Latest Posts

Topic: SVN builds stopped working in Vista

madtumat
Joined: 2009-02-27, 02:59
Posts: 39
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Posted at: 2009-04-04, 15:56

I'm not sure what has happened, but the latest SVN builds suddenly stopped functioning in Vista. I reinstalled, and this did not help. I get a message about CONFIG missing in STDOUT, but the config files are present. I think something might be wrong with the dat files somehow. Build 13rc still works.

What happened to the attach option? I was going to send a replay.

Maddy


Top Quote
madtumat
Joined: 2009-02-27, 02:59
Posts: 39
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Posted at: 2009-04-04, 16:46

The problem has also started in Windows XP.


Top Quote
madtumat
Joined: 2009-02-27, 02:59
Posts: 39
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Posted at: 2009-04-04, 16:54

I guess I should explain what has stopped functioning.......

The maps load, but I cannot build any buildings or flags. I wonder if this has to do with my importation of old maps?

Maddy


Top Quote
Ex-Member
Avatar
Joined: 2009-02-26, 11:50
Posts: 70
Ranking
Likes to be here
Posted at: 2009-04-04, 17:01

Try removing ALL files (from any old builds, all config files and such) and downloading again. I'm not a windows user, or neither experienced these problems, but this might help.


Top Quote
madtumat
Joined: 2009-02-27, 02:59
Posts: 39
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Posted at: 2009-04-04, 17:14

Nope. Removing the old maps or reinstalling from scratch did not solve the problem. I wonder if the new virus going around has found a new home on my computers.

Maddy


Top Quote
SirVer
Joined: 2009-02-19, 15:18
Posts: 1440
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Germany - Munich
Posted at: 2009-04-04, 18:11

That seems pretty unlikely. Have you had a look at stdout.txt and stderr.txt?


Top Quote
Nasenbaer
Avatar
Joined: 2009-02-21, 18:17
Posts: 829
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Germany
Posted at: 2009-04-04, 18:57

And even more questions: Are you using the builds from widelands.8-schuss.de ? if yes, it would be nice to know if the versions are still running on TinoM's Windows - perhaps there's just something wrong with his compile... face-smile.png

Edited: 2009-04-04, 18:58

Top Quote
madtumat
Joined: 2009-02-27, 02:59
Posts: 39
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Posted at: 2009-04-05, 01:06

My files were in different locations in the computer, so I don't think one could contaminate the other. SVN3671 still works in XP, but not SVN3753. However, I will try a clean sweep later once I decide what I want to try to save and what to scrap.

Yes, these are the buildsf or 8-schuss.de

Stdout indicates a config file is missing. Stderr is blank.

Maddy


Top Quote
Astuur
Avatar
Joined: 2009-02-28, 10:08
Posts: 733
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Frankfurt / Germany
Posted at: 2009-04-05, 11:11

madtumat wrote: My files were in different locations in the computer, so I don't think one could contaminate the other. SVN3671 still works in XP, but not SVN3753. >Yes, these are the buildsf or 8-schuss.de

I'm using svn3753 on XPhome Service Pack 3 without any problem. It's Tino's compilation. However I have modified some conf files and replaced some .pngs etc. I will do a clean reinstall of Tino's original version and come back to report. Can't comment on Vista though.

Tested a clean vrsion: No problems

Edited: 2009-04-06, 07:10

Being no programmer, I apologize for all my suggestions that imply undue workload and for other misjudgements due to lack of expertise or relevant skills.
I am on Win32, have no means to compile, and rely on prefabricated distributions (Thanks to Tino).

Top Quote
Nasenbaer
Avatar
Joined: 2009-02-21, 18:17
Posts: 829
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Germany
Posted at: 2009-04-05, 11:13

Okay I tested SVN3753 on wine and on Windows 2008 and in both cases it worked just fine... Any other suggestions? Are there perhaps some other versions of the libraries widelands uses installed? Take a look in [Windows]System32 if there are files named like the Widelands *.dll files.


Top Quote