Polls

Default Game Speed

Log in to vote!

Latest Posts

Topic: Resolution Problem

KristyStevens
Avatar
Joined: 2019-06-25, 06:24
Posts: 1
Ranking
Just found this site
Posted at: 2019-06-25, 06:29

Hi all!

I just downloaded the little gem and started it but everything is far to small for me to play, could anyone please give me an advice on how to make this run?

My resolution is 2560 x 1440 but as I said, this makes everythung ultra tiny and as I understand it cant be zoomed. Switching to any other resolution with "Full Screen" Box ticked does nothing, unticking the "Full Screen" box and changing the resolution just makes the game window smaller and smaller, the gameworld itself stays very tiny.

Thank you for anyone who has some advice on this issue?


Top Quote
kaputtnik
Avatar
Joined: 2013-02-18, 20:48
Posts: 1771
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Germany
Posted at: 2019-06-25, 07:42

Hi KristyStevens and welcome to the Forum! face-smile.png

Which operating system do you use?

There is a known problem with big resolutions, see e.g. the thread 4k Problem. Someone is working on this, but it may take some time until widelands support such resolutions.

Does zooming in (mouse scrollwhell) not work either?


Top Quote
WorldSavior
Avatar
Joined: 2016-10-15, 04:10
Posts: 1317
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: GER
Posted at: 2019-06-25, 07:55

KristyStevens wrote:

My resolution is 2560 x 1440 but as I said, this makes everythung ultra tiny and as I understand it cant be zoomed.

Only in versions which are older than build20 you cannot zoom. Zooming works not only by scrolling but also by ctrl++ and ctrl+-


“It's a threat to our planet to believe that someone else will save it.” - Robert Swan

Top Quote
GunChleoc
Avatar
Joined: 2013-10-07, 15:56
Posts: 3058
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: RenderedRect
Posted at: 2019-06-25, 08:48

Also, you can only zoom the map, not the UI. Sorry about that. We are still quite a way away from having a fully configurable UI.


Busy indexing nil values

Top Quote
stonerl
Avatar
Joined: 2018-07-30, 00:03
Posts: 273
Ranking
Tribe Member
Location: Earth
Posted at: 2019-06-25, 13:22

Another option would be to use the scaling option available in the Display/Screen settings of your operating system.


Top Quote
GunChleoc
Avatar
Joined: 2013-10-07, 15:56
Posts: 3058
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: RenderedRect
Posted at: 2019-06-25, 16:29

Unfortunately, that will result in pretty fuzzy rendering under Windows. I did a bit of research into that but it seems to be hard to access that part of the Windows API without Visual Studio.


Busy indexing nil values

Top Quote