Latest Posts

Topic: Campaign screen stuck on loading

tahvkin
Avatar
Topic Opener
Joined: 2024-01-11, 13:12
Posts: 12
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Posted at: 2024-01-11, 13:15

Hi

Starting any campaign and it gets stuck at "Loading Barbarians etc. : Immovables (2/6)". Have reinstalled the game several times but same....


Top Quote
hessenfarmer
Avatar
Joined: 2014-12-11, 23:16
Posts: 2639
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Bavaria
Posted at: 2024-01-11, 13:28

tahvkin wrote:

Hi

Starting any campaign and it gets stuck at "Loading Barbarians etc. : Immovables (2/6)". Have reinstalled the game several times but same....

to have any chance of doing something about this, we would need some further information:
- Which Operating System are you using?
- which version of widelands are you using?
- did you install Widelands for the first time or did you install over a previous version?


Top Quote
tahvkin
Avatar
Topic Opener
Joined: 2024-01-11, 13:12
Posts: 12
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Posted at: 2024-01-11, 15:39

Thank you for the reply. I'm using Win 11 Home 64-bit Widelands is the latest version 1.1 I have had Widelands in the past, but had uninstalled it (abt a year ago or so). So now installe it again.


Top Quote
hessenfarmer
Avatar
Joined: 2014-12-11, 23:16
Posts: 2639
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Bavaria
Posted at: 2024-01-11, 19:05

ok so please try the following steps:
- Uninstall Widelands another time please.
- ensure that the installation Folder is deleted completely (you may have to delete it manually
- please check your personal User folder for the existence of the ./widelands folder and delete this as well if present
- Reinstall Widelands to a custom folder (e.g. Widelands_New)
- see if it works now


Top Quote
tahvkin
Avatar
Topic Opener
Joined: 2024-01-11, 13:12
Posts: 12
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Posted at: 2024-01-12, 14:44

Did all that + searched and deleted all named Widelands folders on drives etc, reinstalled Widelands and still same problem... If anybody has any more suggestions, I'm open for anything;(


Top Quote
Nordfriese
Avatar
Joined: 2017-01-17, 18:07
Posts: 1916
OS: Debian Unstable
Version: Latest master
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: 0x55555d3a34c0
Posted at: 2024-01-12, 14:54

Hi,
please try to start Widelands with verbose logging and post the complete log output to help diagnose where exactly the problem happens. Instructions how to get a debug log on Windows are here:
https://www.widelands.org/wiki/Technical%20FAQ/#how-do-i-get-log-output-in-windows-for-debugging
and after widelands.exe, add the flag --verbose

Also, does this happen only with campaigns or with regular games as well?


Top Quote
tahvkin
Avatar
Topic Opener
Joined: 2024-01-11, 13:12
Posts: 12
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Posted at: 2024-01-12, 15:13

It happens in any campaign or single player map. the -verbose did not do anything but following the instructions >log.txt, received following info in the stdout.txt file

This is Widelands version 1.1 Release
[00:00:00.000 real] INFO: Set home directory: C:\Users\tahvk\.widelands
[00:00:00.000 real] INFO: Set configuration file: C:\Users\tahvk\.widelands\config
[00:00:00.000 real] INFO: Widelands executable directory: D:\Games\Widelands_newww
[00:00:00.001 real] WARNING: No locale translations found in D:\Games\Widelands_newww\data\locale
[00:00:00.003 real] INFO: selected language: (system language)
[00:00:00.010 real] INFO: Adding directory: D:\Games\Widelands_newww\data
[00:00:00.011 real] WARNING: No locale translations found in D:\Games\Widelands_newww\data\locale
[00:00:00.011 real] INFO: selected language: (system language)
[00:00:00.016 real] INFO: Byte order: little-endian
[00:00:00.462 real] INFO: Graphics: Try to set Videomode 800x600
[00:00:00.554 real] INFO: Graphics: OpenGL: Version "4.6.0 NVIDIA 546.29"
[00:00:00.554 real] INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_RED_SIZE is 8
[00:00:00.554 real] INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_GREEN_SIZE is 8
[00:00:00.554 real] INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_BLUE_SIZE is 8
[00:00:00.554 real] INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_ALPHA_SIZE is 0
[00:00:00.554 real] INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_BUFFER_SIZE is 24
[00:00:00.554 real] INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_DOUBLEBUFFER is 1
[00:00:00.554 real] INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_DEPTH_SIZE is 24
[00:00:00.554 real] INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_STENCIL_SIZE is 0
[00:00:00.554 real] INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_ACCUM_RED_SIZE is 16
[00:00:00.554 real] INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_ACCUM_GREEN_SIZE is 16
[00:00:00.554 real] INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_ACCUM_BLUE_SIZE is 16
[00:00:00.554 real] INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_ACCUM_ALPHA_SIZE is 16
[00:00:00.554 real] INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_STEREO is 0
[00:00:00.554 real] INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_MULTISAMPLEBUFFERS is 0
[00:00:00.555 real] INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_MULTISAMPLESAMPLES is 0
[00:00:00.555 real] INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_ACCELERATED_VISUAL is 1
[00:00:00.555 real] INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_CONTEXT_MAJOR_VERSION is 2
[00:00:00.555 real] INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_CONTEXT_MINOR_VERSION is 1
[00:00:00.555 real] INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_CONTEXT_FLAGS is 0
[00:00:00.555 real] INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_CONTEXT_PROFILE_MASK is 0
[00:00:00.555 real] INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_SHARE_WITH_CURRENT_CONTEXT is 0
[00:00:00.555 real] INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_FRAMEBUFFER_SRGB_CAPABLE is 0
[00:00:00.555 real] INFO: Graphics: OpenGL: Double buffering enabled
[00:00:00.555 real] INFO: Graphics: OpenGL: Max texture size: 32768
[00:00:00.555 real] INFO: Graphics: OpenGL: ShadingLanguage: "4.60 NVIDIA"
[00:00:00.556 real] INFO: **** GRAPHICS REPORT ****
[00:00:00.556 real] INFO: VIDEO DRIVER windows
[00:00:00.556 real] INFO: Display #0: 1920x1080 @ 60hz SDL_PIXELFORMAT_RGB888
[00:00:00.556 real] INFO: Display #1: 1920x1080 @ 60hz SDL_PIXELFORMAT_RGB888
[00:00:00.778 real] INFO: **** SOUND REPORT ****
[00:00:00.778 real] INFO: SDL version: 2.24.1
[00:00:00.778 real] INFO: SDL_mixer version: 2.6.2
[00:00:00.778 real] INFO: **** END SOUND REPORT ****
[00:00:01.048 real] INFO: Songset: Loaded song "music\intro.ogg"
[00:00:01.353 real] INFO: Songset: Loaded song "music\menu.ogg"
[00:00:07.995 real] WARNING: There's no configuration file, using default values.

Edited by kaputtnik: Please use codeblocks

Edited: 2024-01-12, 15:21

Top Quote
tahvkin
Avatar
Topic Opener
Joined: 2024-01-11, 13:12
Posts: 12
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Posted at: 2024-01-12, 15:18

Nordfriese wrote:

Hi,
please try to start Widelands with verbose logging and post the complete log output to help diagnose where exactly the problem happens. Instructions how to get a debug log on Windows are here:
https://www.widelands.org/wiki/Technical%20FAQ/#how-do-i-get-log-output-in-windows-for-debugging
and after widelands.exe, add the flag --verbose

Also, does this happen only with campaigns or with regular games as well?

Ok managed to do the Verbose (did not notice -- in front

This is Widelands version 1.1 Release
[00:00:00.000 real] INFO: Set home directory: C:\Users\tahvk\.widelands
[00:00:00.000 real] INFO: Set configuration file: C:\Users\tahvk\.widelands\config
[00:00:00.000 real] INFO: Widelands executable directory: D:\Games\Widelands_newww
[00:00:00.000 real] WARNING: No locale translations found in D:\Games\Widelands_newww\data\locale
[00:00:00.002 real] INFO: selected language: (system language)
[00:00:00.010 real] INFO: Setting initializer thread.
[00:00:00.010 real] INFO: Adding directory: D:\Games\Widelands_newww\data
[00:00:00.010 real] WARNING: No locale translations found in D:\Games\Widelands_newww\data\locale
[00:00:00.010 real] INFO: selected language: (system language)
[00:00:00.015 real] INFO: Byte order: little-endian
[00:00:00.541 real] INFO: Graphics: Try to set Videomode 800x600
[00:00:00.639 real] INFO: Graphics: OpenGL: Version "4.6.0 NVIDIA 546.29"
[00:00:00.640 real] INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_RED_SIZE is 8
[00:00:00.640 real] INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_GREEN_SIZE is 8
[00:00:00.640 real] INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_BLUE_SIZE is 8
[00:00:00.640 real] INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_ALPHA_SIZE is 0
[00:00:00.640 real] INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_BUFFER_SIZE is 24
[00:00:00.640 real] INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_DOUBLEBUFFER is 1
[00:00:00.640 real] INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_DEPTH_SIZE is 24
[00:00:00.640 real] INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_STENCIL_SIZE is 0
[00:00:00.640 real] INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_ACCUM_RED_SIZE is 16
[00:00:00.640 real] INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_ACCUM_GREEN_SIZE is 16
[00:00:00.640 real] INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_ACCUM_BLUE_SIZE is 16
[00:00:00.640 real] INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_ACCUM_ALPHA_SIZE is 16
[00:00:00.640 real] INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_STEREO is 0
[00:00:00.640 real] INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_MULTISAMPLEBUFFERS is 0
[00:00:00.640 real] INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_MULTISAMPLESAMPLES is 0
[00:00:00.640 real] INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_ACCELERATED_VISUAL is 1
[00:00:00.640 real] INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_CONTEXT_MAJOR_VERSION is 2
[00:00:00.640 real] INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_CONTEXT_MINOR_VERSION is 1
[00:00:00.640 real] INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_CONTEXT_FLAGS is 0
[00:00:00.640 real] INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_CONTEXT_PROFILE_MASK is 0
[00:00:00.640 real] INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_SHARE_WITH_CURRENT_CONTEXT is 0
[00:00:00.640 real] INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_FRAMEBUFFER_SRGB_CAPABLE is 0
[00:00:00.640 real] INFO: Graphics: OpenGL: Double buffering enabled
[00:00:00.640 real] INFO: Graphics: OpenGL: Max texture size: 32768
[00:00:00.640 real] INFO: Graphics: OpenGL: ShadingLanguage: "4.60 NVIDIA"
[00:00:00.642 real] INFO: **** GRAPHICS REPORT ****
[00:00:00.642 real] INFO: VIDEO DRIVER windows
[00:00:00.642 real] INFO: Display #0: 1920x1080 @ 60hz SDL_PIXELFORMAT_RGB888
[00:00:00.642 real] INFO: Display #1: 1920x1080 @ 60hz SDL_PIXELFORMAT_RGB888
[00:00:00.642 real] INFO: **** END GRAPHICS REPORT ****
[00:00:00.642 real] INFO: Rebuilding texture atlas
[00:00:00.861 real] INFO: **** SOUND REPORT ****
[00:00:00.861 real] INFO: SDL version: 2.24.1
[00:00:00.861 real] INFO: SDL_mixer version: 2.6.2
[00:00:00.861 real] INFO: **** END SOUND REPORT ****
[00:00:01.138 real] INFO: Style Manager: Reading style templates took 11ms
[00:00:01.138 real] INFO: Setting logic thread.
[00:00:01.141 real] INFO: Songset: Loaded song "music\intro.ogg"
[00:00:01.432 real] INFO: Registering the descriptions took 201ms
[00:00:01.433 real] INFO: Initializing economy serial
[00:00:01.434 real] INFO: lastserial: 0
[00:00:01.456 real] INFO: Songset: Loaded song "music\menu.ogg"
[00:00:15.550 real] INFO: Registering the descriptions took 200ms
[00:00:15.551 real] INFO: Initializing economy serial
[00:00:15.552 real] INFO: Initializing economy serial
[00:00:15.767 real] INFO: Registering the descriptions took 198ms
[00:00:16.903 real] INFO: ┏━ Loading barbarians
[00:00:16.903 real] INFO: ┃    Ships
[00:00:16.920 real] INFO: ┃    Immovables

Edited by kaputtnik: Please use codeblocks

Edited: 2024-01-12, 15:21

Top Quote
knarf
Avatar
Joined: 2024-01-03, 21:20
Posts: 37
OS: Debian
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Posted at: 2024-01-13, 11:11

Before others need to look it up: this usually should look tike this:

[00:00:16.271 real] INFO: Registering the descriptions took 20ms
[00:00:16.477 real] INFO: ┏━ Loading barbarians
[00:00:16.477 real] INFO: ┃    Ships
[00:00:16.494 real] INFO: ┃    Immovables
[00:00:16.545 real] INFO: ┃    Wares
[00:00:16.563 real] INFO: ┃    Workers
[00:00:16.712 real] INFO: ┃    Buildings
[00:00:16.814 real] INFO: ┃    Frontiers, flags and roads
[00:00:16.814 real] INFO: ┃    Finalizing
[00:00:16.814 real] INFO: ┗━ took 337ms
[00:00:16.829 real] INFO: Reading Elemental Data ... 
[00:00:16.829 real] INFO: Reading Player Names And Tribe Data ... 
[00:00:16.829 real] INFO: Reading Port Spaces Data ... 

Top Quote
tahvkin
Avatar
Topic Opener
Joined: 2024-01-11, 13:12
Posts: 12
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Posted at: 2024-01-13, 14:30

OK update. The game seems to move forward from the Immovables loading after abt 20 minutes and then starts up ok. So basically every game I start I have to wait at the Immovables loading screen.

That does not seem right. Any ideas why it gets stuck holding there for such a long time?


Top Quote