Polls

Default Game Speed

Log in to vote!

Latest Posts

Topic: Move Widelands to GitHub

stonerl
Avatar
Joined: 2018-07-30, 00:03
Posts: 291
Ranking
Tribe Member
Location: Earth
Posted at: 2019-10-29, 18:23

I forked the widelands-repo, so I can restore them. I did restore the balancing branch. Any branches in particular that need to be restored ASAP?

@all please, never ever force push to origin until you sure about the implications.


Top Quote
stonerl
Avatar
Joined: 2018-07-30, 00:03
Posts: 291
Ranking
Tribe Member
Location: Earth
Posted at: 2019-10-29, 18:25

@hessenfarmer you don't need to pull the entire repo, only branches you are working on.


Top Quote
hessenfarmer
Avatar
Joined: 2014-12-11, 23:16
Posts: 942
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Bavaria
Posted at: 2019-10-29, 20:51

stonerl wrote:

I forked the widelands-repo, so I can restore them. I did restore the balancing branch. Any branches in particular that need to be restored ASAP?

@all please, never ever force push to origin until you sure about the implications.

As far as I understood the wiki primer my fork is referenced as origin the master repo is referenced as upstream. So basically I push my changes to origin (my fork) and then make a pull request to merge them into the correlating branch in the master (upstream) repo. I believe this should be the standard way of doing it. Am I right?


Top Quote
hessenfarmer
Avatar
Joined: 2014-12-11, 23:16
Posts: 942
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Bavaria
Posted at: 2019-10-29, 20:53

stonerl wrote:

@hessenfarmer you don't need to pull the entire repo, only branches you are working on.

I am not sure if I know how to differentiate these options. I feel it really hard to get used to git workflow.


Top Quote
stonerl
Avatar
Joined: 2018-07-30, 00:03
Posts: 291
Ranking
Tribe Member
Location: Earth
Posted at: 2019-11-05, 14:37

I restored all old branches.


Top Quote
hessenfarmer
Avatar
Joined: 2014-12-11, 23:16
Posts: 942
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Bavaria
Posted at: 2019-11-05, 16:45

stonerl wrote:

I restored all old branches.

many thanks for doing this


Top Quote
hessenfarmer
Avatar
Joined: 2014-12-11, 23:16
Posts: 942
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Bavaria
Posted at: 2019-12-06, 15:44

Now that I have become somewhat used to how to get things done on git, I'd like to ask some specific questions.

I have started scrolling through the issues taken over from bazaar. Some of them might have been fixed "accidentally" on the fly. Is there a possibility to link them to the respective branch/commit? How do we close them? I would like to have at least a 4-eyes principle applied on this.


Top Quote
stonerl
Avatar
Joined: 2018-07-30, 00:03
Posts: 291
Ranking
Tribe Member
Location: Earth
Posted at: 2019-12-06, 15:50

If you want to link a bug to a commit or branch juts add fixes #1234 to your commit message: See here in this PR and the corresponding bug. When a PR gets merged the bug is closed automatically. I hope this answers your question.


Top Quote
hessenfarmer
Avatar
Joined: 2014-12-11, 23:16
Posts: 942
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Bavaria
Posted at: 2019-12-06, 16:18

Can this be done in retrospective? How about other issues for which we know they are fixed or no longer reproducable?


Top Quote
stonerl
Avatar
Joined: 2018-07-30, 00:03
Posts: 291
Ranking
Tribe Member
Location: Earth
Posted at: 2019-12-06, 16:23

We could reference the PR in the bug report.

fixed by #1234

Or you reference the commit:

fixed by commit ab05f98


Top Quote