Currently Online

Latest Posts

Topic: roads are congested

TuStudent
Avatar
Joined: 2015-05-02, 23:30
Posts: 22
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Posted at: 2020-06-07, 21:01

I consinder https://www.widelands.org/wiki/WidelandsFaqPlaying/#my-roads-are-congested-with-too-many-wares as a too meaningless explantation. A friend of mine, also they played it couple of times, knows the problem, but still builds the roads inefficient. I think a screenshoot such as the one in the attachment would help.

https://www.widelands.org/forum/attachment/f4fb4b0d82d2df58193380ff78c4ace749dee2e2/

Edited: 2020-06-07, 21:05

Attachment: shot0002.png (2.5 MB)

Top Quote
TuStudent
Avatar
Joined: 2015-05-02, 23:30
Posts: 22
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Posted at: 2020-06-07, 21:08

Sometimes it is even helpful to add some bypass, that wares don't cross the HQ/warehouse.

https://www.widelands.org/forum/attachment/ef425c9c54b85382827afa1a45d50199f5a33656/

Edited: 2020-06-07, 21:09

Attachment: shot0004.png (2.5 MB)

Top Quote
hessenfarmer
Avatar
Joined: 2014-12-11, 23:16
Posts: 2051
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Bavaria
Posted at: 2020-06-07, 22:00

This is the old settlers 2 setup of roads. While I prefer this for its look, maybe Worldsaviors setup might even be more efficient. Furthermore it might better explain the issue. He often builds always 2 roads leading to the same flag


Top Quote
WorldSavior
Avatar
Joined: 2016-10-15, 04:10
Posts: 1941
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Germany
Posted at: 2020-06-21, 18:08

hessenfarmer wrote:

This is the old settlers 2 setup of roads. While I prefer this for its look, maybe Worldsaviors setup might even be more efficient. Furthermore it might better explain the issue. He often builds always 2 roads leading to the same flag

The reason why I don't use the road system from the picture so often is that wares don't get easily rerouted, which looks like a bug for me: often all wares go over one route while no wares go over the equivalent route at the other side (for example at the picture right at the warehouse, if the warehouse would put out a lot of wares into one direction - and this is inefficient)


Wanted to save the world, then I got widetracked

Top Quote
Lawrence
Avatar
Joined: 2020-05-01, 02:20
Posts: 13
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Posted at: 2021-02-04, 15:09

I often discover I need to make some new roads to unblock my roads.

Sometimes the new road does not solve the problem if there are too many things sitting at one flag. I have found that if I remove the original road that goes to that spot and then simply put it back again it gets things going, I do not think I have lost any wares by doing this.


Top Quote
hessenfarmer
Avatar
Joined: 2014-12-11, 23:16
Posts: 2051
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Bavaria
Posted at: 2021-02-04, 18:00

Lawrence wrote:

I often discover I need to make some new roads to unblock my roads.

Sometimes the new road does not solve the problem if there are too many things sitting at one flag. I have found that if I remove the original road that goes to that spot and then simply put it back again it gets things going, I do not think I have lost any wares by doing this.

that is because the wares already sitting at the flag are not rerouted as long as the route still exists. With destroying the road and readd it again you force a rerouting.


Top Quote
DragonAtma
Avatar
Joined: 2014-09-14, 01:54
Posts: 351
Ranking
Tribe Member
Posted at: 2021-02-05, 00:19

I've noticed that chokepoints are a common source of traffic jams, so I try to have at least two roads pass through them, especially on what I call starburst maps (maps shaped like an asterisk).

Similarly, I try to scatter buildings across the map if it's feasible. If I have two wells in the east in the east and two wells in the west, not only does travel time tend to be quicker than having all four wells in the east, but fewer goods on the roads means the roads are less congested. As a bonus, if an enemy attack costs me four civilian buildings, they're likely be four different types of buildings instead of losing all four wells.

There are exceptions, of course (logs generally require having multiple foresters and lumberjacks clustered nearby, as I don't want foresters planting trees on my farms!), but that's usually not the case.


Top Quote