Currently Online

Latest Posts

Topic: Add-On

the-x
Avatar
Joined: 2019-01-19, 13:23
Posts: 636
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Posted at: 2020-09-17, 11:22

We have collected many Ideas for a potential Add-On to widelands. The aim of the add-on could be customization, which means that players can change parameters to have a nice experience. Probably it shouldnt change anything in graphics or anything else that needs a lot of time to do, but only in making parameters adaptive, like

  • Create your own wares at the start in HQ

    • Maybe you like a challenge with very low wares and want to give your AI opponent even more than a trading outpost
    • You want to sail to an Island with the lowest wares that are possible? Find out and then play.
  • Change the health, evade parameters for games in single player and give the AI +20% Bonus


Top Quote
hessenfarmer
Avatar
Joined: 2014-12-11, 23:16
Posts: 1554
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Bavaria
Posted at: 2020-09-17, 12:59

the-x wrote:

We have collected many Ideas for a potential Add-On to widelands. The aim of the add-on could be customization, which means that players can change parameters to have a nice experience. Probably it shouldnt change anything in graphics or anything else that needs a lot of time to do, but only in making parameters adaptive, like

  • Create your own wares at the start in HQ

Is already possible just copy the HQ starting condition and create a new one from this. (or make a backup and change the values as you like)

    • Maybe you like a challenge with very low wares and want to give your AI opponent even more than a trading outpost

can be done with the same principle just create new start conditions and add them to data/tribes/initialization/init.lua

    • You want to sail to an Island with the lowest wares that are possible? Find out and then play.

Implemented, more the less, You may modify the discovery condition to lower the wares even further. in the way described above.

  • Change the health, evade parameters for games in single player and give the AI +20% Bonus

currently not doable per Player but per tribe. so copy a tribe and name it tribe_AI might do the trick. But this is a bit more complicated as there are multiple files in different locations to copy.


Top Quote
the-x
Avatar
Joined: 2019-01-19, 13:23
Posts: 636
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Posted at: 2020-09-17, 13:04

hessenfarmer wrote:

the-x wrote:

We have collected many Ideas for a potential Add-On to widelands. The aim of the add-on could be customization, which means that players can change parameters to have a nice experience. Probably it shouldnt change anything in graphics or anything else that needs a lot of time to do, but only in making parameters adaptive, like

  • Create your own wares at the start in HQ

Is already possible just copy the HQ starting condition and create a new one from this. (or make a backup and change the values as you like)

    • Maybe you like a challenge with very low wares and want to give your AI opponent even more than a trading outpost

can be done with the same principle just create new start conditions and add them to data/tribes/initialization/init.lua

Sounds very interesting, im just gonna try it


Top Quote
the-x
Avatar
Joined: 2019-01-19, 13:23
Posts: 636
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Posted at: 2020-09-17, 13:15

In the "tribes" folder there are only "bildings" "images" "wares" - There is no initialization/init.lua . Maybe that problem is caused by windows but how to change the starting wares anyway?


Top Quote
hessenfarmer
Avatar
Joined: 2014-12-11, 23:16
Posts: 1554
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Bavaria
Posted at: 2020-09-17, 14:26

the-x wrote:

In the "tribes" folder there are only "bildings" "images" "wares" - There is no initialization/init.lua . Maybe that problem is caused by windows but how to change the starting wares anyway?

well tthis is the new location in current trunk. Up to b21 the starting conditions can be found in \data\tribes\scripting\starting_conditions\TRIBENAME

Custom start conditions need to be added in data\tribes\preload.lua

Edited: 2020-09-17, 14:26

Top Quote
Nordfriese
Avatar
Joined: 2017-01-17, 18:07
Posts: 1050
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: 0x55555d3a34c0
Posted at: 2020-09-17, 17:22

Why not wait until the add-on system (which is under active development and fairly mature already) is merged to master, and experiment then? face-wink.png

FYI: an example starting condition add-on that should close #3885: https://github.com/Noordfrees/wl_addons_server/tree/master/addons/stronger-trading-outpost.wad


Top Quote
the-x
Avatar
Joined: 2019-01-19, 13:23
Posts: 636
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Posted at: 2020-09-18, 11:58

hessenfarmer wrote:

the-x wrote:

In the "tribes" folder there are only "bildings" "images" "wares" - There is no initialization/init.lua . Maybe that problem is caused by windows but how to change the starting wares anyway?

well tthis is the new location in current trunk. Up to b21 the starting conditions can be found in \data\tribes\scripting\starting_conditions\TRIBENAME

Custom start conditions need to be added in data\tribes\preload.lua

I tried sometimes, but there is no initialization/init.lua, or \data\tribes\scripting\starting_conditions no matter what i try. It is also not hidden and everywhere the same problem with windows?


Top Quote
the-x
Avatar
Joined: 2019-01-19, 13:23
Posts: 636
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Posted at: 2020-09-18, 14:49

Nordfriese wrote:

Why not wait until the add-on system (which is under active development and fairly mature already) is merged to master, and experiment then? face-wink.png

FYI: an example starting condition add-on that should close #3885: https://github.com/Noordfrees/wl_addons_server/tree/master/addons/stronger-trading-outpost.wad

good idea, when gets it finished

Edited: 2020-09-18, 15:55

Top Quote
hessenfarmer
Avatar
Joined: 2014-12-11, 23:16
Posts: 1554
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Bavaria
Posted at: 2020-09-18, 14:52

the-x wrote:

hessenfarmer wrote:

the-x wrote:

In the "tribes" folder there are only "bildings" "images" "wares" - There is no initialization/init.lua . Maybe that problem is caused by windows but how to change the starting wares anyway?

well tthis is the new location in current trunk. Up to b21 the starting conditions can be found in \data\tribes\scripting\starting_conditions\TRIBENAME

Custom start conditions need to be added in data\tribes\preload.lua

I tried sometimes, but there is no initialization/init.lua, or \data\tribes\scripting\starting_conditions no matter what i try. It is also not hidden and everywhere the same problem with windows?

you need to start in the folder where the game was installed. Default is Username/appdata/local/widelands in this folder you find the data folder. Appdata is a hidden folder though.


Top Quote
JanO
Avatar
Joined: 2015-08-02, 11:56
Posts: 162
Ranking
At home in WL-forums
Posted at: 2020-09-18, 17:14

You could also ask your operating systems's search function and make it look out for ANY *init.lua on your hard disk face-wink.png
The you just pick the one which seems to make most sense.


Top Quote