Latest Posts

Topic: More different real tree species

MarkMcWire
Topic Opener
Ranking
Tribe Member
Posted at: 2021-05-24, 03:52

The tree species contained in the game are only a small selection of the trees that actually grow in Europe. For future expansions, it would be nice if the other typical tree species that we encounter most frequently are also implemented.

The following tree species would be on my wish list:

• ash = Esche,
  • chestnut = Kastanie,
  • elm = Ulme,
  • fir = Tanne,
  • hornbeam = Hainbuche,
  • linden tree = Linde,
  • pine = Kiefer,
  • poplar = Pappel,
  • willow = Weide

With the following trees one could also harvest the fruit and integrate it into the economy of a tribe as food.

• apple tree = Apfelbaum,
  • cherry tree = Kirschbaum,
  • pear tree = Birnbaum,
  • walnut tree = Walnussbaum

Since I'm not very good at graphic design, I don't want to try it myself. But if there is someone here who enjoys this, then I would be happy about this extension.

Still exists in the game:

• alder = Erle,
  • aspen = Espe,
  • beech = Buche,
  • birch = Birke,
  • larch = Lärche,
  • maple = Ahorn,
  • oak = Eiche,
  • rowan = Eberesche,
  • spruce = Fichte

Edited by kaputtnik: make lists

Edited: 2021-05-24, 15:25

My widelands project: https://github.com/widelands/wl_addons_server/tree/master/addons/europeans_tribe.wad

Top Quote
Nordfriese
Version: Latest master
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Posted at: 2021-05-24, 13:36

More tree variety would be nice, but the most important aspect – the graphics design – is the bottleneck face-wink.png We don't even have blender files for any of the official trees except the amazon-specific ones.

(Btw Kiefer is Pine, Weide is Willow, and Pappel is Poplar in English)

Fruit trees would not fit to any of the official five tribes IMHO, but this could be an interesting add-on

Top Quote
MarkMcWire
Topic Opener
Ranking
Tribe Member
Posted at: 2021-05-24, 15:26