Latest Posts

Topic: Updating an addon; screenshots

kaputtnik
Avatar
Joined: 2013-02-18, 20:48
Posts: 2154
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Germany
Posted at: 2021-11-29, 17:55

I have modified my minimalistic theme add-on and want to use the in game add-ons packager. Steps i made sofar:

  1. launched add-ons packager
  2. changed version
  3. Saved the changes

Now it's unclear to me how to handle new screenshots, or: does the order matters? First upload the changed add-on, then upload screenshots? What will happen if i upload new screenshots without submitting the changed add-on first? Because i have changed the window borders and the old screenshots doesn't fit anymore: Can i delete old screenshots?


Wir sind alle nur chemische Marionetten,
hängen an Desoxyribonukleinsäureketten.

Top Quote
Nordfriese
Avatar
Joined: 2017-01-17, 18:07
Posts: 1616
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: 0x55555d3a34c0
Posted at: 2021-11-29, 18:06

Screenshots are not tied to a specific version of an add-on; they're handled separately. It is currently not possible to edit or delete a screenshot, but this should not be hard to implement. I'll make a pair of branches.


Top Quote
kaputtnik
Avatar
Joined: 2013-02-18, 20:48
Posts: 2154
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Germany
Posted at: 2022-01-11, 12:10

Just trying to update the minimalistic theme, but it takes ages to upload all the png-files of the loadscreens although i didn't changed them.

For some reason uploading screenshots don't work because i can't choose a file. Creating the directory .widelands/addons/screenshots/minimalistic_theme.wad/ containing the images and the file descriptions don't work also (can't choose an image for upload, the corresponding window is empty). The documentation gives me also no hint how to manage screenshots.

What to do to let me upload screenshots, to let the images show up in the "Upload a Screenshot…" window?


Wir sind alle nur chemische Marionetten,
hängen an Desoxyribonukleinsäureketten.

Top Quote
Nordfriese
Avatar
Joined: 2017-01-17, 18:07
Posts: 1616
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: 0x55555d3a34c0
Posted at: 2022-01-11, 12:18

Screenshots are assumed to be created with the in-game screenshot feature (F11) so they need to be located in ~/.widelands/screenshots/.

I assume it would make sense to upload only the diff instead of the whole add-on, I'll put it on the roadmap… (edit: https://github.com/widelands/wl_addons_server/issues/119)

By the way, did you ever encounter this bug or is it just me…?

Edited: 2022-01-11, 12:28

Top Quote
kaputtnik
Avatar
Joined: 2013-02-18, 20:48
Posts: 2154
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Germany
Posted at: 2022-01-11, 12:27

Nordfriese wrote:

Screenshots are assumed to be created with the in-game screenshot feature (F11) so they need to be located in ~/.widelands/screenshots/.

Ahhhh... thanks face-smile.png

I assume it would make sense to upload only the diff instead of the whole add-on, I'll put it on the roadmap…

+1 Or, for themes, don't force the addons author to create/use new loadingscreens: I they aren't present in the add-on, use the default ones.

By the way, did you ever encounter this bug or is it just me…?

No, but got another error:

[00:09:34.379 real] ERROR: Upload screenshot screenshots/mini_theme_1.jpg for minimalistic_theme.wad: Connection interrupted (Broken pipe). Reason: 
[00:09:34.379 real] ERROR: WL Protocol Exception: Expected 5 argument(s), found 7

Wir sind alle nur chemische Marionetten,
hängen an Desoxyribonukleinsäureketten.

Top Quote
Nordfriese
Avatar
Joined: 2017-01-17, 18:07
Posts: 1616
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: 0x55555d3a34c0
Posted at: 2022-01-11, 12:38

Ah… this is a bug in the server code where it is assumed that descriptions are only 1 word, added a fix to https://github.com/widelands/wl_addons_server/pull/116


Top Quote