Polls

Default Game Speed

Log in to vote!

Latest Posts

Topic: Portable Widelands?

Shevonar
Joined: 2011-09-05, 21:28
Posts: 136
Ranking
At home in WL-forums
Posted at: 2012-05-31, 11:03

The Windows installer installs all files needed to play the game in the specified installation directory (IIRC the default is C:\Program Files (x86)\Widelands\). The homedir is the folder, where your personal data like settings, savegames, replays and maps are saved, which is C:Users<Username>.widelands (on Windows 7) by default but can be changed by starting widelands with widelands.exe --homedir=path/to/other/directory. You should copy your current homedir to you USB device and add a proper shortcut or batchfile to start widelands with the correct homedir settings.

The installer also creates some registry entries to link .wmf (Widelands Map File) and .wgf (Widelands Game File) with Widelands, so you can start them with a double click (and maybe some for the uninstaller). However this is just for convenience and not necessary to play Widelands.

Edited: 2012-05-31, 11:03

Top Quote
SirVer
Joined: 2009-02-19, 15:18
Posts: 1439
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Germany - Munich
Posted at: 2012-05-31, 11:09

Widelands never touches the registry and it should not touch anything out of --homedir (if it does, it is a bug).


Top Quote
Nasenbaer
Avatar
Joined: 2009-02-21, 18:17
Posts: 829
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Germany
Posted at: 2012-05-31, 12:11

SirVer wrote: Widelands never touches the registry and it should not touch anything out of --homedir (if it does, it is a bug).

Correct, Widelands does not touch the registry. That's why Shevonar wrote, that those registry entries are not needed.

The registry entries are installed by the Installer and removed by the Uninstaller. They start Widelands with some parameters to have a "double click to open a map in the Editor" feature. (see http://bazaar.launchpad.net/~widelands-dev/widelands/trunk/view/head:/utils/win32/innosetup/Widelands.iss#L153 )

Edited: 2012-05-31, 12:13

Top Quote
Megachip
Avatar
Joined: 2015-02-01, 00:59
Posts: 2
Ranking
Just found this site
Posted at: 2019-12-30, 17:13

Hi Community,

anything new on this topic? Tried --homedir and --datadir … both are not working and the game didn't start at all face-confused.png


Top Quote
Megachip
Avatar
Joined: 2015-02-01, 00:59
Posts: 2
Ranking
Just found this site
Posted at: 2019-12-30, 17:18

Megachip wrote:

Hi Community,

anything new on this topic? Tried --homedir and --datadir … both are not working and the game didn't start at all face-confused.png

Nach dem Studium von https://www.widelands.org/forum/topic/4513/

funktioniert folgendes:

--homedir=A:\Spiele\Games\DATA\Widelands
--homedir=A:/Spiele/Games/DATA/Widelands

Top Quote