Latest Posts

Topic: No "tundra" in actual build, broke old savegame.

MarkMcWire
Avatar
Topic Opener
Joined: 2017-02-08, 21:06
Posts: 321
Ranking
Tribe Member
Location: Eisenach, Germany
Posted at: 2021-06-29, 15:33
ERROR: ##############################
ERROR: FATAL EXCEPTION: terrain: DescriptionManager::load_description: Object 'tundra' was not registered
ERROR: ##############################
ERROR: Please report this problem to help us improve Widelands.
ERROR: You will find related messages in the standard output (stdout.txt on Windows).
ERROR: You are using build 1.1~git25376 (Release).
ERROR: Please add this information to your report.
ERROR: If desired, Widelands attempts to create an emergency savegame.
ERROR: It is often – though not always – possible to load it and continue playing.
ERROR: ##############################

My widelands project: https://github.com/widelands/wl_addons_server/tree/master/addons/europeans_tribe.wad

Top Quote
MarkMcWire
Avatar
Topic Opener
Joined: 2017-02-08, 21:06
Posts: 321
Ranking
Tribe Member
Location: Eisenach, Germany
Posted at: 2021-06-29, 15:55

I solved the problem by editing the savegame (terrain binary) with a hex editor to reflect the new terrain descrition names.

Edited: 2021-06-29, 16:00

My widelands project: https://github.com/widelands/wl_addons_server/tree/master/addons/europeans_tribe.wad

Top Quote
hessenfarmer
Avatar
Joined: 2014-12-11, 23:16
Posts: 2646
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Bavaria
Posted at: 2021-06-29, 16:06

MarkMcWire wrote:

I solved the problem by editing the savegame (terrain binary) with a hex editor to reflect the new terrain descrition names.

there should have been compatibilty code to avoid this. which map was it?


Top Quote
Nordfriese
Avatar
Joined: 2017-01-17, 18:07
Posts: 1929
OS: Debian Testing
Version: Latest master
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: 0x55555d3a34c0
Posted at: 2021-06-29, 16:29

I did test that the lookup works with several of my savegames; so it would be interesting to know how where the faulty call comes from – please upload the savegame?


Top Quote
MarkMcWire
Avatar
Topic Opener
Joined: 2017-02-08, 21:06
Posts: 321
Ranking
Tribe Member
Location: Eisenach, Germany
Posted at: 2021-06-29, 16:34

You need my modified Europa 1.2 map with straits of bosporus.


Attachment:
Spiel_Europa_Pos_6.wgf (2.1 MB)

My widelands project: https://github.com/widelands/wl_addons_server/tree/master/addons/europeans_tribe.wad

Top Quote
Nordfriese
Avatar
Joined: 2017-01-17, 18:07
Posts: 1929
OS: Debian Testing
Version: Latest master
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: 0x55555d3a34c0
Posted at: 2021-06-29, 16:47

Loading this game with europeans 1.4.1 first gives me a different error:

[00:00:06.858 real] ERROR: ##############################
[00:00:06.858 real] ERROR:   FATAL EXCEPTION: Error while loading tribe 'europeans': [../src/scripting/lua_errors.cc:22] tribe europeans: Failed adding worker 'europeans_soldier': [../src/scripting/lua_errors.cc:22] Soldier needs to have 6 pictures for battle attribute, but found 7
[00:00:06.858 real] ERROR: stack traceback:
[00:00:06.858 real] ERROR:  [string "addons/europeans_tribe.wad/workers/soldier/in..."]:79: in main chunk
[00:00:06.858 real] ERROR:  [C]: in method 'new_tribe'
[00:00:06.858 real] ERROR:  [string "addons/europeans_tribe.wad/tribes/europeans_t..."]:10: in main chunk
[00:00:06.858 real] ERROR: stack traceback:
[00:00:06.858 real] ERROR:  [string "addons/europeans_tribe.wad/tribes/europeans_
[00:00:06.858 real] ERROR: ##############################

After removing the extra images the savegame loads fine, though it says

[00:01:10.309 real] WARNING: Tribe 'europeans' defines no productionsite string 'productionsite_worker_missing'
[00:01:10.309 real] WARNING: Tribe 'europeans' defines no productionsite string 'productionsite_workers_missing'
[00:01:10.309 real] WARNING: Tribe 'europeans' defines no productionsite string 'productionsite_worker_coming'
[00:01:10.309 real] WARNING: Tribe 'europeans' defines no productionsite string 'productionsite_workers_coming'
[00:01:44.387 real] WARNING: The AI needs the tribe 'europeans' to define 1 type of barracks building. This is the building that produces the tribe's 'soldier' worker.
[00:01:44.387 real] WARNING: The AI needs the tribe 'europeans' to define 1 type of well at the most. This is the building that produces the ware 'water', has no inputs and mines the 'resource_water'.
[00:01:44.387 real] WARNING: The AI needs the tribe 'europeans' to define 1 type of hunter's building at the most. Hunters are buildings that collect any bob from the map.

Please try recompiling and then see if the initial problem persists.


Top Quote
MarkMcWire
Avatar
Topic Opener
Joined: 2017-02-08, 21:06
Posts: 321
Ranking
Tribe Member
Location: Eisenach, Germany
Posted at: 2021-06-29, 18:50

I made a pull request but forgot to compile a new execute file. My fault.

Edited: 2021-06-29, 18:51

My widelands project: https://github.com/widelands/wl_addons_server/tree/master/addons/europeans_tribe.wad

Top Quote
hessenfarmer
Avatar
Joined: 2014-12-11, 23:16
Posts: 2646
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Bavaria
Posted at: 2021-06-29, 21:02

MarkMcWire wrote:

I made a pull request but forgot to compile a new execute file. My fault.

happened to me so many times. welcome to the club. face-wink.png
Honestly this is a classic fault whoich nearly everybody of us should have encountered already


Top Quote