Currently Online

Latest Posts

Topic: widelands does not start

waldecker
Avatar
Joined: 2020-05-31, 21:15
Posts: 21
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Location: Waldeck
Posted at: 2021-07-26, 15:27

Hi,

just tried to play widelands but it did not start


$ widelands
This is Widelands Version 1.1~bzr9968-202107250301 (Release)
INFO: Set home directory: /home/kai/.widelands
INFO: Set configuration file: /home/kai/.widelands/config
WARNING: No locale translations found in /usr/share/games/widelands/data/locale
INFO: selected language: (system language)
INFO: using locale de_DE.UTF-8
INFO: Setting initializer thread.
INFO: Adding directory: /usr/share/games/widelands/data
INFO: selected language: (system language)
INFO: using locale de_DE.UTF-8
INFO: Byte order: little-endian
X Error of failed request: BadValue (integer parameter out of range for operation)
Major opcode of failed request: 151 (GLX)
Minor opcode of failed request: 3 (X_GLXCreateContext)
Value in failed request: 0x0
Serial number of failed request: 99
Current serial number in output stream: 100



Any idea what's wrong?

Waldecker

Edited: 2021-07-26, 15:28

Yesterday I stood before an abyss, today I'm one step further

Top Quote
kaputtnik
Avatar
Joined: 2013-02-18, 20:48
Posts: 2098
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Germany
Posted at: 2021-07-26, 17:29

Looks like an issue of the graphics card/driver. Can you post some information about that? E.g. is this Intel/AMD/NVIDIA?

Does the command glxgears work?


Top Quote
waldecker
Avatar
Joined: 2020-05-31, 21:15
Posts: 21
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Location: Waldeck
Posted at: 2021-07-27, 09:10

yes, glxgears works:


$ glxgears
Running synchronized to the vertical refresh. The framerate should be
approximately the same as the monitor refresh rate.
303 frames in 5.0 seconds = 60.412 FPS
300 frames in 5.0 seconds = 60.000 FPS
300 frames in 5.0 seconds = 59.998 FPS
300 frames in 5.0 seconds = 59.995 FPS
300 frames in 5.0 seconds = 59.994 FPS
300 frames in 5.0 seconds = 59.997 FPS
300 frames in 5.0 seconds = 59.998 FPS
300 frames in 5.0 seconds = 59.998 FPS
300 frames in 5.0 seconds = 59.998 FPS
300 frames in 5.0 seconds = 59.998 FPS
300 frames in 5.0 seconds = 59.995 FPS
^C

Here some additional infos:

$ lspci -nnk | grep -i VGA -A2
06:00.0 VGA compatible controller : NVIDIA Corporation GP108 (rev a1)
Subsystem: Micro-Star International Co., Ltd. GP108
Kernel driver in use: nvidia

$ glxinfo | grep "OpenGL core profile version string"
OpenGL core profile version string: 4.6.0 NVIDIA 460.91.03

$ xrandr
Screen 0: minimum 8 x 8, current 2560 x 1080, maximum 32767 x 32767
DP-0 connected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
2560x1080 60.00 +
1920x1080 60.00 60.00 59.94 50.00
1680x1050 59.95
1600x900 60.00
1280x1024 75.02 60.02
1280x720 60.00 59.94 50.00
1152x864 75.00
1024x768 75.03 60.00
800x600 75.00 60.32
720x576 50.00
720x480 59.94
640x480 75.00 59.94 59.93


Yesterday I stood before an abyss, today I'm one step further

Top Quote
hessenfarmer
Avatar
Joined: 2014-12-11, 23:16
Posts: 2016
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Bavaria
Posted at: 2021-07-27, 12:18

Maybe it is related to the nvidia driver is messed up.
Don't know but mabe you could find solution in this article.

https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=213895


Top Quote
waldecker
Avatar
Joined: 2020-05-31, 21:15
Posts: 21
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Location: Waldeck
Posted at: 2021-07-27, 15:26

After todays reboot widelands started succefully, but crashed after some time


$ widelands
This is Widelands Version 1.1~bzr9968-202107250301 (Release)
INFO: Set home directory: /home/kai/.widelands
INFO: Set configuration file: /home/kai/.widelands/config
WARNING: No locale translations found in /usr/share/games/widelands/data/locale
INFO: selected language: (system language)
INFO: using locale de_DE.UTF-8
INFO: Setting initializer thread.
INFO: Adding directory: /usr/share/games/widelands/data
INFO: selected language: (system language)
INFO: using locale de_DE.UTF-8
INFO: Byte order: little-endian
INFO: Graphics: Try to set Videomode 1600x900
INFO: Graphics: OpenGL: Version "4.6.0 NVIDIA 460.91.03"
INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_RED_SIZE is 8
INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_GREEN_SIZE is 8
INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_BLUE_SIZE is 8
INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_ALPHA_SIZE is 0
INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_BUFFER_SIZE is 24
INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_DOUBLEBUFFER is 1
INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_DEPTH_SIZE is 24
INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_STENCIL_SIZE is 0
INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_ACCUM_RED_SIZE is 16
INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_ACCUM_GREEN_SIZE is 16
INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_ACCUM_BLUE_SIZE is 16
INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_ACCUM_ALPHA_SIZE is 16
INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_STEREO is 0
INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_MULTISAMPLEBUFFERS is 0
INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_MULTISAMPLESAMPLES is 0
INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_ACCELERATED_VISUAL is 1
INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_CONTEXT_MAJOR_VERSION is 2
INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_CONTEXT_MINOR_VERSION is 1
INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_CONTEXT_FLAGS is 0
INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_CONTEXT_PROFILE_MASK is 0
INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_SHARE_WITH_CURRENT_CONTEXT is 0
INFO: Graphics: SDL_GL_FRAMEBUFFER_SRGB_CAPABLE is 0
INFO: Graphics: OpenGL: Double buffering enabled
INFO: Graphics: OpenGL: Max texture size: 32768
INFO: Graphics: OpenGL: ShadingLanguage: "4.60 NVIDIA"
INFO: **** GRAPHICS REPORT ****
INFO: VIDEO DRIVER x11
INFO: Display #0: 2560x1080 @ 60hz SDL_PIXELFORMAT_RGB888
INFO: **** SOUND REPORT ****
INFO: SDL version: 2.0.10
INFO: SDL_mixer version: 2.0.4
INFO: **** END SOUND REPORT ****
INFO: Highlighting item 3 in dropdown 'dropdown_menu_gamespeed'
INFO: Highlighting item 3 in dropdown 'dropdown_menu_gamespeed'
INFO: Highlighting item 2 in dropdown 'dropdown_menu_gamespeed'
INFO: Highlighting item 1 in dropdown 'dropdown_menu_gamespeed'
INFO: Highlighting item 4 in dropdown 'dropdown_menu_mapview'
INFO: Highlighting item 4 in dropdown 'dropdown_menu_mapview'
INFO: Highlighting item 3 in dropdown 'dropdown_menu_mapview'
INFO: Highlighting item 2 in dropdown 'dropdown_menu_mapview'
INFO: Highlighting item 1 in dropdown 'dropdown_menu_mapview'
INFO: Selecting current item in dropdown 'dropdown_menu_mapview'
INFO: Pressing button 'destroy_road'
INFO: Clicking button 'destroy_road'
INFO: Pressing button 'build_road'
INFO: Clicking button 'build_road'
INFO: Pressing button 'destroy_road'
INFO: Clicking button 'destroy_road'
INFO: Highlighting item 6 in dropdown 'dropdown_menu_showhide'
INFO: Highlighting item 6 in dropdown 'dropdown_menu_showhide'
INFO: Highlighting item 5 in dropdown 'dropdown_menu_showhide'
INFO: Highlighting item 4 in dropdown 'dropdown_menu_showhide'
INFO: Highlighting item 3 in dropdown 'dropdown_menu_showhide'
INFO: Highlighting item 2 in dropdown 'dropdown_menu_showhide'
INFO: Selecting current item in dropdown 'dropdown_menu_showhide'
WARNING: New-style view packet not found. There may be strange effects regarding unseen areas.
Speicherzugriffsfehler


Yesterday I stood before an abyss, today I'm one step further

Top Quote
hessenfarmer
Avatar
Joined: 2014-12-11, 23:16
Posts: 2016
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Bavaria
Posted at: 2021-07-27, 16:27

Although this is a different bug then the one the thread relates to, What where the steps to produce it. can you reproduce it yourself?


Top Quote
kaputtnik
Avatar
Joined: 2013-02-18, 20:48
Posts: 2098
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Germany
Posted at: 2021-07-27, 18:46

waldecker wrote:

[00:00:22.228 real] INFO: Highlighting item 3 in dropdown 'dropdown_menu_gamespeed'
...
[00:01:02.100 real] INFO: Highlighting item 4 in dropdown 'dropdown_menu_mapview'
[00:01:03.805 real] INFO: Selecting current item in dropdown 'dropdown_menu_mapview'
[00:03:10.651 real] INFO: Pressing button 'destroy_road'
[00:03:10.903 real] INFO: Clicking button 'destroy_road'
...
[00:05:52.357 real] INFO: Highlighting item 6 in dropdown 'dropdown_menu_showhide'

Such an output is very unusual. AFAIK there were never such outputs...

You can try starting with the --verbose flag: widelands --verbose. Otherwise i have no idea.


Top Quote
waldecker
Avatar
Joined: 2020-05-31, 21:15
Posts: 21
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Location: Waldeck
Posted at: 2021-07-28, 12:07

@hessenfarmer: I'm playing the tutorials. When an explaining window is left open for some time (>60 minutes) the game crashes when clicking the Next button.

@kaputtnik: Those INFO messages don't concern me, its more the last message "Speicherzugriffsfehler" (Memory Access Error) I'm worried about.


Yesterday I stood before an abyss, today I'm one step further

Top Quote
hessenfarmer
Avatar
Joined: 2014-12-11, 23:16
Posts: 2016
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Bavaria
Posted at: 2021-07-28, 13:11

@Waldecker thanks for explaining. I'll try to reproduce, however this sounds like there might be an issue with our new multithreading code. (@Nordfriese probably you can confirm?)

For the messages I assume this isn't the full output of the log / console, is it?


Top Quote
waldecker
Avatar
Joined: 2020-05-31, 21:15
Posts: 21
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Location: Waldeck
Posted at: 2021-07-28, 15:26

For the messages I assume this isn't the full output of the log / console, is it?

It is the full output I got from starting from console till game crash. It looks slightly different every time I start again, but there are never ERRORs in the output

Is there a log-file you need for analysis?

Just now it happened also at the end of babarian campaign mission 1. But this time the final Mission window was only open for a few minutes

Edited: 2021-07-28, 15:28

Yesterday I stood before an abyss, today I'm one step further

Top Quote