Currently Online

Latest Posts

Topic: Soldier overview

hessenfarmer
Avatar
Joined: 2014-12-11, 23:16
Posts: 1609
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Bavaria
Posted at: 2020-07-21, 21:20

Nordfriese wrote:

Amazon soldier: 4 health levels (0-3) × 3 attack levels (0-2) × 3 defence levels (0-2) × 4 evade levels (0-3) = 144

Ok, thanks. Got it.
However this is no fixed limit as for example the europeans branch from a user had much more levels for each property.
So I would vote for having only values for each property separatly like (2 soldiers level 2 Attack, 4 level 3 attack, and so on. This would be a clear indicator where your training lacks I believe.


Top Quote
Nordfriese
Avatar
Joined: 2017-01-17, 18:07
Posts: 1089
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: 0x55555d3a34c0
Posted at: 2020-07-21, 21:24

The window could also have multiple tabs – one for the complete overview, and one tab for each of the four properties showing the number of soldiers at each level of this property


Top Quote
WorldSavior
Avatar
Joined: 2016-10-15, 04:10
Posts: 1839
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: North of Germany
Posted at: 2020-07-24, 17:17

How resource-intensive would this feature be?


Top Quote
Nordfriese
Avatar
Joined: 2017-01-17, 18:07
Posts: 1089
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: 0x55555d3a34c0
Posted at: 2020-07-24, 19:13

If we try to count all soldiers on every tick, very. But we could keep lists of all soldier levels per player which are updated when soldiers are created, trained, and killed, which would be a bit more effort to code but very resource-efficient.


Top Quote
Nordfriese
Avatar
Joined: 2017-01-17, 18:07
Posts: 1089
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: 0x55555d3a34c0
Posted at: 2020-07-25, 10:57

https://github.com/widelands/widelands/pull/4018


Top Quote
hessenfarmer
Avatar
Joined: 2014-12-11, 23:16
Posts: 1609
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Bavaria
Posted at: 2020-07-27, 10:24

Nordfriese wrote:

https://github.com/widelands/widelands/pull/4018

Could you provide a screenshot, to continue discussion without having to build the branch first?


Top Quote
Nordfriese
Avatar
Joined: 2017-01-17, 18:07
Posts: 1089
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: 0x55555d3a34c0
Posted at: 2020-07-27, 14:30

Edited: 2020-07-27, 14:30

Attachment: wl-soldier-overview.jpg (477.2 KB)

Top Quote
GunChleoc
Avatar
Joined: 2013-10-07, 15:56
Posts: 3320
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: RenderedRect
Posted at: 2020-07-27, 16:57

I think that in the overview, replacing the 0 by an en-dash or by nothing would make it more readable.

Also, when clicking on an icon, have a label on the bottom that explains the 4 levels, just like we have in the attack box.


Busy indexing nil values

Top Quote
WorldSavior
Avatar
Joined: 2016-10-15, 04:10
Posts: 1839
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: North of Germany
Posted at: 2020-07-27, 18:11

Nice feature! I wonder what happens to the display when there are hundreds, thousands or even tenthousands of soldiers of one category.

It looks like "Overview" is the default tab, which would be good.


Top Quote
Native
Avatar
Joined: 2020-03-04, 22:11
Posts: 11
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Location: Bietigheim-Bissingen
Posted at: 2020-07-27, 18:24

One further idea: would it be possible to add this graphic/window also to the headquarter and warehouses? I always find it a bit annoying to not know what kind of soldiers are in them...


Top Quote