Latest Posts

Topic: Debugging Widelands on Windows

Tino
Joined: 2009-02-20, 17:05
Posts: 250
Ranking
Tribe Member
Location: Somewhere in Germany...
Posted at: 2013-01-28, 07:55

Sorry, i can't help you with VS.

But i can confirm that debugging with Eclipse/CDT/Mingw32/Msys/GnuDBG is working fine.

I've just recently rebuild my complete build environment so with this software combination i could give some hints how to configure/build the required libraries...


Top Quote
abtools
Joined: 2010-01-08, 16:31
Posts: 31
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Location: Munich
Posted at: 2013-01-28, 09:51

Hello se5a,

sorry, I'm just to busy right now, but I'll give it a try here again with the latest build as soon as possible. Maybe I can find out then what the problem may be.

Best regards Andreas


Top Quote
se5a
Joined: 2011-11-26, 11:04
Posts: 28
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Posted at: 2013-01-29, 19:30

Thanks. no rush, I'm probably just doing something wrong or missing a step somewhere...

might try Tino's toolchain at some point if I get bored, but I feel like I'm so close with VS. I'm also used to using VS as well.


Top Quote
abtools
Joined: 2010-01-08, 16:31
Posts: 31
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Location: Munich
Posted at: 2013-02-03, 10:18

Hello se5a,

I think I found the problem you faced: you probably tried to compile the whole solution with Visual Studio, but you only need to compile the "ALL_BUILD" project (just right click on it and say "Build"). I also made that clear in the build on Windows wiki page now.

Doing that with Visual Studio 2010 just a single compile error was left for me in the "rt_render.cc" file and here is the way to fix it.

Replace the function in the class NewlineNode of file "rt_render.cc"

virtual IBlitableSurface* render(IGraphic& /* gr */) {
    assert(false); // This should never be called
}

with

virtual IBlitableSurface* render(IGraphic& gr) {
    assert(false); // This should never be called
    return gr.create_surface(0, 0, false);
}

This solved the compile error for me.

Please test it on your side and let me know if you can compile the project this way, too.

Best regards Andreas

Edited: 2013-02-03, 10:19
Top Quote
se5a
Joined: 2011-11-26, 11:04
Posts: 28
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Posted at: 2013-02-07, 02:44

Thanks abtools, yeah that's probably what I was doing.

It seems to build ok, but after it's done, then what?

there's nothing in the Win32DebugALL_BUILD folder except logs. if I try debug run from VS it says some other files are out of date, gives me the option to build them, then says the system can't find the file specified.


Top Quote
se5a
Joined: 2011-11-26, 11:04
Posts: 28
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Posted at: 2013-03-05, 05:28

figured it out witht he ehlp of somone on irc. its in the src/debug folder and you have to move the exe, and the VERSION file to wherever bzr is going too.


Top Quote
abtools
Joined: 2010-01-08, 16:31
Posts: 31
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Location: Munich
Posted at: 2013-03-05, 09:27

Hello se5a,

OK, good.

With the current BZR version you will notice 2 new compiler errors when compiling with Visual Studio 2010.

But I've already submitted a patch for them here: https://bugs.launchpad.net/bugs/1142781

Best regards Andreas


Top Quote