Currently Online

Latest Posts

Topic: random game error file

CrisiusXIII
Avatar
Joined: 2020-09-01, 07:18
Posts: 44
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Posted at: 2021-07-18, 03:08

Hi is there a logfile for the randomgame? sometimes i just open and close other menus and then its does make a valid map. i hope i can read it if it exsists. good voor my understanding is there a immediate "save new map" possible if the map is accepted by the editor?


Top Quote
kaputtnik
Avatar
Joined: 2013-02-18, 20:48
Posts: 2087
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Germany
Posted at: 2021-07-19, 19:55

Not really sure what you mean with 'error file'.

I guess you are choosing 'New radnom Game'? Instead you can choose 'Editor → Random Map' and save it right away if you are happy with it.

If i misunderstand, please be more descriptive face-smile.png


Top Quote
CrisiusXIII
Avatar
Joined: 2020-09-01, 07:18
Posts: 44
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Posted at: 2021-07-19, 20:13

Hi, actualy i say 2 things. One is saving directly and i did not check the editor for that so i will do. With the standard New Random Game that migth work too with a simple checkmark for an auto-start save, just before the headquarters are placed of course.

the other thing i mean to say is the question if there is a file with the remark why the new map failed to open. Maybe thats available in the editor version of the mapbuilder aswell. But i wondered what the error cq reason is that some maps dont work. But it happens less and i have the "trick" to close the menu, open another menu, cancel it and then most off the time there is a new working map if i try it again.


Top Quote
kaputtnik
Avatar
Joined: 2013-02-18, 20:48
Posts: 2087
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Germany
Posted at: 2021-07-20, 08:09

CrisiusXIII wrote:

the other thing i mean to say is the question if there is a file with the remark why the new map failed to open. Maybe thats available in the editor version of the mapbuilder aswell. But i wondered what the error cq reason is that some maps dont work.

What do you mean with 'maps dont work'? Is there a crash?

Which operating system?

Depending on the operating system you may find some information:

  • Linux/MacOs: Start widelands from a command line and watch the output
  • Windows: There should be a file named stdout.txt, not sure where to find this file.

Top Quote
CrisiusXIII
Avatar
Joined: 2020-09-01, 07:18
Posts: 44
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Posted at: 2021-07-26, 22:06

kaputtnik wrote: What do you mean with 'maps dont work'? Is there a crash?

no, the map fails to open and i wonder why

Which operating system?

debian10

Depending on the operating system you may find some information: * Linux/MacOs: Start widelands from a command line and watch the output * Windows: There should be a file named stdout.txt, not sure where to find this file.

yes, thank you:

not all messages are given.

i had to try again a few times this worked

[00:00:19.713 real] INFO: ============== Generating Map ==============
[00:00:19.713 real] INFO: ID:            p7hk-zd9e-xh9h-5q5r-7ga4-zetq
[00:00:19.713 real] INFO: Random number: 1418542172
[00:00:19.713 real] INFO: Dimensions:    64 x 64
[00:00:19.713 real] INFO: Players:       2
[00:00:19.713 real] INFO: World:         winter
[00:00:19.713 real] INFO: Resources:     high
[00:00:19.713 real] INFO: Land: 0.55  Water: 0.20  Wasteland: 0.05
[00:00:19.714 real] INFO: Using Island Mode

just to make differnce i open the multiplayer menu and closed it again

[00:00:26.611 real] ERROR: [BufferedConnection] Trying to connect to 2a03:4000:32:524:48cb:feff:feae:b0c6:7395 failed!
[00:00:26.611 real] ERROR: [NetClient]: Trying to connect to 2a03:4000:32:524:48cb:feff:feae:b0c6:7395 failed!

this worked

[00:00:35.853 real] INFO: ============== Generating Map ==============
[00:00:35.853 real] INFO: ID:            3659-grnt-8nyu-g3y0-kxpf-am21
[00:00:35.853 real] INFO: Random number: 4074840795
[00:00:35.853 real] INFO: Dimensions:    64 x 64
[00:00:35.853 real] INFO: Players:       2
[00:00:35.853 real] INFO: World:         winter
[00:00:35.853 real] INFO: Resources:     high
[00:00:35.853 real] INFO: Land: 0.55  Water: 0.20  Wasteland: 0.05
[00:00:35.853 real] INFO: Using Island Mode

this did NOT work and has no message about

[00:00:46.788 real] INFO: ============== Generating Map ==============
[00:00:46.789 real] INFO: ID:            669q-k48d-wg2e-4rb4-4h93-yfqp
[00:00:46.789 real] INFO: Random number: 3847151690
[00:00:46.789 real] INFO: Dimensions:    64 x 64
[00:00:46.789 real] INFO: Players:       2
[00:00:46.789 real] INFO: World:         desert
[00:00:46.789 real] INFO: Resources:     high
[00:00:46.789 real] INFO: Land: 0.55  Water: 0.20  Wasteland: 0.05
[00:00:46.790 real] INFO: Using Island Mode

this did NOT work AND explains is a player2 problem

[00:01:59.574 real] INFO: ============== Generating Map ==============
[00:01:59.574 real] INFO: ID:            gtsq-8qvk-1dxp-9u9m-bne8-3axu
[00:01:59.574 real] INFO: Random number: 3288140189
[00:01:59.574 real] INFO: Dimensions:    64 x 64
[00:01:59.574 real] INFO: Players:       2
[00:01:59.574 real] INFO: World:         winter
[00:01:59.575 real] INFO: Resources:     high
[00:01:59.575 real] INFO: Land: 0.55  Water: 0.20  Wasteland: 0.05
[00:01:59.575 real] INFO: Using Island Mode
[00:01:59.593 real] WARNING: Could not find a suitable place for player 2

if space to build is a problem perhaps the most simplistic aproach is to press a empty form over the place. like a 6-sided empty form and make a 3 fold open build space on exit piont. just as an emergency option. it probably will be a difficult map to start with. I would like to try and i have to start somewhere but i my c is real not good. i do some z80 assembly. On zx spectrum there are some C compile possiblities but not much, hisoft as native complier and , luckely, z88dk as big uncle crosscompiler (over 100 computers with z80?)

the headquater space it self has probably a definition. i assume thats all is needed but now everything there has to be destroyd instead off build or preserved... how rude! the only thing i did with the editor is make a silly mountain with a river in the middle.

kaputtnik: Codeblocks

Edited: 2021-07-27, 07:49

Top Quote