Important Dates

Currently Online

Latest Posts

Topic: I suck at this game

WorldSavior
Avatar
Joined: 2016-10-15, 04:10
Posts: 1493
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: North of Germany
Posted at: 2020-03-12, 21:13

GunChleoc wrote:

+1 and implemented

https://github.com/widelands/widelands/pull/3765/

Thanks face-smile.png


“It's a threat to our planet to believe that someone else will save it.” - Robert Swan

Top Quote
mxb2001
Avatar
Joined: 2019-05-20, 18:49
Posts: 61
Ranking
Likes to be here
Posted at: 2020-03-12, 21:44

That is good idea especially since sometimes the stock window gets closed and when you reopen it it defaults to Tab 1 (total). I've found the warehouse tab to far more useful so far. BTW will the workers tabs be switched also? That way warehouse are 1,2 and totals 3,4.


Top Quote
GunChleoc
Avatar
Joined: 2013-10-07, 15:56
Posts: 3159
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: RenderedRect
Posted at: 2020-03-13, 06:02

I haven't switched anything, just activated the 3rd tab when the window opens.


Busy indexing nil values

Top Quote
kaputtnik
Avatar
Joined: 2013-02-18, 20:48
Posts: 1810
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Germany
Posted at: 2020-03-13, 07:52

GunChleoc wrote:

I haven't switched anything, just activated the 3rd tab when the window opens.

Hm, from a UI perspective this isn't what one would expect if a window with tabs get opened. This would be the first window in this game where the first tab isn't activated, so it breaks usual behavior.

I think switching the tabs (1. Wares in warehouses, 2. workers in warehouses, 3. wares overall, 4. workers overall) is also uncommon.

What about having two windows of wares statistics:

  1. Wares overall
  2. Wares in warehouses

Does someone uses the first and second tab in this statistic at all? Maybe those tabs can just be removed?


Top Quote
Nordfriese
Avatar
Joined: 2017-01-17, 18:07
Posts: 701
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: 0x55555d3a34c0
Posted at: 2020-03-13, 10:12

I guess the information how many wares you have in total can be useful at times… but not so prominently placed. Having two windows wouldn't make sense imho. But this:

I think switching the tabs (1. Wares in warehouses, 2. workers in warehouses, 3. wares overall, 4. workers overall) is also uncommon.

I don't think it's uncommon at all, I'd vote for changing the tabs order like this.


Top Quote
JanO
Avatar
Joined: 2015-08-02, 11:56
Posts: 120
Ranking
At home in WL-forums
Posted at: 2020-03-13, 11:48

If finding a reasonable order for the tabs is causing so much trouble, just make the tabs switchable in a circular way. Active tab may always in first (or second?) position. If the next tab is chosen, its position is shifted left and the first gets moved to the end.

Of course, this would be the maximum possible codework for this change...

Edited: 2020-03-13, 11:48

Top Quote
niektory
Avatar
Joined: 2019-06-03, 20:06
Posts: 67
Ranking
Likes to be here
Location: Poland
Posted at: 2020-03-13, 15:08

An alternative way of doing this could be to have only 2 tabs and a checkbox "Show only wares/workers in warehouses".


Top Quote
mxb2001
Avatar
Joined: 2019-05-20, 18:49
Posts: 61
Ranking
Likes to be here
Posted at: 2020-03-13, 18:28

niektory wrote:

An alternative way of doing this could be to have only 2 tabs and a checkbox "Show only wares/workers in warehouses".

Really good idea, lots of games are like that. Only it should either be a checkbox for totals or else the checkbox would need to be selected by default. : )


Top Quote
WorldSavior
Avatar
Joined: 2016-10-15, 04:10
Posts: 1493
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: North of Germany
Posted at: 2020-03-13, 19:16

niektory wrote:

An alternative way of doing this could be to have only 2 tabs and a checkbox "Show only wares/workers in warehouses".

This is also possible, yes. The checkbox should be close to the tabs.

JanO wrote:

If finding a reasonable order for the tabs is causing so much trouble, just make the tabs switchable in a circular way. Active tab may always in first (or second?) position. If the next tab is chosen, its position is shifted left and the first gets moved to the end.

Of course, this would be the maximum possible codework for this change...

No good solution imho

Nordfriese wrote:

I guess the information how many wares you have in total can be useful at times… but not so prominently placed. Having two windows wouldn't make sense imho.

Two windows could also be a solution if it's like this:

  1. The current window, but by default the third tab is chosen

  2. A copy of the current window, by default the first tab is chosen and it has another button of the keyboard, not "i"

The advantage would be that one could look at two things the same time

But this:

I think switching the tabs (1. Wares in warehouses, 2. workers in warehouses, 3. wares overall, 4. workers overall) is also uncommon.

I don't think it's uncommon at all, I'd vote for changing the tabs order like this.

I'm against changing the order because it could be confusing, which is worse than the fact that a third tab is the default at one window.

kaputtnik wrote:

GunChleoc wrote:

I haven't switched anything, just activated the 3rd tab when the window opens.

Hm, from a UI perspective this isn't what one would expect if a window with tabs get opened. This would be the first window in this game where the first tab isn't activated, so it breaks usual behavior.

Or one is flexible and doesn't expect it that a new window shows always the first tab face-wink.png

Does someone uses the first and second tab in this statistic at all?

Yes, both

Maybe those tabs can just be removed?

no


“It's a threat to our planet to believe that someone else will save it.” - Robert Swan

Top Quote
GunChleoc
Avatar
Joined: 2013-10-07, 15:56
Posts: 3159
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: RenderedRect
Posted at: 2020-03-13, 19:40

JanO wrote:

If finding a reasonable order for the tabs is causing so much trouble, just make the tabs switchable in a circular way. Active tab may always in first (or second?) position. If the next tab is chosen, its position is shifted left and the first gets moved to the end.

Of course, this would be the maximum possible codework for this change...

No good solution imho

-1 from me on this one, because it messes up everybody's muscle memory. I still remember how much I hated it when Office decided to show the most recently used menu entries on top. They removed the feature with the version after that, because I wasn't the only one cursing at the screen.


Busy indexing nil values

Top Quote