Latest Posts

Topic: Widelands tournament Easter 2018

teppo
Joined: 2012-01-30, 09:42
Posts: 343
Ranking
Tribe Member
Posted at: 2018-04-02, 18:58

king_of_nowhere wrote:

We really need a better roading algorithm. I built two parallel roads to speed up ware transportation, and all the traffic got stuck. Looking in detail, I notice there was a point where the two roads were connected, and the carriers were shifting all the traffic on just one road, possibly because it was one step shorter. One road unused, another stuck. somebody with the right skills should develop a sorting mechanism that allows for ring roads.

Was this a temporary thing?

I have done something similar, and a jam like you describe appeared for a short while.

I suspect that the router found a busy path and empty path, and started assigning all new stuff to the not busy new way. Since there were no carrier animals on the new road segmants, the road got badly stuck. When the new road stopped being significantly better, the situation stabilized.

I wrote this from memory, did not check code, could be wrong.


Top Quote
einstein13
Avatar
Joined: 2013-07-29, 00:01
Posts: 1041
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Poland
Posted at: 2018-04-02, 20:22

teppo wrote:

I wrote this from memory, did not check code, could be wrong.

I can confirm that, also from memory.


einstein13
calculations & maps packages: http://wuatek.no-ip.org/~rak/widelands/

Top Quote
einstein13
Avatar
Joined: 2013-07-29, 00:01
Posts: 1041
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Poland
Posted at: 2018-04-02, 21:37

I have received several e-mails last 48 hours. I am glad to see that there are many people interested on that tournament!!! face-grin.png

So far:

hessenfarmer

image
More about his game: http://wuatek.no-ip.org/~rak/widelands/Tournament2018/02_hessenfarmer/

tando

image
More about his game: http://wuatek.no-ip.org/~rak/widelands/Tournament2018/03_tando/

Carsten

image
More about his game: http://wuatek.no-ip.org/~rak/widelands/Tournament2018/04_Carsten/
Here I would like to note that Carsten is not on our forum, but he is a Widelands fan! face-smile.png Welcome here!


einstein13
calculations & maps packages: http://wuatek.no-ip.org/~rak/widelands/

Top Quote
king_of_nowhere
Avatar
Joined: 2014-09-15, 18:35
Posts: 1308
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Posted at: 2018-04-03, 19:43

I found out after 8 hours that my labirinths weren't working!

I had a warehouse set for storing metals, and I was producing soldiers there. Another warehouse set for storing food, and i built the labirinths there. when the labirinth cycled new soldiers in, it only got them from the closer warehouse, so there was a handful of trained soldiers that kept going in and out of the labirinth. The mass of the soldiers wasn't touched. GAAHHHHHH!!!

Only happens with atlantean labirinth, because it can tecnically give 5 promotions even if in most cases you onlly want the evade. I wonder if it would be too much to ask for an option "only train soldiers in evade" that automatically kicks out soldiers with evade 2 and ignores them when calling for more. Meh, probably too specific, and too difficult to code.

Atlanteans are not ideal in this map anyway because wood is a limiting factor, but I don't want to spend 12 hours rebuilding mines. I'm just too comfortable in the lazyness of building one mine and forgetting about it.

Edited: 2018-04-03, 19:44
Top Quote
einstein13
Avatar
Joined: 2013-07-29, 00:01
Posts: 1041
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Poland
Posted at: 2018-04-03, 19:54

@king
Don't worry face-wink.png This tournament should be difficult in other way than classical one. You have one problem, somebody has another one. But you can replay and spend another 12 hours from your life in the second try face-tongue.png .


einstein13
calculations & maps packages: http://wuatek.no-ip.org/~rak/widelands/

Top Quote
teppo
Joined: 2012-01-30, 09:42
Posts: 343
Ranking
Tribe Member
Posted at: 2018-04-03, 19:59

king_of_nowhere wrote:

Only happens with atlantean labirinth, because it can tecnically give 5 promotions even if in most cases you onlly want the evade. I wonder if it would be too much to ask for an option "only train soldiers in evade" that automatically kicks out soldiers with evade 2 and ignores them when calling for more. Meh, probably too specific, and too difficult to code.

I have thought of changing the training sites so that they occasionally recruit "as good (in overall) soldier as possible that still can be trained here" and "as weak as possible soldier, that can be trained here".

This is not a direct answer to your request, but would still fulfill it at low efficiency. Such modification would be rather easy to implement.

Of course, you can always build a huge pile of castles that vacuum the evade-trained soldiers away.


Top Quote
king_of_nowhere
Avatar
Joined: 2014-09-15, 18:35
Posts: 1308
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Posted at: 2018-04-03, 22:55

teppo wrote:

king_of_nowhere wrote:

Of course, you can always build a huge pile of castles that vacuum the evade-trained soldiers away.

Oh, I fixed it just by kicking soldiers out of the incriminated warehouse. without soldiers in a closer warehouse, the program called them from a more distant building, the one i wanted.

It's just that I lost whatever promotion i could have gotten in 4 hours.

Edited: 2018-04-03, 22:55
Top Quote
einstein13
Avatar
Joined: 2013-07-29, 00:01
Posts: 1041
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Poland
Posted at: 2018-04-04, 21:04

Finally we have king_of_nowhere in the list:

image

He was not going for fully promoted soldiers, so he exists only on two lists. Who will beat him? face-smile.png


einstein13
calculations & maps packages: http://wuatek.no-ip.org/~rak/widelands/

Top Quote
teppo
Joined: 2012-01-30, 09:42
Posts: 343
Ranking
Tribe Member
Posted at: 2018-04-05, 06:12

king_of_nowhere wrote:

Oh, I fixed it just by kicking soldiers out of the incriminated warehouse. without soldiers in a closer warehouse, the program called them from a more distant building, the one i wanted.

All fine? No need to work on labyrinths?

Edited: 2018-04-05, 06:12
Top Quote
GunChleoc
Avatar
Joined: 2013-10-07, 15:56
Posts: 2891
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: RenderedRect
Posted at: 2018-04-05, 09:18

I could imagine the following buttons on trainingsites:

  1. prefer heroes/rookies, just like we have for military sites
  2. A button for each feature that can be trained to switch it on and off.

Busy indexing nil values

Top Quote