Currently Online

Latest Posts

Topic: fail to compile amazon on Ubuntu18.04

WorldSavior
Avatar
Joined: 2016-10-15, 04:10
Posts: 1687
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: North of Germany
Posted at: 2020-05-31, 19:43

Nordfriese wrote:

Technically "REVDETECT-BROKEN-PLEASE-REPORT-THIS" is as valid a version string as e.g. "r24618[00f7e94@master] (Release)" so there are no problems except

  • when you want to report a bug against that version, or

  • when you want to know whether people in the multiplayer lobby are using the same version.

Other than that everything will work fine.

Okay


Top Quote
hessenfarmer
Avatar
Joined: 2014-12-11, 23:16
Posts: 1389
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Bavaria
Posted at: 2020-05-31, 22:01

I believe there might be a workaround. After the first cmake run a textfile named VERSION is created in the build folder editing this to the right Version would solve the issue to not beeing able to determine the version in Multiplayer.


Top Quote
WorldSavior
Avatar
Joined: 2016-10-15, 04:10
Posts: 1687
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: North of Germany
Posted at: 2020-05-31, 22:14

hessenfarmer wrote:

I believe there might be a workaround. After the first cmake run a textfile named VERSION is created in the build folder editing this to the right Version would solve the issue to not beeing able to determine the version in Multiplayer.

how does the right Version exactly look like? Simply editing into something else doesn't change anything.


Top Quote
hessenfarmer
Avatar
Joined: 2014-12-11, 23:16
Posts: 1389
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Bavaria
Posted at: 2020-05-31, 22:25

well. I thought but weren't sute that editing it to any string and rerunning cmake / compile should end in the new string being incorporated into the game if not I need to test.


Top Quote
WorldSavior
Avatar
Joined: 2016-10-15, 04:10
Posts: 1687
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: North of Germany
Posted at: 2020-05-31, 22:26

I didn't make the rerun face-wink.png


Top Quote
Nordfriese
Avatar
Joined: 2017-01-17, 18:07
Posts: 900
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: 0x55555d3a34c0
Posted at: 2020-05-31, 22:37

I think the changes to the VERSION file will be overwritten on every cmake run. What will certainly work though is to add a new file WL_RELEASE with the desired version string. (edit: and then recompiling…)

Edited: 2020-05-31, 22:37

Top Quote
hessenfarmer
Avatar
Joined: 2014-12-11, 23:16
Posts: 1389
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Bavaria
Posted at: 2020-05-31, 23:35

Nordfriese wrote:

I think the changes to the VERSION file will be overwritten on every cmake run. What will certainly work though is to add a new file WL_RELEASE with the desired version string. (edit: and then recompiling…)

ooops you are right I mixed these things up


Top Quote
WorldSavior
Avatar
Joined: 2016-10-15, 04:10
Posts: 1687
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: North of Germany
Posted at: 2020-06-04, 18:08

Nordfriese wrote:

I think the changes to the VERSION file will be overwritten on every cmake run. What will certainly work though is to add a new file WL_RELEASE with the desired version string. (edit: and then recompiling…)

Interesting. What exactly means recompiling here? Simply executing the compile command once more?


Top Quote
Nordfriese
Avatar
Joined: 2017-01-17, 18:07
Posts: 900
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: 0x55555d3a34c0
Posted at: 2020-06-04, 19:07

Yes, just run ./compile.sh -r -w -s -t once again. That will take only a minute if nothing else has changed since the last complete compilation.


Top Quote
WorldSavior
Avatar
Joined: 2016-10-15, 04:10
Posts: 1687
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: North of Germany
Posted at: 2020-06-06, 14:02

It worked : )


Top Quote