Currently Online

Latest Posts

Topic: Some ideas

Kawentsmann
Joined: 2009-04-20, 02:12
Posts: 2
Ranking
Just found this site
Location: Idstein, Germany
Posted at: 2009-04-20, 02:26

First the "Flag-Menu" (dont know its name, sry): There should be two more buttons: 1.) build-a-road-with-flags 2.) send-all-geologists

Second it should be able to pause/resume to build the houses. And lastly: while putting up it is not possible to see the range of the building. This would help to set other houses near the construction site.


Top Quote
Nasenbaer
Avatar
Joined: 2009-02-21, 18:17
Posts: 829
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Germany
Posted at: 2009-04-20, 08:31

build-a-road-with-flags

already implemented: hold down CTRL (STRG) key while ending a flag

send-all-geologists

makes no sense for me - first of all 'more geologists' does not mean 'more searched area' - the area will have the same size, so only positive aspect would be, that the area is faster searched for ressources.

In that case I prefare to have a simple, instinctive and good useable user interface over having a button for each possibility. In fact simply clicking three times the button will already send three geologists (if you have that many) face-wink.png - so I don't think that such a button is needed.

it should be able to pause/resume to build the houses

you can already do that: press "Page down" until you are in pause mode.

while putting up it is not possible to see the range of the building.

false face-wink.png - you just need to enable the option "show buildings area preview" that's it face-smile.png


Top Quote
Ex-Member
Avatar
Joined: 2009-02-26, 11:50
Posts: 70
Ranking
Likes to be here
Posted at: 2009-04-20, 14:53

it should be able to pause/resume to build the houses

you can already do that: press "Page down" until you are in pause mode.

I do not think that's what he meant. I think it is actually that, that there's a pause button in the constructionsite menu, but it does nothing (it's just a placeholder).

I do not see as well any point in send-all-geologists, and as Nasenaber said, other two are implemented.


Top Quote
Astuur
Avatar
Joined: 2009-02-28, 10:08
Posts: 733
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Frankfurt / Germany
Posted at: 2009-04-20, 19:07

One advantage: More Geologist do not leave unscanned places in the area - I usually send 4 or 5. Stopping a constructionsite could be helpful in some situations.


Being no programmer, I apologize for all my suggestions that imply undue workload and for other misjudgements due to lack of expertise or relevant skills.
I am on Win32, have no means to compile, and rely on prefabricated distributions (Thanks to Tino).

Top Quote
Magor
Joined: 2009-03-30, 07:38
Posts: 36
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Location: Königswinter, Germany
Posted at: 2009-04-20, 20:20

while putting up it is not possible to see the range of the building. false - you just need to enable the option "show buildings area preview" that's it

No, I think he means the same what I suggested some days ago: The ability to show the range of a building while it is still being built (in the construction site menu).

At the moment, you can see the buildings' range only a) when selecting a building in the build menu and b) when it is fully constructed.

And I definitively support adding a pause button in the construction site menu.

Yours, Magor


Top Quote
Kawentsmann
Joined: 2009-04-20, 02:12
Posts: 2
Ranking
Just found this site
Location: Idstein, Germany
Posted at: 2009-04-21, 18:53

Magor is right, I dont want to pause the whole game, but only one building in case of low materials.

The geologists: sometimes when calling multiple geos I klick the middle button and then the flag is destroyed... so I have to start again. Well, the real problem is my mouse moving skill, but I'm sure I'm not the only one xD. The Send-Em-All-Button would solve this problem.

already implemented: hold down CTRL (STRG) key while ending a flag

I only have to hold STRG... that shows how good my idea was ^^

yours, Swen


Top Quote