Currently Online

Latest Posts

Topic: Saving the options

Scrags
Avatar
Joined: 2018-05-24, 16:22
Posts: 6
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Posted at: 2018-05-24, 16:34

One thing I don't like in any game is the background music, and I will turn it off if possible. I am sure there are other configurations that people need to keep changing. Is it possible to remember the choices made, so that it doesn't need to be reconfigured each time Widelands is run?


Top Quote
kaputtnik
Avatar
Joined: 2013-02-18, 20:48
Posts: 1683
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Germany
Posted at: 2018-05-24, 18:43

HI Scrags and welcome to the forums face-smile.png

After starting widelands there is a Button called 'Options'. You find there all global options, also to disable the music globally.


Top Quote
Scrags
Avatar
Joined: 2018-05-24, 16:22
Posts: 6
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Posted at: 2018-05-24, 19:24

Yes, but the point is that the options aren't saved between games.


Top Quote
WorldSavior
Avatar
Joined: 2016-10-15, 04:10
Posts: 1099
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: GER
Posted at: 2018-05-24, 19:31

Scrags wrote:

Yes, but the point is that the options aren't saved between games.

At my Widelands, they are. Do you use a version which is older than build19?


“It's a threat to our planet to believe that someone else will save it.” - Robert Swan

Top Quote
kaputtnik
Avatar
Joined: 2013-02-18, 20:48
Posts: 1683
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Germany
Posted at: 2018-05-24, 19:51

Which OS are you on?

Normally the Options settings are saved in a file called 'config' in the folder '.widelands' (note the point in front). On each restart of widelands this file is read and the settings used.


Top Quote
Scrags
Avatar
Joined: 2018-05-24, 16:22
Posts: 6
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Posted at: 2018-05-24, 20:09

Hmm... checked my ~/.widelands, and the only two entries were the subdirectories replays/ and save/.

Ran Widelands again, and the config file was generated???

Dunno why it wasn't generated before.


Top Quote
Scrags
Avatar
Joined: 2018-05-24, 16:22
Posts: 6
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Posted at: 2018-05-24, 20:09

Hmm... checked my ~/.widelands, and the only two entries were the subdirectories replays/ and save/.

Ran Widelands again, and the config file was generated???

Dunno why it wasn't generated before.


Top Quote
einstein13
Avatar
Joined: 2013-07-29, 00:01
Posts: 1030
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Poland
Posted at: 2018-05-24, 22:45

If you run Widelands and close by "x" button, the saving options can be skipped (that is on Windows).


einstein13
calculations & maps packages: http://wuatek.no-ip.org/~rak/widelands/

Top Quote
kaputtnik
Avatar
Joined: 2013-02-18, 20:48
Posts: 1683
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Germany
Posted at: 2018-05-24, 22:52

Ok, you're on linux. Which? And which version of widelands? Are you using the Ubuntu PPA?

Hopefully you didn't ran widelands with sudo prior ....

The main thing is you get it to work now face-smile.png


Top Quote
Scrags
Avatar
Joined: 2018-05-24, 16:22
Posts: 6
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Posted at: 2018-05-25, 09:54

Yep, Ubuntu 18.04 (Bionic Beaver). I would never run it as root face-wink.png


Top Quote