Latest Posts

Topic: More Variety of Landscapes

kolober
Topic Opener
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Posted at: 2009-03-10, 04:04

I have really enjoyed making maps with the map editor, but I'm a little disappointed with the landscape colors. For example, Greenland has 4 different shades of gray for mountains. Why not have 1 gray (for granite, etc.), 1 black (for extrusive igneous rock), 1 red (for rocks with lots of oxydized iron), and one white (for limestone/marble)? I'm not a computer programmer, but it seems like this would be a simple, superficial change that would increase the variety of maps we can make.

I hied to Kolob and all I got was this lousy planet.

Top Quote
madtumat

Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Posted at: 2009-03-10, 05:20

Hey Kolober,

You can make your own worlds. I am working on my own tribes and I created a few worlds by combining items from the four already existing tribes. To do this, you will need to make sure you can see, read, and edit hidden files in your Widelands folder. I had to figure this out the hard way, and I don't remember the details to get things to work well. In Windows, you can click on View or Tools once in Widelands folder and click the "show hidden files" box or line. Make sure to apply this to all subfolders and files. Just play with the buttons until you get things to work!

I copied the Greenlands file as a basis. Rename the copy whatever you want. Then cut and paste the items from the other worlds you wish to use in your world. You will need to rename them so they will compile. Don't forget to change the name in the config file in "YourWorld" or Greenland will pop up twice in your editor. open config files with your favorite text editor; NotePad or Wordpad will work fine.