Latest Posts

Topic: Unable to build - boost errors

Tribal-Chief
Avatar
Topic Opener
Joined: 2018-12-09, 17:16
Posts: 62
Ranking
Likes to be here
Posted at: 2019-11-10, 15:43

When trying to build from git mirror, using the compile script I get this error

CMake Error: The following variables are used in this project, but they are set to NOTFOUND. Please set them or make sure they are set and tested correctly in the CMake files:

Followed by several hundred lines like ~/widelands/src/Boost_INCLUDE_DIR

each entry has several lines after the first message listing error as

used as include directory in directory [directory name]

Edited: 2019-11-10, 15:43

Top Quote
hessenfarmer
Avatar
Joined: 2014-12-11, 23:16
Posts: 2646
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Bavaria
Posted at: 2019-11-10, 22:30

to help you we need your OS, your version of the boost package and of course the complete error log


Top Quote
Tribal-Chief
Avatar
Topic Opener
Joined: 2018-12-09, 17:16
Posts: 62
Ranking
Likes to be here
Posted at: 2019-11-11, 10:01

Archlinux, boost 1.71, which error log CMakeError.log or CMakeOutput.log? Or do you want the console output, which is hundreds of linrs of

/home/...../widelands/src/sound/Boost_INCLUDE_DIR

used as include directory in directory /home/...../widelands/src/sound

used as include directory in directory /home/...../widelands/src/sound

used as include directory in directory /home/...../widelands/src/sound

/home/...../widelands/src/ui_basic/Boost_INCLUDE_DIR

used as include directory in directory /home/....../widelands/src/ui_basic

/home/....../widelands/src/ui_fsmenu/Boost_INCLUDE_DIR

used as include directory in directory /home/...../widelands/src/ui_fsmenu

used as include directory in directory /home/...../widelands/src/ui_fsmenu

Edited: 2019-11-11, 10:01

Top Quote
hessenfarmer
Avatar
Joined: 2014-12-11, 23:16
Posts: 2646
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Bavaria
Posted at: 2019-11-11, 13:24

Maybe this is the same issue we have seen with the windows builds on appveyor. After starting the script cmake is trying to identify needed packages in the build environment after being succesful it writes down the found version.
Could you provide what is found on your system (there should be a warning provided for boost). If a warning is provided there you could try to use the following option

-DBoost_NO_BOOST_CMAKE=ON

in the the cmake commands in line 282 or 284 of compile.sh (depends whether you use ninja or make as buildtool.


Top Quote
Tribal-Chief
Avatar
Topic Opener
Joined: 2018-12-09, 17:16
Posts: 62
Ranking
Likes to be here
Posted at: 2019-11-11, 15:07

There is no message about boost being found and no warning. I get

-- Building with XDG support

-- SDL2_INCLUDE_DIR is /usr/include/SDL2

-- SDL2MAIN_LIBRARY is /usr/lib/libSDL2main.a

-- GCC >6.2.0 breaks -03, setting -02

-- Not using AddressSanitizer.

-- Adding linker flags for GLVND.

-- Version of Widelands Build is rb'24260'b'f1fa8f3'@b'HEAD'

-- Configuring done

CMake Error in src/ai/test/CMakeLists.txt:

Imported target "Boost::unit_test_framework" includes non-existent path

"/include"

in its INTERFACE_INCLUDE_DIRECTORIES. Possible reasons include:

  • The path was deleted, renamed, or moved to another location.

  • An install or uninstall procedure did not complete successfully.

  • The installation package was faulty and references files it does not provide.

Edited: 2019-11-11, 15:08

Top Quote
hessenfarmer
Avatar
Joined: 2014-12-11, 23:16
Posts: 2646
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Bavaria
Posted at: 2019-11-11, 15:55

This is strange.
If you have build from this directory before it might be worth doing a clean build by removing all built files (or building from a new directory), as the messages about boost are probably only displayed in the first (basic) execution of cmake.
However I would suggest that your boost installation might be broken as well so reinstalling boost before would be an recomendable option as well.


Top Quote
Tribal-Chief
Avatar
Topic Opener
Joined: 2018-12-09, 17:16
Posts: 62
Ranking
Likes to be here
Posted at: 2019-11-11, 16:40

I had this problem last month using the directory I have used for years. I finally gave up and deleted the whole instalation folder in case some old stuff was lying around from launchpad.

This is a new fork, co to a new folder with the same errors.

I reinstalled boost but the problem remains.


Top Quote
hessenfarmer
Avatar
Joined: 2014-12-11, 23:16
Posts: 2646
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Bavaria
Posted at: 2019-11-11, 18:14

Sorry to hear that. Did you try the cmake option given above? Else I am at loss face-sad.png


Top Quote
Tribal-Chief
Avatar
Topic Opener
Joined: 2018-12-09, 17:16
Posts: 62
Ranking
Likes to be here
Posted at: 2019-11-12, 17:38

As you said try the edit of the compile scrip if an error was reported, as ther was no reported error I did not try it. I have now tried your 'fix' and boost no appears in the list above SDL and Gcc, and the compilation works.


Top Quote
hessenfarmer
Avatar
Joined: 2014-12-11, 23:16
Posts: 2646
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Bavaria
Posted at: 2019-11-12, 19:31

Tribal-Chief wrote:

As you said try the edit of the compile scrip if an error was reported, as ther was no reported error I did not try it. I have now tried your 'fix' and boost no appears in the list above SDL and Gcc, and the compilation works.

Ok good to hear that. So it is definitive a boost issue we need to cope with in compile.sh. I will add an issue on git.


Top Quote