Latest Posts

Topic: in game crashes

michaeljohn
Joined: 2010-05-30, 14:10
Posts: 2
Ranking
Just found this site
Posted at: 2010-06-01, 22:39

can anyone inform me as to why my widelands release 15 crashes so often?, probably at least twice during the course of the game! its starting to not be fun anymore!!, release 14 was no problem (maybe once in 3-4 hours !), but release 15 is another matter approximately 1-2 times every hour /if not more!), my computer is as follows AMD Phenom X4810 Processor with 2.61GH. 4 Gigs Memory. Grafic card Geforce 8400GS. system windows 7 Ultimate 32 bit. i appreciate any help i can get in rectifying this problem, thanks. michaeljohn

Edited: 2010-06-01, 22:42
Top Quote
QCS
Joined: 2009-12-29, 22:47
Posts: 256
Ranking
Tribe Member
Posted at: 2010-06-02, 08:13

I don't know if anyone of the active developers has a Win7 system, so this might be a bit sparsely tested.

There are certain problems with the Widelands for Windows downloads and specific system parameters, that's why there are two Widelands packages for Windows, you might try "the other Windows download" at https://launchpad.net/widelands/+download, note that there is one using GCC, and one which requires C++ Redist packages from Microsoft, check which one you downloaded and try the other face-smile.png


CMake is evil.

Top Quote
Tino
Joined: 2009-02-20, 17:05
Posts: 250
Ranking
Tribe Member
Location: Somewhere in Germany...
Posted at: 2010-06-02, 09:39

Running fine here on Win7 Pro 64bit with Phenom2 X3 and Nvidia 86600GT.

Try the "other" version as QSC suggested, or one of my daily builds: http://widelands.8-schuss.de

And when crashes happen, look into stdout.txt and stderr.out in your widelands directory or post them here (a few last lines).


Top Quote
michaeljohn
Joined: 2010-05-30, 14:10
Posts: 2
Ranking
Just found this site
Posted at: 2010-06-06, 22:47

Hi! With reference to the downloading of which package, i tried with both and it was exactly the same with both versions! i have in the compatibility menu of windows 7, altered it to be compatible with XP SP3

Edited: 2010-06-06, 22:49
Top Quote