Latest Posts

Topic: How to download precompiled linux binaries

lesmana

Topic Opener
Ranking
Just found this site
Posted at: 2012-03-08, 17:34

Since build 16 the developer team have decided to no longer provide precompiled linux binaries. Linux users should compile themselves. It is easy, they say.

Compiling widelands is indeed easy, for me. I am an experienced software developer, so I cannot say how easy it is for non-developers. I also have root privileges on my system. If you don't have root privileges then compiling can become very complicated very fast.

How can it become complicated? Widelands has a lot of dependencies. The build guide has a list of required dev packages for different linux distributions. When you are missing some dev packages, and you have no root privileges, then you have to search and download those packages yourself. You will have to look for the correct version, and you better hope those packages do not have any further dependencies.

Even worse, vanilla ubuntu comes without gcc or cmake or other dev tools installed. You can still try and download gcc and all the other tools yourself, but trying to compile something when you don't have the standard dev tools installed is a practice in frustration.

So trying to compile without root privileges, when you don't happen to already have everything installed, is really really hard.

There are precompiled binaries in a PPA provided by timowi. But again, this requires root privileges to setup.

It seems that you are out of luck trying to play widelands on a system where you don't have root privileges. But don't give up just yet. I have found a way to download the precompiled binaries from timowi's PPA without needing root privileges. It works at least on ubuntu systems, perhaps also on other distributions. I have written a crude script for this. If you want to do everything manually then follow these steps:

1. Go to timowi's PPA: https://launchpad.net/~timo-wingender/+archive/ppa