Latest Posts

Topic: population

bill2505
Joined: 2009-09-12, 22:12
Posts: 2
Ranking
Just found this site
Posted at: 2009-09-12, 22:16

how to increase population.i need more workers and builders


Top Quote
MegaMatze
Joined: 2009-06-20, 16:06
Posts: 33
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Location: Germany
Posted at: 2009-09-13, 10:24

I think you always have an infinite amount of neutral/blank workers. They can do nothing but carriing things.

If you want other workers, you must equip them with the right tools. Luberjack needs an axe, builders need a hammer I think.

You must build a smith, he combines iren and wood to a new tool. The new tool will combine with a blank worker into a specialised worker.

Edited: 2009-09-13, 10:25

Top Quote
Spiceskull
Joined: 2009-02-24, 15:13
Posts: 49
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Posted at: 2009-12-07, 14:36

When you build a new Warehouse you get 100 new citizens, who start off as carriers, but can be reassigned to other tasks depending on what wares you have in stock in your economy.

However, building a new Warehouse seems to mean that all produced wares will now go to this new Warehouse, rather than the nearest one ... this is a bug that the developers know about.

There are some workarounds, such as building a Warehouse (for workers) then 'breaking' the road to it once all the workers have come out to play.


Top Quote
Nasenbaer
Avatar
Joined: 2009-02-21, 18:17
Posts: 829
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Germany
Posted at: 2009-12-07, 16:50

Building a new Warehouse seems to mean that all produced wares will now go to this new Warehouse, rather than the nearest one ... this is a bug that the developers know about.

That bug was already fixed some days after release of Build14 and so is in current development versions.

Spiceskull wrote: When you build a new Warehouse you get 100 new citizens, who start off as carriers, but can be reassigned to other tasks depending on what wares you have in stock in your economy. There are some workarounds, such as building a Warehouse (for workers) then 'breaking' the road to it once all the workers have come out to play.

What is that supposed to do? once a worker left the warehouse the number of workers in the warehouse will again start to rise until 100 is reached. so if you just want new carriers, you only need 1 headquarters/warehouse.

Perhaps I simply got you wrong, but the point of a warehouse is to store wares and to recruit new workers/soldiers from the carriers and there is no limit of workers besides, that only 100 carriers can be (and actually always will be) inside. face-smile.png

Cheers

Nasenbaer


Top Quote
Spiceskull
Joined: 2009-02-24, 15:13
Posts: 49
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Posted at: 2009-12-07, 16:54

Ah! Didn't realise that ... I thought that you got 100 new population from a new warehouse, for a fast boost to the population of your tribe.

So, if I get you right, the HQ will always increase the population anyway, although new warehouses will make it faster?

If I have HQ plus 10 warehouses I should have 1,100 people, and if they are all out at 'work' then the buildings will repopulate so that eventually my population will reach 2,200?

Edited: 2009-12-07, 16:55

Top Quote
Nasenbaer
Avatar
Joined: 2009-02-21, 18:17
Posts: 829
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Germany
Posted at: 2009-12-07, 17:45

The 100 per warehouse/headquarters are just for carriers - all other worker types are counted separate.

So simplest example: You start with a headquarters filled with a lot of tools, but no other workers than the carrier yet (+ build material for buildings).

You build up 6 lumberjack's huts, 3 forester's huts, 2 sawmills and 2 farms and connect them with 25 road steps (between flags).

after a while of "breeding" in the headquarters, you'll have now 125 carriers (100 in the headquarters + 25 on the roads) 6 lumberjacks's, 3 foresters, 2 sawyers and 2 farmers = 138 workers in the whole economy.

That's it no more no less. face-smile.png


Top Quote