Currently Online

Latest Posts

Topic: missing starting files after compiling(?)

LAZA
Avatar
Joined: 2010-05-22, 12:34
Posts: 49
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Location: Winterhill, Swabia, Germany
Posted at: 2016-05-06, 14:18

Hai,

i use since some months Manjaro Xfce 64 Bit on my machine.

Now i wanted to play a game of the actual release. After opening up a bug report on

https://bugs.launchpad.net/widelands/+bug/1577703

i got more informations, but: I do not get a valid file to start the game (most possibly my fault).

What i did: - opened pamac, uninstalled all widelands packages (version 18), close all

  • open pamac, search for "widelands" and marked ''widelands-bzr r7991'' to install

  • installed

---> a window opens up, all working for long time (about 30(?) minutes on my real fast machine!)

    • downloading things and compiling a lot of files
  • closed window

---> nothing to see from Widelands files, nor on a search

In Terminal, searched for widelands-bzr*.tar.gz

  • cd /var/cache/pacman/pkg/

  • pacman -U widelands-bzr-r7991-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz

  • exit

And now i do not find anything either nor in the menu or elsewhere to start the game...

On the official site i did not find something usefull cause i had to do nothing what was mentioned there:

https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/widelands-bzr/

Can please somebody help my out what was going wrong or what is missing?

Thanks in advance LAZA


* Dell X58 *
Xeon W3680 @ 3.33 GHz
M391B5673FH0-CH9 - 12 GB @ 1.33 GHz
R7260X-DC2OC-1GD5 DirectCU II OC
SP900 64 GB SSD = root; ST3000VX000-1ES1 = home; 2x WD2003FYPS-2 = pub
BDR-208D
-
* Manjaro Testing Xfce *

Top Quote
kaputtnik
Avatar
Joined: 2013-02-18, 20:48
Posts: 1857
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Germany
Posted at: 2016-05-06, 18:32

I don't know pamac. but widelands-bzr is manged to store the executable as /usr/bin/widelands
The data files are stored in /usr/share/widelands.

Because of a menuentry: You are responsible for creating such entry yourself. Depending on your desktop its quite easy (at least in KDE) May ask the package maintainer to provide a '.desktop' file, or make such a file and add it to the AUR package. Please ask over there for doing so face-smile.png


Top Quote
LAZA
Avatar
Joined: 2010-05-22, 12:34
Posts: 49
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Location: Winterhill, Swabia, Germany
Posted at: 2016-05-07, 09:26

kaputtnik wrote:

I don't know pamac. but widelands-bzr is manged to store the executable as /usr/bin/widelands

Okay, but i cannot start the game:

'''$ sudo .\widelands sudo: .widelands: Befehl nicht gefunden '''

Trying another way from my home path i get a crash:

"$ sudo /usr/bin/widelands This is Widelands Version bzr7991[trunk] (Release) Set home directory: /root/.widelands There's no configuration file, using default values. Adding directory: /usr/share/widelands selected language: (system language) using locale de_DE.utf8 libGL error: No matching fbConfigs or visuals found libGL error: failed to load driver: swrast Graphics: Try to set Videomode 800x600 glewInit returns 1 Your OpenGL installation must be very broken. Missing GL version

Caught exception (of type '10WException') in outermost handler! The exception said: [/tmp/yaourt-tmp-frank/aur-widelands-bzr/src/widelands-bzr/src/graphic/gl/initialize.cc:90] glewInit returns 1: Broken OpenGL installation.

This should not happen. Please file a bug report on version bzr7991trunk. and remember to specify your operating system."

The data files are stored in /usr/share/widelands.

Because of a menuentry: You are responsible for creating such entry yourself. Depending on your desktop its quite easy (at least in KDE) May ask the package maintainer to provide a '.desktop' file, or make such a file and add it to the AUR package. Please ask over there for doing so face-smile.png

Okay, but first i had to sort out what is going wrong with GL...

I'm at holidays for some days so be patient

Edited: 2016-05-07, 09:27

* Dell X58 *
Xeon W3680 @ 3.33 GHz
M391B5673FH0-CH9 - 12 GB @ 1.33 GHz
R7260X-DC2OC-1GD5 DirectCU II OC
SP900 64 GB SSD = root; ST3000VX000-1ES1 = home; 2x WD2003FYPS-2 = pub
BDR-208D
-
* Manjaro Testing Xfce *

Top Quote
kaputtnik
Avatar
Joined: 2013-02-18, 20:48
Posts: 1857
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Germany
Posted at: 2016-05-07, 10:46

You should never run an executable with sudo without a special reason! Never unless you know what you are doing! This is because the configuration files in you home directory will get a wrong owner. You could see this by typing

ls -al ~/.widelands

All files there have now the owner 'root' on your system, which is terrible wrong because the normal user may not get access to them anymore. Files in you home directory should all have the owner 'YourUserName'.

Please start widelands from console (terminal) by just typing

widelands

You could use 'tab completion' for this and only type 'wide' and pressing Tab. But first you have to change the ownership of the directory and files in you home directory. This command completely removes the directory (it will be recreated if you start widelands again):

sudo rm -R ~/.widelands

Don't forget the period in front of 'widelands'


Related to the game error:

~~~~
Put in here the output
~~~~

You could copy from terminal by marking with mouse and open the context menu (right click).


Top Quote
kaputtnik
Avatar
Joined: 2013-02-18, 20:48
Posts: 1857
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Germany
Posted at: 2016-05-14, 16:15

Just an information:

The AUR widelands-bzr package doesn't work here anymore after the last update of gcc from version 5.x to version 6.x. It fails compiling ... See also: This Thread in the arch forum

Update: It works again when boost and boost-libs are updated to version 1.60.0-5

Edited: 2016-05-14, 18:04

Top Quote
LAZA
Avatar
Joined: 2010-05-22, 12:34
Posts: 49
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Location: Winterhill, Swabia, Germany
Posted at: 2016-11-13, 14:40

Okay, to come back on the theme:

Tried it again with AUR - and was a success!

Just installed it and needed its time but starts without hesitation from CLI. Version: bzr 8174


* Dell X58 *
Xeon W3680 @ 3.33 GHz
M391B5673FH0-CH9 - 12 GB @ 1.33 GHz
R7260X-DC2OC-1GD5 DirectCU II OC
SP900 64 GB SSD = root; ST3000VX000-1ES1 = home; 2x WD2003FYPS-2 = pub
BDR-208D
-
* Manjaro Testing Xfce *

Top Quote
GunChleoc
Avatar
Joined: 2013-10-07, 15:56
Posts: 3159
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: RenderedRect
Posted at: 2016-11-13, 17:11

Glad to hear that it's working now face-smile.png


Busy indexing nil values

Top Quote