Currently Online

Latest Posts

Topic: Bugs before version 1.1

Nordfriese
Avatar
Joined: 2017-01-17, 18:07
Posts: 1665
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: 0x55555d3a34c0
Posted at: 2022-08-12, 21:08

I found quite a lot of other occurrences after setting all my hotkeys to '<'. Fix is up: https://github.com/widelands/widelands/pull/5499


Top Quote
WorldSavior
Avatar
Joined: 2016-10-15, 04:10
Posts: 1991
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Germany
Posted at: 2022-09-08, 23:33
  • If you start a replay, it will not use your "show or show not by default" settings concerning the keys space, s, c and so on
  • if you click on "start the replay" you cannot skip the window which warns you about the different version by using crtl+click
  • the map preview doesnt show the custom color of a player, but the default color instead

Wanted to save the world, then I got widetracked

Top Quote
Nordfriese
Avatar
Joined: 2017-01-17, 18:07
Posts: 1665
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: 0x55555d3a34c0
Posted at: 2022-09-09, 10:04
  1. This happens because the replay tries to recreate the point of view of the person who created the replay as accurately as possible. Just as a savegame will show your saveloaded display flags instead of the (customisable) defaults, a replay will do so too. If we want to change this, it will also mean
    · not centering the map on the replay player's viewport and
    · no QuickNavigation landmarks.
    Which are not overly important though IMHO, would that be OK?

  2. Should be easy to fix.

  3. Would require refactoring of saveloading code, player colours are not currently accessible before loading the savegame completely.


Top Quote
WorldSavior
Avatar
Joined: 2016-10-15, 04:10
Posts: 1991
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Germany
Posted at: 2022-09-09, 13:22

Nordfriese wrote:

  1. This happens because the replay tries to recreate the point of view of the person who created the replay as accurately as possible. Just as a savegame will show your saveloaded display flags instead of the (customisable) defaults, a replay will do so too. If we want to change this, it will also mean
    · not centering the map on the replay player's viewport and
    · no QuickNavigation landmarks.
    Which are not overly important though IMHO, would that be OK?

I think it would be ok

  1. Would require refactoring of saveloading code, player colours are not currently accessible before loading the savegame completely.

Well then. Maybe it's not so important


Wanted to save the world, then I got widetracked

Top Quote
Nordfriese
Avatar
Joined: 2017-01-17, 18:07
Posts: 1665
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: 0x55555d3a34c0
Posted at: 2022-09-09, 15:43

https://github.com/widelands/widelands/pull/5554


Top Quote
tothxa
Avatar
Joined: 2021-03-24, 12:44
Posts: 235
Ranking
Widelands-Forum-Junkie
Posted at: 2022-09-09, 18:58

Nordfriese wrote:

https://github.com/widelands/widelands/pull/5554

I reviewed and tested it, and it works as intended. I'm replying here though because I'm not quite sure about not starting centered on the (creating player's) starting position. If it could somehow still be read and used from the save separately it would be better. E.g. think of single player replays too.


Top Quote
WorldSavior
Avatar
Joined: 2016-10-15, 04:10
Posts: 1991
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Germany
Posted at: 2022-09-09, 19:22

The quickbuild feature seems to be a bit broken. I tried to use it in my new version and it didn't work. Later I could fix this issue by opening the options and configuring the quickbuild. I had to select all the entries and press ok again in each of one. Maybe the bug occurred because I've installed the new version just some days ago. So maybe if you install a new version the feature breaks, even though the new version loads the configuration of the old version. Very weird...


Wanted to save the world, then I got widetracked

Top Quote
Nordfriese
Avatar
Joined: 2017-01-17, 18:07
Posts: 1665
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: 0x55555d3a34c0
Posted at: 2022-09-09, 19:28

It may depend on how old the "old version" is. The feature (which btw is termed Fastplace in English face-smile.png ) was changed a few times over the months since its invention, and if the old version is sufficiently old the format of the config file entries is different and not recognized. (We don't bother with backward compatibility for this, since it affects only development builds.)
Also, in this case, loading up the old version again may revert the new-style entries to the old format so it will happen again when loading up the new version afterwards – the danger of using multiple versions in parallel with a shared config file.


Top Quote
WorldSavior
Avatar
Joined: 2016-10-15, 04:10
Posts: 1991
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Germany
Posted at: 2022-09-11, 16:45

Okay, makes sense

I strongly recommend to add a confirmation dialogue for the resign button

Edit: Diplomacy requests shouldnt pop up, they should appear first as message which can be muted?

Edited: 2022-09-11, 16:46

Wanted to save the world, then I got widetracked

Top Quote
Nordfriese
Avatar
Joined: 2017-01-17, 18:07
Posts: 1665
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: 0x55555d3a34c0
Posted at: 2022-09-11, 17:16

I strongly recommend to add a confirmation dialogue for the resign button

Makes sense

Edit: Diplomacy requests shouldnt pop up, they should appear first as message which can be muted?

But messages can't contain Accept/Reject buttons…


Top Quote