width to height this evening


Top Quote
Nordfriese
Avatar
Joined: 2017-01-17, 18:07
Posts: 1043
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: 0x55555d3a34c0
Posted at: 2020-08-11, 11:11

Found some time earlier than expected.

face-smile.png

Edited: 2020-08-11, 11:11

Attachment: shot0001.jpg (857.1 KB)

Top Quote
hessenfarmer
Avatar
Joined: 2014-12-11, 23:16
Posts: 1548
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Bavaria
Posted at: 2020-08-11, 12:22

I like it this way. Thank you very much.
Let's see what others think


Top Quote
GunChleoc
Avatar
Joined: 2013-10-07, 15:56
Posts: 3268
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: RenderedRect
Posted at: 2020-08-11, 13:16

Yes, looking good.

We have a high resolution version of the logo in the media repo. I don't know if you have grabbed this yet, but the image should not be scaled up past its maximum resolution. If you have already done that, ignore this comment face-wink.png

Edited: 2020-08-11, 13:17

Busy indexing nil values

Top Quote
kaputtnik
Avatar
Joined: 2013-02-18, 20:48
Posts: 1939
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Germany
Posted at: 2020-08-11, 20:16

Nothing to complain, two objects centered is good face-smile.png

One thing: The order is now as follows:

  1. Show main splashscreen (sometimes there is a black screen before the main splashscreen appears)
  2. Blend with image
  3. Blend with new image and menu

I find step two a bit superfluous... It takes too long to get into the main menu, imho.

I would suggest to get rid of the first splashscreen. It shows the old logo and is nothing good for, imho. Instead leave the screen black and put the new logo onto the black background, if feasible at the same position where it will appear in the next screen. Then blend over directly to a new image with menu. Is this doable?


Top Quote
Nordfriese
Avatar
Joined: 2017-01-17, 18:07
Posts: 1043
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: 0x55555d3a34c0
Posted at: 2020-08-11, 20:32

Show main splashscreen (sometimes there is a black screen before the main splashscreen appears)

That is also in master. The graphics system is initializing and the images are being loaded. We cannot render anything during the second of startup.

I find step two a bit superfluous... It takes too long to get into the main menu, imho.

You can just skip it with a click or any key

I would suggest to get rid of the first splashscreen. It shows the old logo and is nothing good for, imho.

Yes it is, this is a very beautiful image! I'm not going to remove that.


Top Quote
niektory
Avatar
Joined: 2019-06-03, 20:06
Posts: 179
Ranking
At home in WL-forums
Location: Poland
Posted at: 2020-08-11, 21:19

Nordfriese wrote:

I find step two a bit superfluous... It takes too long to get into the main menu, imho.

You can just skip it with a click or any key

The last phase (when the buttons are fading in) is not skippable. It's not a big problem since if one wants to skip the intro they'll likely do it earlier, but still I think it should be either skippable or quicker.

EDIT: There also seems to be a small stripe of garbage pixels in the top-right corner of the logo (curiously, only when the window size is 1680x1050).

EDIT 2: And the options screen dropdowns don't work.

Edited: 2020-08-11, 21:38

Top Quote