Latest Posts

Topic: how should i report this bug?

king_of_nowhere
Avatar
Joined: 2014-09-15, 18:35
Posts: 1421
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Posted at: 2018-04-06, 15:20

I suddenly noticed in my nile game that a couple of workers were just standing still in the middle of a flag. they both were moving - one was a soldier - but they were standing still. I took a screenshot, then saved and tried to reload to see if the problem fixed itself. but the reload crashed. it said that there is a different number of economies in the save and load.

I suspect it could be caused by the fact that I generally cut roads leading to foresters, to increase plantable area, and the game considers each isolated forester to be a separated economy. Still, I only had like 50 of them, and the game complained I had 67 instead of 64 (the number makes me think this could be a hard limit of how the game is coded).

I'm going to file a bug report about this, I just want to know: how could I describe it in the title?


Top Quote
einstein13
Avatar
Joined: 2013-07-29, 00:01
Posts: 1079
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Poland
Posted at: 2018-04-06, 17:41

Can you provide a screenshot somehow here?
(f.e. free hosting images)


einstein13
calculations & maps packages: http://wuatek.no-ip.org/~rak/widelands/

Top Quote
king_of_nowhere
Avatar
Joined: 2014-09-15, 18:35
Posts: 1421
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Posted at: 2018-04-06, 18:14

einstein13 wrote:

Can you provide a screenshot somehow here?
(f.e. free hosting images)

never tried a free image host


Top Quote
GunChleoc
Avatar
Joined: 2013-10-07, 15:56
Posts: 2986
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: RenderedRect
Posted at: 2018-04-06, 18:24

You can attach images and savegames to bugs on Launchpad.

This one sounds familiar though and it should hopefully be fixed in current trunk - which Widelands version were you on when that happened?


Busy indexing nil values

Top Quote
king_of_nowhere
Avatar
Joined: 2014-09-15, 18:35
Posts: 1421
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Posted at: 2018-04-06, 19:19

GunChleoc wrote:

You can attach images and savegames to bugs on Launchpad.

This one sounds familiar though and it should hopefully be fixed in current trunk - which Widelands version were you on when that happened?

8635.

If it is familiar, can you provide me with a link to the ongoing discussion? because, as I said, my main problem here is that i don't know how to call it to make it readable to the developers


Top Quote
GunChleoc
Avatar
Joined: 2013-10-07, 15:56
Posts: 2986
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: RenderedRect
Posted at: 2018-04-07, 18:51

I couldn't find it. It should be fixed in your version and it isn't, so maybe I misremember.


Busy indexing nil values

Top Quote
kaputtnik
Avatar
Joined: 2013-02-18, 20:48
Posts: 1760
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Germany
Posted at: 2018-04-08, 18:58

GunChleoc, not sure but do you mean soldiers getting stuck?


Top Quote
GunChleoc
Avatar
Joined: 2013-10-07, 15:56
Posts: 2986
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: RenderedRect
Posted at: 2018-04-08, 22:57

No, I meant the number of economies on saveloading bug.

I did some work on changing the economy number implementation (https://code.launchpad.net/~widelands-dev/widelands/bug-1732765-economy-refactoring) but that branch still has some issues that I couldn't solve.

Edited: 2018-04-08, 22:59

Busy indexing nil values

Top Quote
king_of_nowhere
Avatar
Joined: 2014-09-15, 18:35
Posts: 1421
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Posted at: 2018-04-09, 01:01

Well, I reported the bug here

https://bugs.launchpad.net/widelands/+bug/1762260

merge it if it turns out it's actually one of the old bugs


Top Quote
GunChleoc
Avatar
Joined: 2013-10-07, 15:56
Posts: 2986
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: RenderedRect
Posted at: 2018-04-09, 12:45

Thanks!


Busy indexing nil values

Top Quote