Latest Posts

Topic: AI folly

mxb2001
Avatar
Joined: 2019-05-20, 18:49
Posts: 102
Ranking
Likes to be here
Location: Lost in dreamland
Posted at: 2020-10-26, 21:08

I don't recall if this is a known problem but the computer builds shipyards on inland lakes.

Amusing screenshot attached.

The help for including "inline" images is not very helpful, I could not make sense of it.


Attachment: shipnuts.png (1.9 MB)

--
Any typos are the fault of my laptop keyboard

Top Quote
hessenfarmer
Avatar
Joined: 2014-12-11, 23:16
Posts: 1611
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Bavaria
Posted at: 2020-10-26, 21:29

Could you please provide the version you are playing, the mapname and a replay or savegame please. Thanks for reporting


Top Quote
Nordfriese
Avatar
Joined: 2017-01-17, 18:07
Posts: 1090
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: 0x55555d3a34c0
Posted at: 2020-10-26, 22:49

Sounds like https://github.com/widelands/widelands/issues/1006 to me

The help for including "inline" images is not very helpful, I could not make sense of it.

Markup code:

![](link:://to.the/image.png)

e.g.

![](https://www.widelands.org/forum/attachment/dd0d18c4f61efca1fafde519bc571e809937085c/)


Top Quote
kaputtnik
Avatar
Joined: 2013-02-18, 20:48
Posts: 1962
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Germany
Posted at: 2020-10-27, 09:09

See also this bug especially from this comment on

The help for including "inline" images is not very helpful, I could not make sense of it.

Can you explain why it confuses you?


Top Quote
the-x
Avatar
Joined: 2019-01-19, 13:23
Posts: 674
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Posted at: 2020-10-27, 11:08

mxb2001 wrote:

I don't recall if this is a known problem but the computer builds shipyards on inland lakes

Since the AI builds several ports this is more a feature than a bug ; -) what looks more like a bug is that all soldiers have zero Promotions - this is for new players not good cause they ask why do the soldiers have 4 unused dots over their head, as well as for experienced who wants to experiment


Top Quote
the-x
Avatar
Joined: 2019-01-19, 13:23
Posts: 674
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Posted at: 2020-10-27, 11:10

kaputtnik wrote:

The help for including "inline" images is not very helpful, I could not make sense of it.

Can you explain why it confuses you?

I guess cause its not trivial the first time when you doing your first post


Top Quote
hessenfarmer
Avatar
Joined: 2014-12-11, 23:16
Posts: 1611
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Bavaria
Posted at: 2020-10-27, 11:28

the-x wrote:

mxb2001 wrote:

I don't recall if this is a known problem but the computer builds shipyards on inland lakes

Since the AI builds several ports this is more a feature than a bug ; -)

This is really a bug. as it should not happen to build a shipyard on a lake without any portspace. However I am unsure which one it is and how to solve it. So if you are not familiar with the AI code (which apparantly you aren't) please do not state wrong facts about it.

what looks more like a bug is that all soldiers have zero Promotions - this is for new players not good cause they ask why do the soldiers have 4 unused dots over their head, as well as for experienced who wants to experiment

whether this is a bug can't be determined from the image alone. True is that the AI needs more time to promote soldiers, and this is different from tribe to tribe and could use some improvement. But knowing the problem is different from knowing the solution which we don't have yet.


Top Quote
mxb2001
Avatar
Joined: 2019-05-20, 18:49
Posts: 102
Ranking
Likes to be here
Location: Lost in dreamland
Posted at: 2020-10-29, 00:05

hessenfarmer wrote:

Could you please provide the version you are playing, the mapname and a replay or savegame please. Thanks for reporting

Oh it is a real bug, didn't expect that.

It is build 21 (via flatpak undr Debian 9), the map is Europa 1.2 with street of Bosporus (downloaded, unofficial).

Including a savegame (could not determine from filenames what replay was correct as I am playing two games alternatingly).

Not sure if this is useful but the AI was Atlanteans playing France. The location is quite near their HQ (on screen I think) so it would have been built early on. Also not sure what lake this is supposed to be as I don't know of any large lakes in France.


Attachment: europa.wgf (2.3 MB)

--
Any typos are the fault of my laptop keyboard

Top Quote
mxb2001
Avatar
Joined: 2019-05-20, 18:49
Posts: 102
Ranking
Likes to be here
Location: Lost in dreamland
Posted at: 2020-10-29, 00:07

Nordfriese wrote:

Sounds like https://github.com/widelands/widelands/issues/1006 to me

The help for including "inline" images is not very helpful, I could not make sense of it.

Markup code: ![](link:://to.the/image.png) e.g. ![](https://www.widelands.org/forum/attachment/dd0d18c4f61efca1fafde519bc571e809937085c/)

Still a little confused... I can't use this to upload a file from my PC? It must be a image on the Interweb?


--
Any typos are the fault of my laptop keyboard

Top Quote
mxb2001
Avatar
Joined: 2019-05-20, 18:49
Posts: 102
Ranking
Likes to be here
Location: Lost in dreamland
Posted at: 2020-10-29, 00:10

the-x wrote:

mxb2001 wrote:

I don't recall if this is a known problem but the computer builds shipyards on inland lakes

Since the AI builds several ports this is more a feature than a bug ; -) what looks more like a bug is that all soldiers have zero Promotions - this is for new players not good cause they ask why do the soldiers have 4 unused dots over their head, as well as for experienced who wants to experiment

No bug dude. I've got plenty of Level 10's but they're just not at this front. The AI is almost dead and recruits is all it has left to defend. Oh as I recall the big heroes are off screen coming from some towers and castles, I hit screengrab just as the first wave of recruits arrived when I saw the crazy lake port.


--
Any typos are the fault of my laptop keyboard

Top Quote