Latest Posts

Topic: small addaption Dutch translation

CrisiusXIII
Avatar
Joined: 2020-09-01, 07:18
Posts: 37
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Posted at: 2021-06-03, 17:52

Some translations are/feel strange and 'reversed'

directory = map map = kaart the directory with maps = de map met kaarten

save = redden save = bewaren or opslaan resque = redden

resque a savegame = red een gered spel

there are some (very) modern computer words without real translation. severall are common, but others just aint... if you play the game and the translation feels odd, please comment.

Edited: 2021-06-03, 17:52

Top Quote
tothxa
Avatar
Joined: 2021-03-24, 12:44
Posts: 78
Ranking
Likes to be here
Posted at: 2021-06-03, 17:53

CrisiusXIII wrote: 'Toolsize' its the amount of tools, correct?

No, it's the size of the area affected by the current tool in the map editor.


Top Quote
CrisiusXIII
Avatar
Joined: 2020-09-01, 07:18
Posts: 37
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Posted at: 2021-06-03, 17:58

about:

Enter a valid nickname. This value may contain only English letters, numbers, and @ . + - _ characters and must not be "team".

in

../../src/ui_fsmenu/netsetup_lan.cc:277

personally i would change 'value' into 'name' since its about that nickname.

i wonder about some translations to be nontranslatable

../../src/ui_fsmenu/addons.cc:1805

Key %1$u / %2$u

there is only a '/' which is for every language equal, i supose ... there are many such replacements with nontranslatable signs and characters

Edited: 2021-06-03, 18:33

Top Quote
tothxa
Avatar
Joined: 2021-03-24, 12:44
Posts: 78
Ranking
Likes to be here
Posted at: 2021-06-03, 19:05

CrisiusXIII wrote:

Enter a valid nickname. This value may contain only English letters, numbers, and @ . + - _ characters and must not be "team".

in

../../src/ui_fsmenu/netsetup_lan.cc:277

personally i would change 'value' into 'name' since its about that nickname.

I improved wording in some of my translations where I had similar issues with the English original.

i wonder about some translations to be nontranslatable

../../src/ui_fsmenu/addons.cc:1805

Key

%1$u / %2$u

there is only a '/' which is for every language equal, i supose ... there are many such replacements with nontranslatable signs and characters

Well, if you want to do it right, then you should look these up in the source and try them in the game, to see if it's safe to copy the "English" string to the translation (or how to adopt it to your language). If you can't do that, and your language's conventions are similar to English, and you want to go for 100% completion, then you may also copy (and still try to check it in the game), but the safe thing is to leave them untranslated when you're unsure.

Edited: 2021-06-03, 19:07

Top Quote
CrisiusXIII
Avatar
Joined: 2020-09-01, 07:18
Posts: 37
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Posted at: 2021-06-03, 22:49

tothxa wrote:

CrisiusXIII wrote: 'Toolsize' its the amount of tools, correct?

No, it's the size of the area affected by the current tool in the map editor.

oja, its part off the editor. then its not a 'hamer' made by the 'toolsmith'. edit: (no pun) DONE... maybe i set it back to english?

Edited: 2021-06-03, 22:52

Top Quote
CrisiusXIII
Avatar
Joined: 2020-09-01, 07:18
Posts: 37
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Posted at: 2021-06-04, 00:40

aprox 450 line DONE


Top Quote
CrisiusXIII
Avatar
Joined: 2020-09-01, 07:18
Posts: 37
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Posted at: 2021-06-07, 02:24

Hello in another part, Console Help , i get

The tag <save.wgf> is missing from the translation (placeholder 1).

https://www.transifex.com/widelands/widelands/translate/#nl/widelands_console/311534776

I do not know what there should be, its not given as far as i can see.

Edited: 2021-06-07, 02:25

Attachment: Screenshot from 2021-06-07 02-20-59.png (308.5 KB)

Top Quote
tothxa
Avatar
Joined: 2021-03-24, 12:44
Posts: 78
Ranking
Likes to be here
Posted at: 2021-06-07, 08:20

CrisiusXIII wrote:

in another part, Console Help , i get

The tag <save.wgf> is missing from the translation (placeholder 1).

I do not know what there should be, its not given as far as i can see.

Transifex doesn't seem to be prepared for this kind of text. The console help is best done offline, in a plain text editor. It's also easier to keep things aligned that way.


Top Quote
CrisiusXIII
Avatar
Joined: 2020-09-01, 07:18
Posts: 37
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Posted at: 2021-06-07, 21:11

Hi i got 179 line from which 1 is "not" translated, YET i checked all lines by steppening down with TAB key, one by one, and all 179 ARE marked as translated...

https://www.transifex.com/widelands/widelands/translate/#nl/maps?q=translated%3Ano

Edited: 2021-06-07, 21:12

Attachment: Screenshot from 2021-06-07 21-08-37.png (126.7 KB)

Top Quote
Nordfriese
Avatar
Joined: 2017-01-17, 18:07
Posts: 1404
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: 0x55555d3a34c0
Posted at: 2021-06-07, 21:25

Just reload and it shows up as 0 untranslated. Transifex gets confused sometimes in which case waiting a few minutes usually solves the random errors it throws at users…


Top Quote