Latest Posts

Topic: Automatic wordlwide waterlevel?

Astuur
Avatar
Joined: 2009-02-28, 10:08
Posts: 733
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Frankfurt / Germany
Posted at: 2011-05-15, 19:17

I am wondering whether an water (i.e. "ocean") is really something that should be an editable terrain.
I think an automatism that would fill an altitude profile up to a configurable level with an auto-leveling ocean, and so automatically form a shoreline, would be nice to have.
I know, that we then will need something else for waters inside of a landmass (rivers, lakes, ponds ect.), but perhaps it could be possible.


Being no programmer, I apologize for all my suggestions that imply undue workload and for other misjudgements due to lack of expertise or relevant skills.
I am on Win32, have no means to compile, and rely on prefabricated distributions (Thanks to Tino).

Top Quote
alankauesellfeld
Joined: 2011-05-15, 19:15
Posts: 1
Ranking
Just found this site
Location: jaragua do sul
Posted at: 2011-05-15, 20:45

como fasso para jogar?


alan

Top Quote
martin
Joined: 2011-01-13, 14:21
Posts: 65
Ranking
Likes to be here
Posted at: 2011-05-16, 11:03

alankauesellfeld wrote:

como fasso para jogar?

Hi alan and welcome to the widelands forum! If Google translated your question right ;), you want to know how to play widelands. At first, you should download and install the game on your computer - this is not a browser game. After installing, you can simply start it. Maybe, you will have to change the game to your language via the options menu. Then, I recommend playing the tutorial ("Joga o Tutorial") which is the uppermost button in the game's main menu. As Portuguese is one of the quite well-translated languages, you should be able to quickly become familiar with the game face-smile.png

Please also consider to write English posts in this forum, because not everyone here is likely to understand Portuguese face-wink.png Or do you speak German, Spanish or French? Then, you can use the corresponding sub-forum. I'm sorry that we do not have one for your language...

Good luck! martin

Edited: 2011-05-16, 11:09

Top Quote
SirVer
Joined: 2009-02-19, 15:18
Posts: 1440
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Germany - Munich
Posted at: 2011-05-17, 16:02

To reply to the original post: I think of water as not being different in any ways than others. Using scripts it is already quite easy to relevel all water tiles. And finally, I can pull out the "realism" argument that I find so invalid for games to use it myself for once: the oceans are not level on the earth.

Also, the automatism that you suggest is not so easy to implement in widelands: I faced this problem with the first atlantean mission. You basically have to decide if a triangle should be water or land while you only have the three corner points height defined. If you do this after some heuristic (e.g. 50% of the area of the triangle is below water, so it should be water) you get zig zags at the border that look strange.


Top Quote
Astuur
Avatar
Joined: 2009-02-28, 10:08
Posts: 733
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Frankfurt / Germany
Posted at: 2011-05-17, 16:56

SirVer wrote: And finally, I can pull out the "realism" argument that I find so invalid for games to use it myself for once: the oceans are not level on the earth.

You're not going to program tides into WL, are you face-smile.png

Also, the automatism that you suggest is not so easy to implement in widelands: I faced this problem with the first atlantean mission. You basically have to decide if a triangle should be water or land while you only have the three corner points height defined. If you do this after some heuristic (e.g. 50% of the area of the triangle is below water, so it should be water) you get zig zags at the border that look strange.

The old problem: See my new sig ... So that a "no" and it's okay. I had hoped that --- to the opposite, of what you say -- it might form nicer (more irregular) coastlines.


Being no programmer, I apologize for all my suggestions that imply undue workload and for other misjudgements due to lack of expertise or relevant skills.
I am on Win32, have no means to compile, and rely on prefabricated distributions (Thanks to Tino).

Top Quote