Latest Posts

Topic: Post bugs which should be fixed in build21

GunChleoc
Avatar
Joined: 2013-10-07, 15:56
Posts: 2998
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: RenderedRect
Posted at: 2019-09-05, 00:03

Starting widelands with some command line options when the translations aren't in the default location. See the comments in the bug from #4 on.


Busy indexing nil values

Top Quote
niektory
Avatar
Joined: 2019-06-03, 20:06
Posts: 27
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Posted at: 2019-09-15, 23:08

Umm, that's still confusing, but I tried to test it.

I installed the linked 64-bit build on a Windows 7 64-bit system. The --homedir option works: a directory is created at the specified location; log, settings and saved games are saved there. A directory containing spaces works too, if enclosed in quotation marks as follows:

widelands.exe "--homedir=C:/Users/nth/Desktop/with spaces"

Forward slashes and back slashes in the path both work.

A directory containing non-Latin characters like ą or 月 does not work properly; Widelands creates files with mangled names. The system I tested this on is set to Japanese locale, it might be a factor.

As for the translations, the linked installer installed the translations too. If I delete the locale directory from the data directory, the error described in the bug is displayed. If I delete all files from the locale directory but leave the (empty) directory itself, there's no error. This is unrelated to whether the --homedir option was used or not.


Top Quote
GunChleoc
Avatar
Joined: 2013-10-07, 15:56
Posts: 2998
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: RenderedRect
Posted at: 2019-09-16, 08:42

Thanks for testing! I have created an issue for the non-Latin characters: https://github.com/widelands/widelands/issues/3482

Does renaming the locale directory and calling it with --localedir work?

The original bug report is now at https://github.com/widelands/widelands/issues/3430

Edited: 2019-09-16, 08:50

Busy indexing nil values

Top Quote
niektory
Avatar
Joined: 2019-06-03, 20:06
Posts: 27
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Posted at: 2019-09-16, 16:02

--localedir doesn't seem to work. It always looks for the translation files in the default location, no matter what I pass to it.


Top Quote
GunChleoc
Avatar
Joined: 2013-10-07, 15:56
Posts: 2998
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: RenderedRect
Posted at: 2019-09-16, 17:20

You're right. I assumed that there was a switch, but there isn't. The switch is --datadir, and then it will look for a locale dir there.

I have pushed a commit to the pull request that will show a basic warning box when the locale dir is not found.


Busy indexing nil values

Top Quote
Nordfriese
Avatar
Joined: 2017-01-17, 18:07
Posts: 479
Ranking
Tribe Member
Location: 0x55555d3a34c0
Posted at: 2019-09-16, 19:05

I´m unable to start a campaign in current master. When I click Campaigns in the main menu, I get an…

Unexpected error during the game
[../src/graphic/image_io.h:35] Image not found: images/ui_fsmenu/hard.png

(using unofficial-git-625e56ba13 (Release))

Is this just something wrong with my git checkout or a bug?

Edited: 2019-09-16, 19:05

Top Quote
GunChleoc
Avatar
Joined: 2013-10-07, 15:56
Posts: 2998
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: RenderedRect
Posted at: 2019-09-16, 19:12

It's a bug - the image is missing. I'll take care of it.

Edited: 2019-09-16, 19:26

Busy indexing nil values

Top Quote
niektory
Avatar
Joined: 2019-06-03, 20:06
Posts: 27
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Posted at: 2019-09-16, 21:11

When I build latest Widelands with XDG enabled (which is the default now), it tries to use the datadir from /usr/share/widelands (the datadir from Build 20 installed via the Manjaro's package manager) and fails to run, spitting out some Lua errors. I have to use the --datadir switch to keep it from doing that. Not sure if a bug or working as intended, but it took me a while to figure out what was wrong.


Top Quote
GunChleoc
Avatar
Joined: 2013-10-07, 15:56
Posts: 2998
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: RenderedRect
Posted at: 2019-09-17, 08:05

That's definitely a bug. https://github.com/widelands/widelands/issues/3490

If there is a ~/.widelands dir already present, it should use that and only switch to XDG mode if there isn't.

Can you show us the "some Lua errors"?


Busy indexing nil values

Top Quote
niektory
Avatar
Joined: 2019-06-03, 20:06
Posts: 27
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Posted at: 2019-09-17, 18:27

GunChleoc wrote:

That's definitely a bug. https://github.com/widelands/widelands/issues/3490

If there is a ~/.widelands dir already present, it should use that and only switch to XDG mode if there isn't.

No no, it's not a problem with the ~/.widelands directory (with settings, saved games, etc.); it does use that just fine. The problem is that it tries to use the data directory (the one with images, music etc.) from an older version installed from the distro's repositories, instead of the one located together with the widelands executable (where it was compiled).

Can you show us the "some Lua errors"?

This is Widelands Version unofficial-git-b'53695c4292' (Release)
Set home directory: /home/mnj/.widelands
Set configuration file: /home/mnj/.widelands/config
Widelands executable directory: /home/mnj/widelands/
Adding directory: /usr/share/widelands
selected language: (system language)
using locale en_US.utf8
Graphics: Try to set Videomode 1920x1200
Graphics: OpenGL: Version "4.6.0 NVIDIA 430.40"
Graphics: SDL_GL_RED_SIZE is 8
Graphics: SDL_GL_GREEN_SIZE is 8
Graphics: SDL_GL_BLUE_SIZE is 8
Graphics: SDL_GL_ALPHA_SIZE is 0
Graphics: SDL_GL_BUFFER_SIZE is 24
Graphics: SDL_GL_DOUBLEBUFFER is 1
Graphics: SDL_GL_DEPTH_SIZE is 24
Graphics: SDL_GL_STENCIL_SIZE is 0
Graphics: SDL_GL_ACCUM_RED_SIZE is 16
Graphics: SDL_GL_ACCUM_GREEN_SIZE is 16
Graphics: SDL_GL_ACCUM_BLUE_SIZE is 16
Graphics: SDL_GL_ACCUM_ALPHA_SIZE is 16
Graphics: SDL_GL_STEREO is 0
Graphics: SDL_GL_MULTISAMPLEBUFFERS is 0
Graphics: SDL_GL_MULTISAMPLESAMPLES is 0
Graphics: SDL_GL_ACCELERATED_VISUAL is 1
Graphics: SDL_GL_CONTEXT_MAJOR_VERSION is 2
Graphics: SDL_GL_CONTEXT_MINOR_VERSION is 1
Graphics: SDL_GL_CONTEXT_FLAGS is 0
Graphics: SDL_GL_CONTEXT_PROFILE_MASK is 0
Graphics: SDL_GL_SHARE_WITH_CURRENT_CONTEXT is 0
Graphics: SDL_GL_FRAMEBUFFER_SRGB_CAPABLE is 0
Graphics: OpenGL: Double buffering enabled
Graphics: OpenGL: Max texture size: 16384
Graphics: OpenGL: ShadingLanguage: "4.60 NVIDIA"
**** GRAPHICS REPORT ****
 VIDEO DRIVER GLVND x11
 pixel fmt 370546692
 size 1920 1200
**** END GRAPHICS REPORT ****
ERROR: Unused key "color" in LuaTable. Please report as a bug.
ERROR: Unused key "image" in LuaTable. Please report as a bug.
ERROR: Unused key "primary" in LuaTable. Please report as a bug.
ERROR: Unused key "secondary" in LuaTable. Please report as a bug.
ERROR: Unused key "wui" in LuaTable. Please report as a bug.
ERROR: Unused key "dropdowns" in LuaTable. Please report as a bug.
ERROR: Unused key "editboxes" in LuaTable. Please report as a bug.
ERROR: Unused key "scrollbars" in LuaTable. Please report as a bug.
ERROR: Unused key "sliders" in LuaTable. Please report as a bug.
ERROR: Unused key "tabpanels" in LuaTable. Please report as a bug.
Style Manager: Reading style templates took 1ms

Caught exception (of type '16LuaTableKeyError') in outermost handler!
The exception said: [../src/scripting/lua_errors.cc:22] enabled is not a field in this table.

This should not happen. Please file a bug report on version unofficial-git-b'53695c4292'(Release).
and remember to specify your operating system.

Top Quote