Latest Posts

Topic: Settlers 2 map conversion

eldarion
Avatar
Joined: 2021-04-11, 01:23
Posts: 4
Ranking
Just found this site
Posted at: 2021-04-11, 01:28

First of all, thank you to the team for creating this game. I am having a lot of fun with Widelands.

My question to you is if there is any way to convert the Settlers 2 maps - user made and the campaign maps - to Widelands. Of course, when i say the campaign maps i am talking on the actual maps, not the campaign scripting. I am aware that it is not possible.

Thank you in advance and keep the great work!

Edited: 2021-04-11, 01:30

Top Quote
Nordfriese
Avatar
Joined: 2017-01-17, 18:07
Posts: 1433
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: 0x55555d3a34c0
Posted at: 2021-04-11, 11:18

Hi eldarion and welcome to the forum face-smile.png

Widelands supports loading S2 maps, so you only need to place a map file in your Widelands home directory, and the game will offer it on the map select screens when starting a new game and when loading a map in the editor. The editor also allows to edit such maps and resave them in Widelands's map format.


Top Quote
eldarion
Avatar
Joined: 2021-04-11, 01:23
Posts: 4
Ranking
Just found this site
Posted at: 2021-04-11, 15:13

Nordfriese wrote:

Hi eldarion and welcome to the forum face-smile.png

Widelands supports loading S2 maps, so you only need to place a map file in your Widelands home directory, and the game will offer it on the map select screens when starting a new game and when loading a map in the editor. The editor also allows to edit such maps and resave them in Widelands's map format.

Thanks for the quick reply, Nordfriese. This is great news! And it looks like it loads the campaign maps (*.wld) as well.


Top Quote