Latest Posts

Topic: random game error file

CrisiusXIII
Avatar
Joined: 2020-09-01, 07:18
Posts: 43
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Posted at: 2021-07-18, 03:08

Hi is there a logfile for the randomgame? sometimes i just open and close other menus and then its does make a valid map. i hope i can read it if it exsists. good voor my understanding is there a immediate "save new map" possible if the map is accepted by the editor?


Top Quote
kaputtnik
Avatar
Joined: 2013-02-18, 20:48
Posts: 2083
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Germany
Posted at: 2021-07-19, 19:55

Not really sure what you mean with 'error file'.

I guess you are choosing 'New radnom Game'? Instead you can choose 'Editor → Random Map' and save it right away if you are happy with it.

If i misunderstand, please be more descriptive face-smile.png


Top Quote
CrisiusXIII
Avatar
Joined: 2020-09-01, 07:18
Posts: 43
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Posted at: 2021-07-19, 20:13

Hi, actualy i say 2 things. One is saving directly and i did not check the editor for that so i will do. With the standard New Random Game that migth work too with a simple checkmark for an auto-start save, just before the headquarters are placed of course.

the other thing i mean to say is the question if there is a file with the remark why the new map failed to open. Maybe thats available in the editor version of the mapbuilder aswell. But i wondered what the error cq reason is that some maps dont work. But it happens less and i have the "trick" to close the menu, open another menu, cancel it and then most off the time there is a new working map if i try it again.


Top Quote
kaputtnik
Avatar
Joined: 2013-02-18, 20:48
Posts: 2083
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Germany
Posted at: 2021-07-20, 08:09

CrisiusXIII wrote:

the other thing i mean to say is the question if there is a file with the remark why the new map failed to open. Maybe thats available in the editor version of the mapbuilder aswell. But i wondered what the error cq reason is that some maps dont work.

What do you mean with 'maps dont work'? Is there a crash?

Which operating system?

Depending on the operating system you may find some information:

  • Linux/MacOs: Start widelands from a command line and watch the output
  • Windows: There should be a file named stdout.txt, not sure where to find this file.

Top Quote