Latest Posts

Topic: Minimal start conditions

hessenfarmer
Avatar
Joined: 2014-12-11, 22:16
Posts: 2648
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Bavaria
Posted at: 2020-02-15, 10:28

Tinker wrote:

I have a section in each lua starting condition file, different for each tribe as needed.

  local has_rocks = false
  for k,f in pairs(sf:region(10)) do
     if f.immovable and f.immovable:has_attribute('rocks') then
        has_rocks = true
        break
     end
  end
  if not has_rocks then
     add_wares({
        granite = 3,})
     player:send_message(_"No rocks nearby", _"There are no rocks near to your starting position.  Therefore, you receive extra resources for bootstrapping your economy.")
  end
  local has_trees = false
  for k,f in pairs(sf:region(10)) do
     if f.immovable and f.immovable:has_attribute('tree') then
        has_trees = true
        break
     end
  end
  if not has_trees then
     add_wares({
        planks = 2,
        log = 3})
     player:send_message(_"No trees nearby", _"There are no trees near to your starting position.  Therefore, you receive extra resources for bootstrapping your economy.")

This adds wares for difficult starting conditions on some maps.

I had took the part for the rocks from stdh for poor hamlet but I didn't think of no trees condition I'll take this into account. Maybe I'll do the same thing for struggling outpost as well.


Top Quote
the-x
Avatar
Joined: 2019-01-19, 12:23
Posts: 967
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Posted at: 2020-02-15, 18:49

-> Can we make one mode which AI adaps quickly and has already more, trained soldiers which make it exciting to play?


Top Quote
the-x
Avatar
Joined: 2019-01-19, 12:23
Posts: 967
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Posted at: 2020-02-16, 12:54

Indeed this would be great, cause then everyone can make individually the AI's just how you want to make your challenge, maybe we can even make an economic AI and a rush AI


Top Quote
hessenfarmer
Avatar
Joined: 2014-12-11, 22:16
Posts: 2648
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Bavaria
Posted at: 2020-02-16, 13:04

@ the-x:
1. Are you talking to yourself?
2. I am afraid we can't as making an AI is difficult and intensive work.


Top Quote
the-x
Avatar
Joined: 2019-01-19, 12:23
Posts: 967
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Posted at: 2020-02-16, 13:06

Okay, so we cant only change parameters?


Top Quote
hessenfarmer
Avatar
Joined: 2014-12-11, 22:16
Posts: 2648
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Bavaria
Posted at: 2020-02-16, 13:11

the-x wrote:

Okay, so we cant only change parameters?

No, it is not that easy like this. It is much more complex. and it isn't as easy as telling build building1, then building2 then building3 then another building1. The difficulty is it should work on almost all maps and all tribes. the first is very tricky althouigh I think we managed it quite good so far. the latter is not that complicated as long as the tribe adheres to some basic principles. However this can't by definition not be optimized for any particular purpose.


Top Quote
stdh
Avatar
Topic Opener
Joined: 2013-08-04, 21:05
Posts: 41
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Posted at: 2020-02-20, 22:31

Hi hessenfarmer! I think it's great that you and others are doing the work to get this included in Widelands. If/when I return to this great game I surely must try it out with the Frisians. Oh, and don't forget, these start conditions are not mine, I inherited and extended them from someone who got the idea from ... etc.


Top Quote