Latest Posts

Topic: Measuring working time of productionsites

Tibor
Joined: 2009-03-23, 23:24
Posts: 1316
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Slovakia
Posted at: 2020-01-27, 11:47

Weird, do you have entire backtrace?


Top Quote
hessenfarmer
Avatar
Joined: 2014-12-11, 23:16
Posts: 1089
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Bavaria
Posted at: 2020-01-29, 10:49

Ok problem was fixed, thanks to Nordfrieses Analysis.
I did my trials yesterday evening and I couldn't notice any significant differences in performance between trunk, my new floating algorithm and the solution with 5 minutes time base on the current algorithm.
Visibly with the floating base the Ai build mor foresters and woodcutters. But this didn't have any impact on territorial performance or military efficiency.
from the Performance point the 5 Minutes base run was best performance of all AI Players in total.
So my proposal is to clean up the code from remaining artefacts and make the 5 minutes time base solution ready for merge.

For those interested I have attached a csv with the best mean Production times measured for all buildings in the run made with the 5 Minutes base.


Attachment: mean_times.txt (3.5 KB)

Top Quote
hessenfarmer
Avatar
Joined: 2014-12-11, 23:16
Posts: 1089
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Bavaria
Posted at: 2020-01-29, 22:27

ok latest (hopefully final) changes pushed. Ready for review


Top Quote
hessenfarmer
Avatar
Joined: 2014-12-11, 23:16
Posts: 1089
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Bavaria
Posted at: 2020-01-31, 12:14

change got merged into trunk


Top Quote
stonerl
Avatar
Joined: 2018-07-30, 00:03
Posts: 305
Ranking
Tribe Member
Location: Earth
Posted at: 2020-01-31, 19:19

hessenfarmer are you sure that it was necessary to introduce the *_1 and *_2 program calls? AFAIK the skip penalty for buildings only apply when all calls are skipped and the penalty gets applied to the main work program and not the subprograms.


Top Quote
hessenfarmer
Avatar
Joined: 2014-12-11, 23:16
Posts: 1089
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Bavaria
Posted at: 2020-01-31, 20:52

yes I am sure as the main program does not return a status for stats thanks to your development. If any workprogram fails or gets skipped it is added to the skiped/fail list. if it is called 2nd time in 10 secs we wait until 10 secs are gone. so this is the best solution for 3 cycle 2 program sites.


Top Quote
niektory
Avatar
Joined: 2019-06-03, 20:06
Posts: 45
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Posted at: 2020-02-02, 19:16

Commit 726d3d - fixed 3 program cycles broke savegame compatibility:

buildingdata: building 6775: productionsite
(atlanteans_smelting_works):
[../src/logic/map_objects/tribes/productionsite.cc:262]
atlanteans_smelting_works has no program 'smelt_iron'

Top Quote
hessenfarmer
Avatar
Joined: 2014-12-11, 23:16
Posts: 1089
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Bavaria
Posted at: 2020-02-03, 10:49

niektory wrote:

Commit 726d3d - fixed 3 program cycles broke savegame compatibility: buildingdata: building 6775: productionsite (atlanteans_smelting_works): [../src/logic/map_objects/tribes/productionsite.cc:262] atlanteans_smelting_works has no program 'smelt_iron'

Sorry, I will have a look how to fix this.


Top Quote
hessenfarmer
Avatar
Joined: 2014-12-11, 23:16
Posts: 1089
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Bavaria
Posted at: 2020-02-03, 22:59

ok piull request for the fix is up on Github


Top Quote
GunChleoc
Avatar
Joined: 2013-10-07, 15:56
Posts: 3086
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: RenderedRect
Posted at: 2020-02-07, 10:48

Saveloading fix has been merged face-smile.png


Busy indexing nil values

Top Quote