Polls

Default Game Speed

Log in to vote!

Latest Posts

Topic: Unable to build - boost errors

kaputtnik
Avatar
Joined: 2013-02-18, 20:48
Posts: 1770
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Germany
Posted at: 2019-11-12, 20:46

I am also on archlinux but for me all is fine without adjusting anything.

-- The C compiler identification is GNU 9.2.0                                                                                                         
-- The CXX compiler identification is GNU 9.2.0
-- Check for working C compiler: /usr/bin/cc
-- Check for working C compiler: /usr/bin/cc -- works
-- Detecting C compiler ABI info
-- Detecting C compiler ABI info - done
-- Detecting C compile features
-- Detecting C compile features - done
-- Check for working CXX compiler: /usr/bin/c++
-- Check for working CXX compiler: /usr/bin/c++ -- works
-- Detecting CXX compiler ABI info
-- Detecting CXX compiler ABI info - done
-- Detecting CXX compile features
-- Detecting CXX compile features - done
-- Building with XDG support
-- Found Boost: /usr/lib64/cmake/Boost-1.71.0/BoostConfig.cmake (found suitable version "1.71.0", minimum required is "1.48") found components:  unit_test_framework regex system 
-- Found PythonInterp: /usr/bin/python (found version "3.7.4")
...
-- Version of Widelands Build is r5567[ea87fe5@master](Release)
....

So from my side there is no boost issue here.


Top Quote
hessenfarmer
Avatar
Joined: 2014-12-11, 23:16
Posts: 807
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Bavaria
Posted at: 2019-11-12, 21:17

Hmm. I am not sure about this, but there was a similar issue on the MSYS environment. In some cases the cmake detection does not work properly with our detection algorithm. However I solved this by googleing and trying, but I really didn' have understand this completely. So I believe it is possible to have the issue in some installations and not in others. At least this needs to be investigated I believe. The "fix" applied is to disable one detection path of 2 fighting mechanisms. But not sure about this as well.


Top Quote
kaputtnik
Avatar
Joined: 2013-02-18, 20:48
Posts: 1770
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Germany
Posted at: 2019-11-12, 21:36

I wonder about the used versions:

The shown version from Tribal-Chief is:

-- Version of Widelands Build is rb'24260'b'f1fa8f3'@b'HEAD'

Whereas my version is shown as:

-- Version of Widelands Build is r5567[ea87fe5@master](Release)

Beside the different revision numbers, the b' shows that the output is marked as a python byte string. Don't know why...


Top Quote
kaputtnik
Avatar
Joined: 2013-02-18, 20:48
Posts: 1770
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Germany
Posted at: 2019-11-12, 22:03

@Tribal-Chief:

Please describe all steps in detail how you get the source code.
And which revision do you want to compile.


Top Quote
Tino
Joined: 2009-02-20, 17:05
Posts: 252
Ranking
Tribe Member
Location: Somewhere in Germany...
Posted at: 2019-11-13, 07:51

kaputtnik wrote:

I wonder about the used versions:

The shown version from Tribal-Chief is: ~~~~ -- Version of Widelands Build is rb'24260'b'f1fa8f3'@b'HEAD' ~~~~

Whereas my version is shown as:

~~~~ -- Version of Widelands Build is r5567ea87fe5@master ~~~~

Beside the different revision numbers, the b' shows that the output is marked as a python byte string. Don't know why...

https://github.com/widelands/widelands/commit/e209f37cea9cdd8173d0c5a79527cd52f7347b47


Top Quote
Tribal-Chief
Avatar
Joined: 2018-12-09, 17:16
Posts: 41
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Posted at: 2019-11-13, 10:05

I followed the instructions on this site.

fork widelands/widelands

git clone <my fork>

run compile script

I was assuming this would get me the latest trunk.


Top Quote
hessenfarmer
Avatar
Joined: 2014-12-11, 23:16
Posts: 807
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Bavaria
Posted at: 2019-11-13, 12:56

Tino wrote:

https://github.com/widelands/widelands/commit/e209f37cea9cdd8173d0c5a79527cd52f7347b47

It might be that this commit has been overridden by the last commit of Sirver into utils detect_revision.py so at least the differing version description might be explainable. Still we need to find out what might cause the boost issues seen in MSYS and by tribal-chief.


Top Quote
hessenfarmer
Avatar
Joined: 2014-12-11, 23:16
Posts: 807
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Bavaria
Posted at: 2019-11-13, 13:00

Tribal-Chief wrote:

I followed the instructions on this site.

fork widelands/widelands

git clone <my fork>

run compile script

I was assuming this would get me the latest trunk.

from my perspective this assumption is correct at the time of the fork. Afterwards you need to update the fork with the changes in master. However I beleive this might explain the differing widelands version (see my last post) but not the boost issue.


Top Quote
jmoerschbach
Avatar
Joined: 2019-09-26, 21:40
Posts: 4
Ranking
Just found this site
Posted at: 2019-11-13, 19:55

Tribal-Chief wrote:

I followed the instructions on this site.

fork widelands/widelands

git clone <my fork>

run compile script

I was assuming this would get me the latest trunk.

Did you downgrade boot as mentioned in step 5? I'm on windows using msys with no problems at all following closely all the steps provided in https://www.widelands.org/wiki/BuildingWidelandsUnderWindowsNew/


Top Quote
Tribal-Chief
Avatar
Joined: 2018-12-09, 17:16
Posts: 41
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Posted at: 2019-11-13, 22:27

Why would I even look at at windows install, and downgrading boot, or did you mean boost, is not really an option as I need the latest boost for many projects.


Top Quote