Latest Posts

Topic: Add-ons

Atanase
Avatar
Joined: 2021-04-15, 13:33
Posts: 126
Ranking
At home in WL-forums
Location: Béarn (France)
Posted at: 2021-04-27, 16:29

Hello,

I tried to find any information on the Add-ons but ..... nothing that could help me.
My questions seem quite simple, how can we activate the Add-ons?
Are they useful for already created maps or scenarios?


La connaissance ne vaut que si elle est partagée par le plus grand nombre.
---------------------------------------
Knowledge is only valuable if it is shared by the greatest number.

Top Quote
Nordfriese
Avatar
Joined: 2017-01-17, 18:07
Posts: 1306
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: 0x55555d3a34c0
Posted at: 2021-04-27, 16:38

In the main menu, choose "Add-Ons". The "Installed" tab lists your installed add-ons, and offers a checkbox for each one to turn them on or off.

Add-ons of the "World" category are chosen before starting the editor, and then remain integrated into a map. Your choice of World add-ons is therefore ignored when starting a game, and the map's World add-ons are used instead. All other add-ons (tribes, scripts, win conditions, starting conditions) are used when starting a new game. Loading a savegame always uses the add-on settings the game was originally started with.

Edited: 2021-04-27, 16:38

Attachment: addons.png (1.0 MB)

Top Quote
Atanase
Avatar
Joined: 2021-04-15, 13:33
Posts: 126
Ranking
At home in WL-forums
Location: Béarn (France)
Posted at: 2021-04-27, 17:02

OK, thank you,
I'll check if the addons I already loaded are world or not.


La connaissance ne vaut que si elle est partagée par le plus grand nombre.
---------------------------------------
Knowledge is only valuable if it is shared by the greatest number.

Top Quote
Atanase
Avatar
Joined: 2021-04-15, 13:33
Posts: 126
Ranking
At home in WL-forums
Location: Béarn (France)
Posted at: 2021-04-28, 01:34

Hello,

I downloaded 3 add-ons:
Fishy
Water Resource Efficiency
Automatic Soldier Setting for Military Construction Sites

I verified the configuration file:
addons = 'fishy.wad: true, wells-running-out.wad: true, auto_soldiers_cs.wad: true'

I generated a random map after activating the add-ons

I have to change the number of soldiers in the military buildings, and the wells always have the same radius.
What is wrong? Me or the program?


La connaissance ne vaut que si elle est partagée par le plus grand nombre.
---------------------------------------
Knowledge is only valuable if it is shared by the greatest number.

Top Quote
kaputtnik
Avatar
Joined: 2013-02-18, 20:48
Posts: 2045
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Germany
Posted at: 2021-04-28, 08:43

Looks like some Add-ons do not work with random maps: Bug report


Top Quote
Nordfriese
Avatar
Joined: 2017-01-17, 18:07
Posts: 1306
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: 0x55555d3a34c0
Posted at: 2021-04-28, 11:45

World add-ons would break the map generating algorithm, so I made it to automatically disable all add-ons for random maps. Could be improved by limiting this to world add-ons.


Top Quote
Atanase
Avatar
Joined: 2021-04-15, 13:33
Posts: 126
Ranking
At home in WL-forums
Location: Béarn (France)
Posted at: 2021-04-28, 13:38

I understand, but I have specially chosen non world add-ons, I have downloaded only the 3 which are 1 "tribe" and 2 "scripts" to avoid the problem with "world". face-smile.png
And when I saw the warning about one add-on which cause problem with Replay, that I don't need, I thought all was good.

Edited: 2021-04-28, 13:43

La connaissance ne vaut que si elle est partagée par le plus grand nombre.
---------------------------------------
Knowledge is only valuable if it is shared by the greatest number.

Top Quote
Nordfriese
Avatar
Joined: 2017-01-17, 18:07
Posts: 1306
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: 0x55555d3a34c0
Posted at: 2021-04-28, 14:23

The problem is not trivial to solve, so for now I made a PR that adds a note to the menu that states which features are disabled: https://github.com/widelands/widelands/pull/4835


Top Quote
Atanase
Avatar
Joined: 2021-04-15, 13:33
Posts: 126
Ranking
At home in WL-forums
Location: Béarn (France)
Posted at: 2021-04-28, 15:25

I would like to be sure that I understood correctly. face-smile.png

Actually ALL the random maps, in play AND editor can't use add-ons because of "world".
You are trying to solve this problem but it is not trivial and it's going to take a while.
Anyway you will put clear messages when creating the maps so that we are not disappointed.
The 'old' maps, between Beta and solution of the problem, will not have add-ons, they will have to be redone if we want to include them.

Am I right?

If I'm right it is good for me. face-smile.png

Anyway, we will only be able to distribute the 'new' maps with add-ons after the official V1 has been released, so we have a little time to redo them if necessary. face-wink.png


La connaissance ne vaut que si elle est partagée par le plus grand nombre.
---------------------------------------
Knowledge is only valuable if it is shared by the greatest number.

Top Quote
Nordfriese
Avatar
Joined: 2017-01-17, 18:07
Posts: 1306
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: 0x55555d3a34c0
Posted at: 2021-04-28, 15:33

Atanase wrote:

I would like to be sure that I understood correctly. face-smile.png

Actually ALL the random maps, in play AND editor can't use add-ons because of "world".
You are trying to solve this problem but it is not trivial and it's going to take a while.

Almost. I did not explain very clearly.

The random map generator can not handle World add-ons. Therefore, maps and matches generated with the random generator do not use any World add-ons.

For Tribes and Script add-ons, the restriction that these are disabled as well applies only to the feature that lets you directly start a random match. When you create a random map in the editor, save it, and then start a new game in it via Singleplayer → New, then you can use Tribes and Script add-ons just like for every other new map.

Add-ons of other types always work.

Anyway you will put clear messages when creating the maps so that we are not disappointed.

Yes

The 'old' maps, between Beta and solution of the problem, will not have add-ons, they will have to be redone if we want to include them.

Am I right?

They don't have any World add-ons. And no official map will ever use a World add-on because the whole point is that add-ons are inofficial, fan-made content. You can of course enable any other add-on type with any map whenever you start a new game.

Edited: 2021-04-28, 15:33

Top Quote