Latest Posts

Topic: Tournament 2022

hessenfarmer
Avatar
Joined: 2014-12-11, 23:16
Posts: 2283
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Bavaria
Posted at: 2022-09-03, 16:01

niektory wrote:

Yo, I haven't played or read the forums for over a year but I can't just miss a tournament, can I? So I'm coming back from the dead to participate. face-cool.png

Good to see you again. I would love to see you more frequent though face-wink.png


Top Quote
hessenfarmer
Avatar
Joined: 2014-12-11, 23:16
Posts: 2283
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Bavaria
Posted at: 2022-09-03, 16:09

WorldSavior wrote:

hessenfarmer wrote:

Now I found the map for round 3, although I didn't test it for the tournament.

I think we should fellowships a chance, as it is
a) an official map
b) perfectly balanced
c) never used in a tournament

Again if no objections Round 3 will be played on fellowships.

I disagree. Mars won his tournament final on it, and its not perfectly balanced because its a 3 players map. Would be balanced for a 1v1v1 but a 1v1 is a different story. And like the map for round 1, there are blockades of stones which block everything... Such a map isnt really playable.

Well, I could not find that it was ever used in a tournament. So can you provide me when this had happened?
Regarding balancing I Still think it is balanced in start but has different options / roads to the opponent. the latter is mitigated by seafaring imho.
regarding the sones bloccking the same applies. you can sail around them if you want.

I will try to playtest it though, due to your argument. I will make a final decision later.


Top Quote
hessenfarmer
Avatar
Joined: 2014-12-11, 23:16
Posts: 2283
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Bavaria
Posted at: 2022-09-03, 16:10

Hasi50 wrote:

Sorry I am late,

but I should not misss this. So please add me to the list of participants.

Will we play on master or will there bee a release 1.1 tag soon?

See you.

Glad you showed up. And perfectly in time. The version to play will be announced tomorrow as well.


Top Quote
WorldSavior
Avatar
Joined: 2016-10-15, 04:10
Posts: 1991
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Germany
Posted at: 2022-09-03, 16:29

Well, I could not find that it was ever used in a tournament. So can you provide me when this had happened?

https://www.widelands.org/news/2013/Nov/26/tournament-2013-winner/


Wanted to save the world, then I got widetracked

Top Quote
hessenfarmer
Avatar
Joined: 2014-12-11, 23:16
Posts: 2283
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Bavaria
Posted at: 2022-09-03, 16:51

WorldSavior wrote:

Well, I could not find that it was ever used in a tournament. So can you provide me when this had happened?

https://www.widelands.org/news/2013/Nov/26/tournament-2013-winner/

in this case I will sesrch another map as I do intend to use only maps that weren't used yet.


Top Quote
WorldSavior
Avatar
Joined: 2016-10-15, 04:10
Posts: 1991
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Germany
Posted at: 2022-09-03, 17:45

Ty. How many rounds do we play at all? Didn't it say it "5" somewhere or am I mistaken?


Wanted to save the world, then I got widetracked

Top Quote
hessenfarmer
Avatar
Joined: 2014-12-11, 23:16
Posts: 2283
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Bavaria
Posted at: 2022-09-03, 19:30

you are right. 5 rounds is the traditional amount, and I see no need to change this. A 6th round may be necessary if there will be a tie.


Top Quote
hessenfarmer
Avatar
Joined: 2014-12-11, 23:16
Posts: 2283
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Bavaria
Posted at: 2022-09-04, 12:54

so my new proposal for Round 3 is: Four Mountains from the official maps.

It should be balanced for all players (though some tribes may have an advantage)
I couldn't find any reference for tit ever being used in a tournament


Top Quote
Seefahrer
Avatar
Joined: 2022-04-29, 18:24
Posts: 28
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Posted at: 2022-09-04, 14:54

Ich habe mal eine dumme Frage (sorry dass ich das jetzt mal auf deutsch schreibe, aber selbst da fällt es mir schon schwer Technisches auszudrücken): Also ich habe ja hier im Eingangspost gelesen, mit welcher Widelands-Entwicklungs-Version das Turnier gestartet wird (version 1.1~git25864 (b301eaa@master) ), und ich sehe auch, dass diese Version im jüngsten post im "Updated flatpack available"-Thread verfügbar ist. Wenn ich dann dadarauf klicke, komme ich zu:

https://www.widelands.org/wiki/Download/#all-distributions_1

, aber das ist ja ein Unterkapitel von "Linux", dabei habe ich gar kein Linux sondern Windows. Na ja, ich habe dann trotzdem auf den Link in dem Linux-Unterkapitel geklickt:

https://flatpak.org/setup/

So, dann fragt mich die Seite welche "distro"(???) ich habe(?). Die Symbole da scheinen mir verschiedene Internetbrowser zu sein, ich benutze normalerweise Firefox aber das wird da nicht angezeigt, also habe ich auf Google Chrome geklickt, das habe ich auch. Dadurch komme ich zu:

https://flatpak.org/setup/Chrome%20OS

Da wird dann gesagt, dass man erstmal "Crostini" braucht, aber dass das irgendwie nicht alle Betriebssysteme/Internetbrowser/oderso können und dass man das als erstes checken soll mit folgendem Link:

https://www.reddit.com/r/Crostini/wiki/getstarted/crostini-enabled-devices/

Also ich habe einen alten Toshiba-Laptop von 2015, aber in der Liste der "devices" auf denen Crostini läuft sehe ich keinen Toshiba-Computer... Und wenn ich diesen Überprüfungspunkt ignoriere und auf der vorigen Seite bei Schritt 1 auf den Link klicke:

chrome://os-settings

, dann passiert bei Links-Klick gar nichts, und wenn ich es via Rechtsklick-Menü in einem neuen Tab/Fenster versuche zu öffnen, kommt nur ein leeres weißes Fenster und in der Befehlszeile davon steht: about:blank#blocked


Ich bin dann wieder zurück zur Widelands-Download-Seite gegangen und dort in den Entwicklungsversionen-Bereich gegangen:

https://www.widelands.org/wiki/Download/#automated-daily-builds

In der Tabelle die dort ist, habe ich bei der Windows-64bit-version unter "download" auf "installer" geklickt (was ist denn unter "hash" -> "md5" ?) und es wurde eben irgendwas Großes heruntergeladen und ich versuch jetzt mal zu testen, was das ist. face-wink.png


Hat irgendwas von dem was ich gemacht habe, irgendeinen Sinn ergeben? ;-) Besteht irgendeine Chance, dass ich jetzt gerade die Turnier-Entwicklungsversion runtergeladen habe? Oder welche Version habe ich sonst gerade als "automated daily build" für Windows runtergeladen?


Sorry, ihr seht ja, dass ich von Technik keine Ahnung habe. (Ich versuch jetzt mal die runtergeladene Version zu starten und berichte gleich davon)


Top Quote
hessenfarmer
Avatar
Joined: 2014-12-11, 23:16
Posts: 2283
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Bavaria
Posted at: 2022-09-04, 15:02

Hallo Seefahrer,

Richtig die Flatpaks sind nur für Linux. Die Version die du runtergeladen hast, ist nicht die Turnierversion, aber kompatibel. Somit kannst du diese bedenkenlos fürs Turnier verwenden. Die große Datei die du runtergeladen hast ist unser Installer, der dir die Windowsversion installiert. Im 3. Post hab ich auch einen Li k zu den Windows installern der Turnierversion hinterlegt.

Edited: 2022-09-04, 15:03

Top Quote