Polls

Best Build 21 Screenshot

Log in to vote!

Currently Online

Latest Posts

Topic: fail to compile amazon on Ubuntu18.04

ektor
Avatar
Joined: 2016-06-16, 09:41
Posts: 79
Ranking
Likes to be here
Posted at: 2020-04-20, 11:38

Hi, I'm sorry but I try to compile for few days now amazon branch on my Ubuntu 18.04, and I have an error I don't understand.

Here I paste the result of my many trys:

https://pastebin.com/bVRCeNxn

Is someone here can help/advise me how to achieve the compilation of this amazon branch?

I just run the ./compile.sh command in the folder where widelands is installed.


Top Quote
Nordfriese
Avatar
Joined: 2017-01-17, 18:07
Posts: 933
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: 0x55555d3a34c0
Posted at: 2020-04-20, 12:02

If Google Translate translated the error message correctly (I don't speak french) it seems that git is throwing a fatal error because it's used outside a git repo.

How exactly did you fetch the repo? Did you use git clone, or downloaded a ZIP from github, or …
Also at which commit/revision exactly?


Top Quote
ektor
Avatar
Joined: 2016-06-16, 09:41
Posts: 79
Ranking
Likes to be here
Posted at: 2020-04-20, 13:41

Nordfriese wrote:

If Google Translate translated the error message correctly (I don't speak french) it seems that git is throwing a fatal error because it's used outside a git repo.

How exactly did you fetch the repo? Did you use git clone, or downloaded a ZIP from github, or …
Also at which commit/revision exactly?

I download a ZIP from github. The revision that is recommended for the TTT : https://www.widelands.org/forum/post/32292/

So it's the point ? What is the good thing to do ?


Top Quote
Nordfriese
Avatar
Joined: 2017-01-17, 18:07
Posts: 933
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: 0x55555d3a34c0
Posted at: 2020-04-20, 13:46

Those ZIP files have been giving us trouble already: https://github.com/widelands/widelands/issues/3657

Could you please edit the utils/detect_revision.py and change line 67 (pass) to return None and try to compile again?


Top Quote
Nordfriese
Avatar
Joined: 2017-01-17, 18:07
Posts: 933
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: 0x55555d3a34c0
Posted at: 2020-04-20, 13:49

Oh and according to the pasted output the content of the following files might be helpful

See also "/home/david/widelands_amazon_6762/widelands-0a481603a31ac0ae5150c6a45452e39c50ccb63e/build/CMakeFiles/CMakeOutput.log".
See also "/home/david/widelands_amazon_6762/widelands-0a481603a31ac0ae5150c6a45452e39c50ccb63e/build/CMakeFiles/CMakeError.log".

Top Quote
niektory
Avatar
Joined: 2019-06-03, 20:06
Posts: 134
Ranking
At home in WL-forums
Location: Poland
Posted at: 2020-04-20, 17:01

Nordfriese wrote:

Those ZIP files have been giving us trouble already: https://github.com/widelands/widelands/issues/3657

Could you please edit the utils/detect_revision.py and change line 67 (pass) to return None and try to compile again?

This will not change anything. Despite the "fatal" error message the build should continue fine. detect_revision.py is not the problem here. The problem that stops the build is with SDL2_INCLUDE_DIR. And it's probably this issue: SDL2_INCLUDE_DIR-NOTFOUND #3783.

@Ektor: Could you download (right click -> save link target as...) this file: FindSDL2.cmake and put it in this folder (overwrite the previous file): /home/david/widelands_amazon_6762/widelands-0a481603a31ac0ae5150c6a45452e39c50ccb63e/cmake/Modules/

Then try again?

Also, this is not related to your problem, but the compilation will go faster if you use this command:

./compile.sh --no-website --skip-tests --release

Top Quote
ektor
Avatar
Joined: 2016-06-16, 09:41
Posts: 79
Ranking
Likes to be here
Posted at: 2020-04-20, 17:03

Nordfriese wrote:

Those ZIP files have been giving us trouble already: https://github.com/widelands/widelands/issues/3657

Could you please edit the utils/detect_revision.py and change line 67 (pass) to return None and try to compile again?

It does not work.

Nordfriese wrote:

Oh and according to the pasted output the content of the following files might be helpful

See also "/home/david/widelands_amazon_6762/widelands-0a481603a31ac0ae5150c6a45452e39c50ccb63e/build/CMakeFiles/CMakeOutput.log". See also "/home/david/widelands_amazon_6762/widelands-0a481603a31ac0ae5150c6a45452e39c50ccb63e/build/CMakeFiles/CMakeError.log".

OK, but I'm not a developer, and for me it's hard to understand the help it could provide to me...

Well for me,it seem an impossible thing to compile widelands...

Sorry to disturb face-smile.png I'll stay with the dev ppa, thanks Nordfriese!

==Edit:==

niektory wrote:

Nordfriese wrote:

Those ZIP files have been giving us trouble already: https://github.com/widelands/widelands/issues/3657

Could you please edit the utils/detect_revision.py and change line 67 (pass) to return None and try to compile again?

This will not change anything. Despite the "fatal" error message the build should continue fine. detect_revision.py is not the problem here. The problem that stops the build is with SDL2_INCLUDE_DIR. And it's probably this issue: SDL2_INCLUDE_DIR-NOTFOUND #3783.

@Ektor: Could you download (right click -> save link target as...) this file: FindSDL2.cmake and put it in this folder (overwrite the previous file): /home/david/widelands_amazon_6762/widelands-0a481603a31ac0ae5150c6a45452e39c50ccb63e/cmake/Modules/

Then try again?

Also, this is not related to your problem, but the compilation will go faster if you use this command: ./compile.sh --no-website --skip-tests --release

OK, it's compiling right now :) waiting for the result...

Edited: 2020-04-20, 17:57

Top Quote
ektor
Avatar
Joined: 2016-06-16, 09:41
Posts: 79
Ranking
Likes to be here
Posted at: 2020-04-20, 19:58

niektory wrote: @Ektor: Could you download (right click -> save link target as...) this file: FindSDL2.cmake and put it in this folder (overwrite the previous file): /home/david/widelands_amazon_6762/widelands-0a481603a31ac0ae5150c6a45452e39c50ccb63e/cmake/Modules/

Then try again?

Also, this is not related to your problem, but the compilation will go faster if you use this command: ./compile.sh --no-website --skip-tests --release

It work fine now, thanks a lot niektory face-smile.png


Top Quote
niektory
Avatar
Joined: 2019-06-03, 20:06
Posts: 134
Ranking
At home in WL-forums
Location: Poland
Posted at: 2020-04-20, 20:30

Glad to read that! face-smile.png Feel free to ask again if you have any other trouble.


Top Quote
hessenfarmer
Avatar
Joined: 2014-12-11, 23:16
Posts: 1419
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Bavaria
Posted at: 2020-04-20, 20:48

Glad to hear you could at least try the amazons now. Happy you don't gave up. face-smile.png


Top Quote