Currently Online

Latest Posts

Topic: artefacts not recognised after last upgrade

CrisiusXIII
Avatar
Joined: 2020-09-01, 07:18
Posts: 8
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Posted at: 2020-09-19, 04:39

Hi I was playing the (single player) campain about "neptunes revenge" and almost have gathered my 6 artifacts. I made an update to 1.0~git24891[2b723c4@master] and now the engine does give an error about the artifacts. I reloaded severall savegames and the one were the artifacts are partly found are reject with an error about 'artifact02' or 'artifact03' , so there are not playable at this time. If i know were to find the error log i will copie them. meanwhile i was looking to the editor and my litlle test map. There i saw that there are FOUR artefacts in 'immobile' while the campaign has SIX artefacts!!!! is that the error couse??? in the editor only 4 from 6 pictures are given. cheers

ps from screen: view: invalid map_object_descr: artifact03

ppss from widelands/widelands > widelands/wide.log

[00:01:14.166 real] WARNING: Economy still has flags left on destruction
[00:01:14.167 real] WARNING: ObjectManager: ouch! remaining objects
[00:01:14.167 real] DEBUG: lastserial: 1831
[00:01:14.170 real] DEBUG: Initializing economy serial
[00:01:14.192 real] DEBUG: lastserial: 0
[00:01:14.193 real] ERROR: Game data error
[00:01:14.193 real] ERROR: view: invalid map_object_descr: artifact03

Edited by kaputtnik: Use Codeblocks

Edited: 2020-09-19, 10:27

Top Quote
hessenfarmer
Avatar
Joined: 2014-12-11, 23:16
Posts: 1540
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Bavaria
Posted at: 2020-09-19, 19:56

CrisiusXIII wrote:

Hi I was playing the (single player) campain about "neptunes revenge" and almost have gathered my 6 artifacts. I made an update to 1.0~git24891[2b723c4@master] and now the engine does give an error about the artifacts. I reloaded severall savegames and the one were the artifacts are partly found are reject with an error about 'artifact02' or 'artifact03' , so there are not playable at this time. If i know were to find the error log i will copie them. meanwhile i was looking to the editor and my litlle test map. There i saw that there are FOUR artefacts in 'immobile' while the campaign has SIX artefacts!!!! is that the error couse??? in the editor only 4 from 6 pictures are given. cheers

ps from screen: view: invalid map_object_descr: artifact03

ppss from widelands/widelands > widelands/wide.log

~~~~ [00:01:14.166 real] WARNING: Economy still has flags left on destruction [00:01:14.167 real] WARNING: ObjectManager: ouch! remaining objects [00:01:14.167 real] DEBUG: lastserial: 1831 [00:01:14.170 real] DEBUG: Initializing economy serial [00:01:14.192 real] DEBUG: lastserial: 0 [00:01:14.193 real] ERROR: Game data error [00:01:14.193 real] ERROR: view: invalid map_object_descr: artifact03 ~~~~

Edited by kaputtnik: Use Codeblocks

Well, I believe this is probably due to some changes about chacking the existence of objects where a change was made and recently reverted https://github.com/widelands/widelands/commit/5aad2d0d8a3df82be65b9f56b2e7bb8e2f44304a
Best thing would be to reinstall the version you started the game with and finish it with this one. It has nothing to do with the number of artifacts as the game knows only 4 of them (you can check this in the editor for example) but in empire 3 you need to find 6 of them. If you look at the provided picture you'll realise that of 2 types there are 2 to find.


Top Quote
niektory
Avatar
Joined: 2019-06-03, 20:06
Posts: 177
Ranking
At home in WL-forums
Location: Poland
Posted at: 2020-09-20, 06:47

Thanks for reporting. Bug: Neptune's Revenge is broken #4279


Top Quote
hessenfarmer
Avatar
Joined: 2014-12-11, 23:16
Posts: 1540
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Bavaria
Posted at: 2020-09-20, 22:34

can't confirm th issue with the artifacts in an attempt with current trunk.
Problem is that in development we might break savegame comaptibility quite often until we finall reach a release canditate whre we try to maintain this to the previous release.
So playing a trunk version is always an adventure.


Top Quote
CrisiusXIII
Avatar
Joined: 2020-09-01, 07:18
Posts: 8
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Posted at: 2020-09-23, 21:12

hessenfarmer wrote:

can't confirm th issue with the artifacts in an attempt with current trunk.
Problem is that in development we might break savegame comaptibility quite often until we finall reach a release canditate whre we try to maintain this to the previous release.
So playing a trunk version is always an adventure.

Hello, if it helps i can upload the savefile. I am on debian and used indeed the trunk version. If the version of the engine is embeded in the savefile a batchfiles theoretical could find the correct build of the engine if available.(but you dont me mee for that idear) I experienc the save green fog or 'algea-soup' aswell. Its after saving a game and re-opening it. AND its the fog part that olds from before the save. visible are the surroundings from buildings. when sailing to still real fogged parts, those are decently revealed.

I think that in "checkmate" things work alright. revealed fog looks like a dark layer. perhaps the layer info is mis-variabled or has the wrong pointer?


Top Quote
CrisiusXIII
Avatar
Joined: 2020-09-01, 07:18
Posts: 8
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Posted at: 2020-09-23, 21:19

the upload of "Neptune's Revenge (Recover the shrine) the save before this has the error on artifact02 instead of 03 its from an debian install, dont know if that matters


Top Quote
hessenfarmer
Avatar
Joined: 2014-12-11, 23:16
Posts: 1540
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Bavaria
Posted at: 2020-09-23, 22:34

ok I can confirm the bug and I can reproduce it. However i am not sure what is the cause. But there is a chance it might be cured with the vision fix currently underway.
Thanks for reporting.


Top Quote