Polls

Default Game Speed

Log in to vote!

Latest Posts

Topic: Atlanteans 2

king_of_nowhere
Avatar
Joined: 2014-09-15, 18:35
Posts: 1436
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Posted at: 2019-06-03, 18:25

i tried to install 9110 (windows). it still gives the crash message.

I can still playtest the map if you tell me what I'm supposed to do (besides defeat all enemies, of course)


Top Quote
hessenfarmer
Avatar
Joined: 2014-12-11, 23:16
Posts: 764
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Bavaria
Posted at: 2019-06-03, 20:23

king_of_nowhere wrote:

i tried to install 9110 (windows). it still gives the crash message.

I can still playtest the map if you tell me what I'm supposed to do (besides defeat all enemies, of course)

no wonder it crashes with 9110 as you need at least 9119 as I wrote. Fortunately new windowsbuild is available again from appveyor.
see https://ci.appveyor.com/project/widelands-dev/widelands/builds/24984701/job/7he0rk6092q6yqgu/artifacts

to test you need the initialisation completely running through as the lua scripts initialize the enemy AI players with a big economy already developed. So without the initialization the map should be fairly easy to play. question for testing is if with these settings the map can be played if the player is cautious enough. currently my own stats are 1 won 1 lost. Next question is what would be useful hints /objectives for the player to achieve a win.

thanks anyway for considering testing it for me.


Top Quote
king_of_nowhere
Avatar
Joined: 2014-09-15, 18:35
Posts: 1436
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Posted at: 2019-06-03, 20:34

I thiink i'll wait for tino to release a more recent buils. i don't trust myself with appveyor.

also, the most recent I see in your link is 9114, stilll short of what's needed.


Top Quote
hessenfarmer
Avatar
Joined: 2014-12-11, 23:16
Posts: 764
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Bavaria
Posted at: 2019-06-03, 22:36

king_of_nowhere wrote:

I thiink i'll wait for tino to release a more recent buils. i don't trust myself with appveyor.

also, the most recent I see in your link is 9114, stilll short of what's needed.

appveyor has a different numbering scheme so actually the link provided is the most actual trunk of appveyor. What are your concerns with appveyor?


Top Quote
king_of_nowhere
Avatar
Joined: 2014-09-15, 18:35
Posts: 1436
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Posted at: 2019-06-04, 01:12

hessenfarmer wrote:

What are your concerns with appveyor?

I half-read the instructions and didn't like it. I always used tino's builds, always been fine with those.


Top Quote
hessenfarmer
Avatar
Joined: 2014-12-11, 23:16
Posts: 764
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Bavaria
Posted at: 2019-06-04, 07:36

king_of_nowhere wrote:

hessenfarmer wrote:

What are your concerns with appveyor?

I half-read the instructions and didn't like it. I always used tino's builds, always been fine with those.

What instructions? Appveyor is just delivering installable files. Only difficulty is to find the correct build. But for latest trunk you just need to go to appveyor using the link from the download section. then you go down the list until you find a green marked line which reads master-##### at the end. click on it choose the build of your liking. click on it. select the artifact tab at the right. click on the link to download the installer. The link I provided is the x64 release build of latest trunk.
Just writing this as I believe Tino has some trouble to deliver his builds currently. (needs to setup his build machine again)


Top Quote
niektory
Avatar
Joined: 2019-06-03, 20:06
Posts: 31
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Posted at: 2019-06-04, 18:41

I installed the development version so I'll try testing this as well.


Top Quote
niektory
Avatar
Joined: 2019-06-03, 20:06
Posts: 31
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Posted at: 2019-06-06, 18:58

I tried it out, and won. I built a scout's house at the beginning and discovered the yellow player in time to build a castle to stop their expansion. If they built a tower there then I'd be in trouble, but thankfully they didn't so I had some time to expand in peace. They were driven out of there by the red player, which did build a tower, but much later, when I was already able to defend myself. After that it was smooth sailing.

And speaking of smooth sailing, there is a typo in the introduction: "smooth sailing to other costs" -> should be "coasts"

Edited: 2019-06-06, 19:01

Top Quote
king_of_nowhere
Avatar
Joined: 2014-09-15, 18:35
Posts: 1436
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Posted at: 2019-06-07, 22:01

i tried to get a latest trunk from appveyor, and failed. the instrucctions say that I should click on "artifacts" somewhere, but I found no such button, after following all the rest of the instructions.

Can someone just provide me a link? thanks.


Top Quote
niektory
Avatar
Joined: 2019-06-03, 20:06
Posts: 31
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Posted at: 2019-06-08, 00:33

https://ci.appveyor.com/api/buildjobs/9e3cc5tspt5nqnry/artifacts/Widelands-master-4948-Release-x64.exe

Link from this page:

https://ci.appveyor.com/project/widelands-dev/widelands/builds/25083621/job/9e3cc5tspt5nqnry/artifacts


Top Quote