Currently Online

Latest Posts

Topic: cannot connect to multiplayer lobby

king_of_nowhere
Avatar
Joined: 2014-09-15, 18:35
Posts: 1307
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Posted at: 2019-06-16, 14:06

I tried to join the multiplayer lobby. I got an error message stating

widelands could not establish a connection to the given address. Either there was no metaserver running at the supposed port or your network setup is broken

I did not touch my network setup, and I wouldn't know how to anyway. how can that be fixed? I tried disabling firewall, no progress

Edited: 2019-06-16, 14:09
Top Quote
Notabilis
Avatar
Joined: 2016-11-03, 20:37
Posts: 32
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Posted at: 2019-06-16, 14:35

The metaserver seems to work fine, so there might be something wrong on your end. Do you have any console output of widelands? There should be a line similar to:

[NetClient]: Trying to connect to 85.214.243.231:7395 ... success.

If it is, is there the same IP address listed as in the line above? Are there any other messages regarding the network?

Have you tried connecting to another metaserver? In your widelands configuration file (.widelands/config) there might be a line

metaserver=...

If it is, remove it.

Edited: 2019-06-16, 14:43
Top Quote
king_of_nowhere
Avatar
Joined: 2014-09-15, 18:35
Posts: 1307
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Posted at: 2019-06-16, 23:40

I checked the config file, I found no metaserver line.

How do I produce the console output? thanks


Top Quote
Notabilis
Avatar
Joined: 2016-11-03, 20:37
Posts: 32
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Posted at: 2019-06-17, 07:42

It depends on the operating system and I am not sure what you are using.

Under Windows, there might be a file "stdout.txt" in the same folder as the config file. Otherwise, go to the folder where Widelands is installed, If you see the file "Widelands.exe", open a console in that folder (right click on the folder and "Open command prompt" might work). Then, start Widelands with "./Widelands.exe" and you should see the console output.


Top Quote
kaputtnik
Avatar
Joined: 2013-02-18, 20:48
Posts: 1702
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Germany
Posted at: 2019-06-17, 08:54

Maybe there is also some firewall or antivirus program involved.


Top Quote
GunChleoc
Avatar
Joined: 2013-10-07, 15:56
Posts: 2891
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: RenderedRect
Posted at: 2019-06-17, 10:15

Look for C:\Users\<username>\.widelands\stdout.txt. We avoid logging to console under Windows as much as possible to prevent it from screaming for admin rights in the install directory.


Busy indexing nil values

Top Quote
king_of_nowhere
Avatar
Joined: 2014-09-15, 18:35
Posts: 1307
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Posted at: 2019-06-17, 13:33

GunChleoc wrote:

Look for C:\Users\<username>\.widelands\stdout.txt. We avoid logging to console under Windows as much as possible to prevent it from screaming for admin rights in the install directory.

I found those lines in it

InternetGaming: Connecting to the metaserver.

Could not resolve network name: resolve: Host sconosciuto [unknown host in italian]

Could not resolve network name: resolve: Host sconosciuto

Warning: Could not establish connection to host

Widelands could not establish a connection to the given address.

Either there was no metaserver running at the supposed port or

your network setup is broken.

Edited: 2019-06-17, 15:42
Top Quote
Notabilis
Avatar
Joined: 2016-11-03, 20:37
Posts: 32
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Posted at: 2019-06-17, 19:15

This ... is strange. The game is unable to resolve the hostname "widelands.org" to an IP address. This is quite strange, since your webbrowser is obviously able to do so. As a workaround, you can add one of the following lines in the [global] section of your config file:

metaserver="85.214.243.231"

OR

metaserver="2a01:238:4326:5100:b5ce:5c0b:f1f4:2e40"

This should make widelands connect to the IP address of the metaserver directly without resolving the hostname. It should work fine for a few days but will probably stop working on the weekend. If it no longer works, remove the line and try again. If it still does not work, feel free to write here again.


Top Quote
king_of_nowhere
Avatar
Joined: 2014-09-15, 18:35
Posts: 1307
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Posted at: 2019-06-17, 19:59

I read carefully the config file, and discovered another few strange things.

first, it says registered="false", which makes no sense as I am registered. I tried switching that to true, no change.

then i found servername="f2eftef q"

It's not metaserver, but maybe it's related?

Anyway, I tried adding the lines about the metaserver at the bottom of the config file. I added them right after [global]. I tried one, and then I tried the other. none of them worked.

EDIT: my log says the same things it said before

Edited: 2019-06-17, 20:01
Top Quote
Notabilis
Avatar
Joined: 2016-11-03, 20:37
Posts: 32
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Posted at: 2019-06-17, 20:47

The "registered" line should indeed be "true", maybe you logged in with a different name last time? Anyway, it doesn't matters regarding your current problem, since Widelands does not come so far. The "servername" is the name of the internet games you start. A bit strange, but no problem.

But something is definitely odd here. You do reach this forum with the same computer you are trying to run Widelands on, right?

You could try renaming the "config" file to something else so a new one is created. I doubt that this will change anything, though.

Another idea you could try: In the config file add the "metaserver" line as before, but try "wl.widelands.org" and "85.235.66.69" as possible values. Maybe one of those will work.

When you click on your Windows startmenu and immediately type "cmd" it should offer you a program called "command prompt" (or something similar). If you start that one it should give you a black console window. Can you please try the following four commands and tell me whether any answers have been received? (I think you can copy the commands here and past them in the console with mouse right click.)

ping widelands.org

ping -6 widelands.org

ping 85.214.243.231

ping -6 2a01:238:4326:5100:b5ce:5c0b:f1f4:2e40

The first two commands should resolve our hostname and should print the IPs of the respective last two commands in their output.


Top Quote