Currently Online

Latest Posts

Topic: arabic translation

abdXelrhman
Avatar
Joined: 2013-10-04, 22:04
Posts: 9
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Location: Egypt
Posted at: 2013-10-04, 22:10

where to find the po or pot files to start translating the game into arabic ?

or do you already have an arabic translator ?


Top Quote
Tino
Joined: 2009-02-20, 17:05
Posts: 250
Ranking
Tribe Member
Location: Somewhere in Germany...
Posted at: 2013-10-04, 22:42

Hi abdXelrhman,

the translation is done on launchpad, feel free to contribute: https://translations.launchpad.net/widelands/trunk/+lang/ar

But i think in its current status widelands does not provide a font which is able to render arabic characters.

Edited: 2013-10-04, 22:43
Top Quote
abdXelrhman
Avatar
Joined: 2013-10-04, 22:04
Posts: 9
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Location: Egypt
Posted at: 2013-10-05, 11:05

"There is no translation group to manage widelands translations." besides the last Change in arabic translation was 5 months ago , and the game unfortunately dose not support RTL face-sad.png

this bad


Top Quote
SirVer
Joined: 2009-02-19, 15:18
Posts: 1439
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Germany - Munich
Posted at: 2013-10-05, 11:51

There is no translation group to manage widelands translations.

What does that even mean? However, you can just click on one of the templates and begin translating: https://translations.launchpad.net/widelands/trunk/+pots/widelands/ar/+translate

Also, can you name me an open source game that supports arabic locale to your satisfaction? I ask because we then might be able to study their code and learn how they approached this problem. I am very open to translate Widelands in as many languages as possible, but in the past we did not have beta testers that spoke LTR languages to tell us about problems with it.


Top Quote
abdXelrhman
Avatar
Joined: 2013-10-04, 22:04
Posts: 9
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Location: Egypt
Posted at: 2013-10-05, 12:15

"battle for wesnoth" supports arabic well

also "OPENTTD" supports arabic but not very well

by the way , can you write/speak arabic ?


Top Quote
SirVer
Joined: 2009-02-19, 15:18
Posts: 1439
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Germany - Munich
Posted at: 2013-10-05, 22:06

No, I cannot speak arabic. I never learned a non-latin based language unfortunately :(.

Interesting, I read through the text rendering source code of battle for wesnoth, but did never see code for rtl rendering. I need to look again I guess. We just redid our rich text renderer - it is not yet everywhere integrated in the game, but if this is done we should be able to add rtl rendering to it "fairly easily" (famous last words).


Top Quote