Polls

Default Game Speed

Log in to vote!

Latest Posts

Topic: Where's The Gold?

mark76
Avatar
Joined: 2019-12-22, 18:27
Posts: 10
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Posted at: 2019-12-22, 18:38

I'm playing as the Barbarian tribe in the Together We're Stronger scenario. I've restarted three times and at no point have my geologists found any gold in the area under my control. Do I need to go abroad to find some? And if so, how can I mount an expedition that includes a geologist?

Edited: 2019-12-22, 18:53

Top Quote
WorldSavior
Avatar
Joined: 2016-10-15, 04:10
Posts: 1357
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: GER
Posted at: 2019-12-22, 19:14

mark76 wrote:

Hi mark, welcome in the forum.

I'm playing as the Barbarian tribe in the Together We're Stronger scenario. I've restarted three times and at no point have my geologists found any gold in the area under my control. Do I need to go abroad to find some?

Yes, the gold is at the other island.

And if so, how can I mount an expedition that includes a geologist?

Not directly, but geologists will travel to the place where you request them, also with ships. For example you can request geologists at your colony port directly if you tell them to search around that for water. Then later when you reach the mountains they are already in your colony port.


“It's a threat to our planet to believe that someone else will save it.” - Robert Swan

Top Quote
mark76
Avatar
Joined: 2019-12-22, 18:27
Posts: 10
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Posted at: 2019-12-22, 19:25

Okay. How do I set up a colony port? I only have one gold left unless I demolish my original port.


Top Quote
WorldSavior
Avatar
Joined: 2016-10-15, 04:10
Posts: 1357
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: GER
Posted at: 2019-12-22, 19:47

mark76 wrote:

Okay. How do I set up a colony port? I only have one gold left unless I demolish my original port.

There is a trick: Gold mines can produce some gold ore even if there is no gold at all in their area. Depleted/empty mines usually have still 5-10% efficiency.

You need your original port for the expedition (button). When the wares and the carpenter for the expedition are complete, a ship will load the wares and be able to build the colony port if it finds the portspace. In case you didn't know that: There is a seafaring tutorial which teaches this stuff.

Every tribe starts with 4 gold which is enough for a first port and a colony port, by the way.


“It's a threat to our planet to believe that someone else will save it.” - Robert Swan

Top Quote
mark76
Avatar
Joined: 2019-12-22, 18:27
Posts: 10
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Posted at: 2019-12-22, 19:59

There's also starting the game as a Trading Outpost, which gives you 14 gold up front. But that feels like cheating.


Top Quote
hessenfarmer
Avatar
Joined: 2014-12-11, 23:16
Posts: 916
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Bavaria
Posted at: 2019-12-22, 20:03

mark76 wrote:

There's also starting the game as a Trading Outpost, which gives you 14 gold up front. But that feels like cheating.

that's what this start condition is intended for. I won't say it's cheating it is just getting some help face-wink.png


Top Quote
mark76
Avatar
Joined: 2019-12-22, 18:27
Posts: 10
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Posted at: 2019-12-22, 20:10

Would you mind linking me to the tutorial. This site isn't the easiest to navigate.


Top Quote
king_of_nowhere
Avatar
Joined: 2014-09-15, 18:35
Posts: 1459
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Posted at: 2019-12-22, 20:22

you need 2 gold to make a port. an expedition starts with 2 gold because it has to make a new port. you start with 4 gold. so, you need to not spend any gold to start an expedition. if you did already spend gold, you can make a gold mine everywhere for a 5% chance to get gold on every working cycle. an expedition does not have a geologist because that's not what it does. it makes a new port, so you can expand on the island. and then you can eventually call a geologist.

the port space is just west of your headquarter if you started with blue. there is a risk that you made another building or a road nearby and blocked it.

if you want to know where the gold is (and also the port spaces), you can also open the map editor (one of the options in the main menu) and from it open the map. you will see the map in full detail, including positioning of resources.


Top Quote
mark76
Avatar
Joined: 2019-12-22, 18:27
Posts: 10
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Posted at: 2019-12-22, 20:22

I feel like I'm going to have to island hop over various sandbanks and atolls to get to the next island


Top Quote
hessenfarmer
Avatar
Joined: 2014-12-11, 23:16
Posts: 916
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Bavaria
Posted at: 2019-12-22, 21:29

mark76 wrote:

Would you mind linking me to the tutorial. This site isn't the easiest to navigate.

the tutorial is in the game. Press play tutorial to discover our tutorials.


Top Quote