Latest Posts

Topic: Hide and Seek

Atanase
Avatar
Joined: 2021-04-15, 13:33
Posts: 126
Ranking
At home in WL-forums
Location: Béarn (France)
Posted at: 2021-04-27, 16:39

Hello,

I hid the info panel and now I can't make it visible. How can I do?
I couldn't find any line in the config file that seems to match.


La connaissance ne vaut que si elle est partagée par le plus grand nombre.
---------------------------------------
Knowledge is only valuable if it is shared by the greatest number.

Top Quote
Nordfriese
Avatar
Joined: 2017-01-17, 18:07
Posts: 1306
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: 0x55555d3a34c0
Posted at: 2021-04-27, 16:44

In the top-left or bottom-left corner of the screen is a small button that brings up the dropdown menu where you can choose between the visibility modes. This button always remains visible.

If you set the panel visibility to "Follow Mouse", the panel appears when you move the mouse near the screen edge and is hidden when the mouse is away.

The config file entry is called "toolbar_pos"; but it's a bitset and should not be edited manually.


Top Quote
Atanase
Avatar
Joined: 2021-04-15, 13:33
Posts: 126
Ranking
At home in WL-forums
Location: Béarn (France)
Posted at: 2021-04-27, 16:59

Sorry, but when I try to use the same procedure that I used to hide it, I see Hide, 3rd line, and no "view" or something else.
Be sure I tried really all I could before to ask. face-wink.png
The actual parameter of Toolbar_pos is "4".

Maybe a bug but as I'm not sure, I prefer ask before to send a bug report.

And the speed is not 1, normally I have to see "Pause"


La connaissance ne vaut que si elle est partagée par le plus grand nombre.
---------------------------------------
Knowledge is only valuable if it is shared by the greatest number.

Top Quote
Nordfriese
Avatar
Joined: 2017-01-17, 18:07
Posts: 1306
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: 0x55555d3a34c0
Posted at: 2021-04-27, 17:03

"Pin" is the option you want. It means "Pin the info panel in place".


Top Quote
Atanase
Avatar
Joined: 2021-04-15, 13:33
Posts: 126
Ranking
At home in WL-forums
Location: Béarn (France)
Posted at: 2021-04-27, 17:16

It's not very intuitive. I expected a 'switch' between 'hidden' and 'visible'.
Sorry to have bothered you for so little. face-wink.png


La connaissance ne vaut que si elle est partagée par le plus grand nombre.
---------------------------------------
Knowledge is only valuable if it is shared by the greatest number.

Top Quote
Nordfriese
Avatar
Joined: 2017-01-17, 18:07
Posts: 1306
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: 0x55555d3a34c0
Posted at: 2021-04-27, 17:31

If we had only 2 modes (hidden/visible) a switch would be preferable, but there are 3 modes available (Pinned/Hidden/FollowMouse) and in such cases we always use a dropdown to offer all choices at once.
In older Widelands versions (before dropdowns existed) there were toggle buttons instead to cycle through choices in menus one click at a time… those were horrible…


Top Quote
tothxa
Avatar
Joined: 2021-03-24, 12:44
Posts: 51
Ranking
Likes to be here
Posted at: 2021-04-27, 18:03

In the hungarian translation I used the equivalent of ~"Fixed" (this is customary for "pinning") / "Only when mouse is over it" (i.e. much longer explanation than the English original) / "Hidden"...


Top Quote
Atanase
Avatar
Joined: 2021-04-15, 13:33
Posts: 126
Ranking
At home in WL-forums
Location: Béarn (France)
Posted at: 2021-04-27, 18:46

I think it could be better to write : "Always visible" than "Pinned".
Personally I'll understand immediately, but it is only me. face-wink.png
I understood "Pinned" like "not movable". But it is only me again. ,)


La connaissance ne vaut que si elle est partagée par le plus grand nombre.
---------------------------------------
Knowledge is only valuable if it is shared by the greatest number.

Top Quote