Latest Posts

Topic: discovery starting condition

OIPUN
Avatar
Joined: 2020-11-17, 09:34
Posts: 36
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Location: Czech
Posted at: 2021-02-12, 14:23

I would suggest doing some changes to make the discovery starting condition more playable. Please find the saved game attached. There is no reason why the tool smithy should produce a hammer for a new builder. Actually, I can’t find a way, how to produce the requested saw. As for Atlanteans, there is a similar issue to the issue #4607 that is related to the discovery.


Attachment: Greenland white emp disc.wgf (461.4 KB)

Top Quote
hessenfarmer
Avatar
Joined: 2014-12-11, 23:16
Posts: 1672
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Bavaria
Posted at: 2021-02-12, 15:35

Not sure whether I understand the problem. For making a saw and not a hammer for a builder the solution is setting all Tools to zero in economy settings and only have as much similar constructionsites as we have builders.
It is recommendable to cancel 1 or 2 expeditions to have more wares at the remaining portsite.


Top Quote
OIPUN
Avatar
Joined: 2020-11-17, 09:34
Posts: 36
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Location: Czech
Posted at: 2021-02-12, 15:44

That is why I attached the file to show, that the strategy you have described seems not to be enough.


Top Quote
kaputtnik
Avatar
Joined: 2013-02-18, 20:48
Posts: 1990
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Germany
Posted at: 2021-02-12, 17:29

In the save game there are three builders at all:

  • one is coming from a just finished military building
  • one is building a brewery
  • one is free in side the port

Although there is one free builder, the toolsmithy produces a hammer with the last piece of iron.

I guess what happened here is that OIPUN started to build too many buildings at once. Each construction site requests a builder, but there were not enough builders available, so the toolsmithy gets a request to produce a hammer. And this request was not reset if a builder arrived at the port and was 'free'.

This was discussed here and the result was this bugreport.

Edited: 2021-02-12, 17:31

Top Quote
OIPUN
Avatar
Joined: 2020-11-17, 09:34
Posts: 36
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Location: Czech
Posted at: 2021-02-26, 17:18

OIPUN wrote:

As for Atlanteans, there is a similar issue to the issue #4607 that is related to the discovery.

Sorry for repeating myself. I know you are busy. Still I think, it would be great, if it was possible to play discovery also with Atlanteans. A sawyer or an iron more should be enough.


Top Quote
Nordfriese
Avatar
Joined: 2017-01-17, 18:07
Posts: 1192
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: 0x55555d3a34c0
Posted at: 2021-02-26, 17:57

https://github.com/widelands/widelands/pull/4709


Top Quote
OIPUN
Avatar
Joined: 2020-11-17, 09:34
Posts: 36
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Location: Czech
Posted at: 2021-02-26, 18:42

According to the link, it looks like Atlantean discovery should have 3 irons more now. Maybe I am wrong and it is just one. It is not easy to read the lines. 3 irons more would be a really easy start. I would expect 3 irons in total.


Top Quote
Nordfriese
Avatar
Joined: 2017-01-17, 18:07
Posts: 1192
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: 0x55555d3a34c0
Posted at: 2021-02-26, 19:11

It replaces 3 spidercloth with 3 iron. But if you consider this too easy now I'll happily remove one of the irons again face-smile.png


Top Quote
OIPUN
Avatar
Joined: 2020-11-17, 09:34
Posts: 36
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Location: Czech
Posted at: 2021-02-26, 19:31

Nordfriese wrote:

It replaces 3 spidercloth with 3 iron. But if you consider this too easy now I'll happily remove one of the irons again face-smile.png

Yes, I think 3 irons are too much. 1 should be enough. 2 are better than none :). Thank you for the changes.


Top Quote
OIPUN
Avatar
Joined: 2020-11-17, 09:34
Posts: 36
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Location: Czech
Posted at: 2021-02-26, 19:44

And maybe what about giving one more saw to Atlantean poor hamlet. Atlanteans need a lot of logs. It takes a really long time to start with just one woodcutter. It would be 4 instead of 3 saws in total then. I have played poor hamlet also with Frisians and Amazons and no one of them has such a bottleneck.

Edited: 2021-02-26, 20:08

Top Quote