Currently Online

Latest Posts

Topic: Widelands won't start

Talven
Avatar
Topic Opener
Joined: 2023-05-01, 10:39
Posts: 4
Ranking
Just found this site
Posted at: 2023-05-01, 10:42

Hi everyone,

I installed Widelands on my gaming PC (Alienware m15 R6, Nvidia RTX 3070, Windows 10 64Bit) and the game won't start. I double click on the Widelands.exe and nothing. No application opens, no error message, nothing.

Any suggestions? I have read the download page multiple times and it didn't mention I needed to download any other libraries?

Thanks in advance.

Used to play Settlers 2 in the 90s and am interested in giving this a go.


Top Quote
hessenfarmer
Avatar
Joined: 2014-12-11, 22:16
Posts: 2672
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Bavaria
Posted at: 2023-05-01, 11:34

hi, and welcome to our forums.
to settle things out:
- which version did you download? I assume the windows 64bit version of release 1.1
- how big is the installer file? should be ( 400968933 Bytes (382 MiB))
- has it the correct crc64? (CRC64: 7BF10874EB25CE8E)
- to which folder did you install widelands?
- does the folder contain the same files as in the screenshot below?


Attachment:
Screenshot 2023-05-01 123254.jpg

Top Quote
Talven
Avatar
Topic Opener
Joined: 2023-05-01, 10:39
Posts: 4
Ranking
Just found this site
Posted at: 2023-05-01, 12:14

Hello hessenfarmer,

Thank you for the welcome face-smile.png

  • which version did you download? I assume the windows 64bit version of release 1.1

/// I downloaded the Widelands-1.1-x64

  • how big is the installer file? should be ( 400968933 Bytes (382 MiB))

/// Yes, it is 382MB

  • has it the correct crc64? (CRC64: 7BF10874EB25CE8E)

/// Unfortunately, I don't know to how check this? I performed some research and tried to use Windows Powershell but this didn't work?

  • to which folder did you install widelands?

/// I installed it to the default folder - C:\Users[username]\AppData\Local\Widelands

  • does the folder contain the same files as in the screenshot below?

/// Yes, it does. When I click on Widelands.exe nothing happens. I even tried "running as administrator". Nothing. Uninstalled then re-installed. Nothing, unfortunately. I also attempted to reinstall in a different directory - no avail. I also restarted my computer but that didn't solve anything. Could it be my graphics card drivers?

Thanks again for helping me troubleshoot.


Top Quote
hessenfarmer
Avatar
Joined: 2014-12-11, 22:16
Posts: 2672
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Bavaria
Posted at: 2023-05-01, 12:40

Ok, that sounds weird. meaning we never heard of such problems before.
please check whether you have the .widelands folder in your user folder. If yes there should be a file stout.txt from which we need the content.


Top Quote
Talven
Avatar
Topic Opener
Joined: 2023-05-01, 10:39
Posts: 4
Ranking
Just found this site
Posted at: 2023-05-01, 12:44

Thank you hessenfarmer,

I found the file - here it is:

This is Widelands Version 1.0 (Release)
[00:00:00.000 real] INFO: Set home directory: C:\Users\warpe\.widelands
[00:00:00.001 real] INFO: Set configuration file: C:\Users\warpe\.widelands/config
[00:00:00.001 real] ERROR: [] config:0: RealFSImpl::load: could not open file for reading: C:\Users\warpe\.widelands\config
[00:00:00.001 real] INFO: Widelands executable directory: C:\Users\warpe\AppData\Local\Widelands
[00:00:00.002 real] INFO: Adding directory: C:\Users\warpe\AppData\Local\Widelands\data
[00:00:00.002 real] WARNING: No locale translations found in C:\Users\warpe\AppData\Local\Widelands\data\locale
[00:00:00.003 real] INFO: selected language: (system language)
[00:00:00.010 real] INFO: Byte order: little-endian
[00:00:00.143 real] INFO: Graphics: Try to set Videomode 800x600
[00:00:00.195 real] INFO: Graphics: OpenGL: Version "4.6.0 - Build 30.0.101.1338"
[00:00:00.196 real] INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_RED_SIZE is 10
[00:00:00.196 real] INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_GREEN_SIZE is 10
[00:00:00.196 real] INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_BLUE_SIZE is 10
[00:00:00.196 real] INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_ALPHA_SIZE is 2
[00:00:00.196 real] INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_BUFFER_SIZE is 32
[00:00:00.196 real] INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_DOUBLEBUFFER is 1
[00:00:00.196 real] INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_DEPTH_SIZE is 24
[00:00:00.196 real] INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_STENCIL_SIZE is 8
[00:00:00.196 real] INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_ACCUM_RED_SIZE is 0
[00:00:00.196 real] INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_ACCUM_GREEN_SIZE is 0
[00:00:00.196 real] INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_ACCUM_BLUE_SIZE is 0
[00:00:00.196 real] INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_ACCUM_ALPHA_SIZE is 0
[00:00:00.196 real] INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_STEREO is 0
[00:00:00.196 real] INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_MULTISAMPLEBUFFERS is 0
[00:00:00.196 real] INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_MULTISAMPLESAMPLES is 0
[00:00:00.196 real] INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_ACCELERATED_VISUAL is 1
[00:00:00.196 real] INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_CONTEXT_MAJOR_VERSION is 2
[00:00:00.196 real] INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_CONTEXT_MINOR_VERSION is 1
[00:00:00.196 real] INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_CONTEXT_FLAGS is 0
[00:00:00.196 real] INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_CONTEXT_PROFILE_MASK is 0
[00:00:00.196 real] INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_SHARE_WITH_CURRENT_CONTEXT is 0
[00:00:00.196 real] INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_FRAMEBUFFER_SRGB_CAPABLE is 0
[00:00:00.196 real] INFO: Graphics: OpenGL: Double buffering enabled
[00:00:00.196 real] INFO: Graphics: OpenGL: Max texture size: 16384
[00:00:00.196 real] INFO: Graphics: OpenGL: ShadingLanguage: "4.60 - Build 30.0.101.1338"
[00:00:00.315 real] INFO: **** GRAPHICS REPORT ****
[00:00:00.315 real] INFO: VIDEO DRIVER windows
[00:00:00.315 real] INFO: Display #0: 1536x864 @ 165hz SDL_PIXELFORMAT_RGB888
[00:00:01.992 real] INFO: **** SOUND REPORT ****
[00:00:01.992 real] INFO: SDL version: 2.0.14
[00:00:01.992 real] INFO: SDL_mixer version: 2.0.4
[00:00:01.992 real] INFO: **** END SOUND REPORT ****
[00:00:02.762 real] INFO: Songset: Loaded song "music\intro.ogg"
[00:00:03.554 real] INFO: Songset: Loaded song "music\menu.ogg"
[00:01:03.085 real] INFO: ============== Generating Map ==============
[00:01:03.085 real] INFO: ID:            st1e-gwvh-0c6k-8vf0-gpd7-2but
[00:01:03.085 real] INFO: Random number: 1013510580
[00:01:03.085 real] INFO: Dimensions:    64 x 64
[00:01:03.085 real] INFO: Players:       2
[00:01:03.085 real] INFO: World:         desert
[00:01:03.085 real] INFO: Resources:     high
[00:01:03.085 real] INFO: Land: 0.55  Water: 0.20  Wasteland: 0.05
[00:01:03.085 real] INFO: Using Island Mode
[00:02:11.099 real] INFO: Songset: Loaded song "music\menu.ogg"
[00:02:17.031 real] INFO: Songset: Loaded song "music\ingame_13.ogg"
[00:04:25.200 real] INFO: Songset: Loaded song "music\menu.ogg"
[00:04:26.745 real] INFO: SoundHandler: Closing 1 time, 22050 Hz, format 32784, 8 channels
[00:04:26.745 real] INFO: SoundHandler: SDL_AUDIODRIVER wasapi

edit:formatted for better readability

Edited: 2023-05-01, 20:40

Top Quote
hessenfarmer
Avatar
Joined: 2014-12-11, 22:16
Posts: 2672
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Bavaria
Posted at: 2023-05-01, 20:41

Well this seems to originate from a previous version of the game (Release 1.0) please deinstall all versions and perform a clean reinstall of version 1.1. Maybe this can solve the issue.


Top Quote
Talven
Avatar
Topic Opener
Joined: 2023-05-01, 10:39
Posts: 4
Ranking
Just found this site
Posted at: 2023-05-01, 21:32

Thank you hessenfarmer!

It works now. I couldn't remember installing a previous version, but I did uninstalled the game, then completed a deep search on my computer and deleted every file with the word 'Widelands' in it (such as in cache) and then reinstalled the 1.1 and the game works.

Appreciate your time and help.


Top Quote
hessenfarmer
Avatar
Joined: 2014-12-11, 22:16
Posts: 2672
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Bavaria
Posted at: 2023-05-01, 22:02

you are welcome,
I am glad it works now. have lots of fun.


Top Quote