Currently Online

Latest Posts

Topic: Picky Miners!

mxb2001
Avatar
Joined: 2019-05-20, 18:49
Posts: 89
Ranking
Likes to be here
Location: Lost in dreamland
Posted at: 2020-10-07, 18:37

Punny eh? Anyways, I've noticed something while making deep mines for the Empire. With a shortage of Master Miners ("worker missing") the solution is simple, terminate a master miner in another mine and he gets replaced by a regular miner. Usually.

Here's what looks like a "bug" (or bad feature). If you have a Master Miner in a deep mine in SLOT 1 the program will never send a regular miner to fill SLOT 2 even if you have dozens of them in the warehouse.

Yes, I found a workaround. Always be careful to send away the Master Miner in a deep mine from slot 2 (you often have 2 in a mine). It seems the program is picky picky picky and thinks of slot 2 as the Master slot and 1 as the apprentice slot. They don't seem to be interchangeable. Very annoying.


--
Any typos are the fault of my laptop keyboard

Top Quote
kaputtnik
Avatar
Joined: 2013-02-18, 20:48
Posts: 1942
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Germany
Posted at: 2020-10-07, 18:53

Interesting... are you playing the development branch or build 21?

I do never build deep mines, except i couldn't find any ore anymore, which is very rare on most maps (i want to spend all produced bread for the trainingites). So didn't noticed this behavior prior .


Top Quote
_Elefantenrennen
Avatar
Joined: 2020-07-11, 17:49
Posts: 86
Ranking
Likes to be here
Location: Why do you want to know this?
Posted at: 2020-10-07, 20:22

The same thing happens to me with a Barbarian Brewery (using build 21).


t h e h a l f h e r o r u s h i s a s t r o n g s t r a t e g y i f y o u k n o w h o w t o p l a y i t

Top Quote
Nordfriese
Avatar
Joined: 2017-01-17, 18:07
Posts: 1047
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: 0x55555d3a34c0
Posted at: 2020-10-07, 20:27

Internally, every slot is assigned a minimum worker rank at building creation time. One slot for a miner or better, one for a chief miner or better, and one for a master miner or better. That's the same for every building that needs experienced workers. No reordering is possible currently, +1 for implementing intelligent detection whether the slot requirements for a filled slot and a vacant slot could be swapped.


Top Quote
hessenfarmer
Avatar
Joined: 2014-12-11, 23:16
Posts: 1554
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Bavaria
Posted at: 2020-10-08, 09:58

Nordfriese wrote:

Internally, every slot is assigned a minimum worker rank at building creation time. One slot for a miner or better, one for a chief miner or better, and one for a master miner or better. That's the same for every building that needs experienced workers. No reordering is possible currently, +1 for implementing intelligent detection whether the slot requirements for a filled slot and a vacant slot could be swapped.

+1 for intelligent detection and management from me as well


Top Quote
mxb2001
Avatar
Joined: 2019-05-20, 18:49
Posts: 89
Ranking
Likes to be here
Location: Lost in dreamland
Posted at: 2020-10-09, 02:36

No need to reprogram anything. Just add it to the documentation. It's no problem once you know the slots are not all interchangable as one would expect. Or another suggestion: In the building screen where it has the slots add a tooltip when hovering over each slot that states what rank is


--
Any typos are the fault of my laptop keyboard

Top Quote
Nordfriese
Avatar
Joined: 2017-01-17, 18:07
Posts: 1047
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: 0x55555d3a34c0
Posted at: 2020-10-09, 11:59

No need to reprogram anything

But we want to face-wink.png https://github.com/widelands/widelands/issues/4329


Top Quote
WorldSavior
Avatar
Joined: 2016-10-15, 04:10
Posts: 1821
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: North of Germany
Posted at: 2020-10-13, 20:45

mxb2001 wrote:

Punny eh?

yes, good one face-wink.png


Top Quote
simplypeachy
Joined: 2009-04-23, 12:42
Posts: 146
Ranking
At home in WL-forums
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posted at: 2020-10-14, 00:57

It'd be great if one could control experienced workers as an economy target. For example: with a target of five master miners, a master miner was ejected once they are no longer needed in a slot, and a miner would take their place; repeat until five masters are in stock (not in mines).

Whether buildings should operate (perhaps exceeding their product economy targets) until worker targets are met is another matter; I'd incline towards "yes".


I need less fish :-(
Update: I definitely need less fish :-((
_aD on IRC

Top Quote
GunChleoc
Avatar
Joined: 2013-10-07, 15:56
Posts: 3273
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: RenderedRect
Posted at: 2020-10-14, 10:43

That's not easily done - you can't create a master miner in the warehouse, so implementation-wise it can't be captured by an economy target.


Busy indexing nil values

Top Quote