Latest Posts

Topic: how do mine production works?

king_of_nowhere
Avatar
Topic Opener
Joined: 2014-09-15, 18:35
Posts: 1668
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Posted at: 2017-02-26, 21:44

I tought there was something on mines that made them produce different amount of goods every time. I think I saw an atlantean coal mine give out one, two and even three pieces of coal with a single cycle. So you're telling me it is a mistake on my part?


Top Quote
fuchur

Joined: 2009-10-07, 14:01
Posts: 186
Ranking
Widelands-Forum-Junkie
Location: Germany
Posted at: 2017-02-26, 21:53

The atlantean coal mine has a working program with 3 mining steps:

   programs = {
      work = {
         -- TRANSLATORS: Completed/Skipped/Did not start mining coal because ...
         descname = _"mining coal",
         actions = {
            "sleep=45000",
            "return=skipped unless economy needs coal",
            "consume=smoked_fish,smoked_meat:2 atlanteans_bread:2",
            "animate=working 20000",
            "mine=coal 4 100 5 2",
            "produce=coal:2",
            "animate=working 20000",
            "mine=coal 4 100 5 2",
            "produce=coal:2",
            "animate=working 20000",
            "mine=coal 4 100 5 2",
            "produce=coal:3"
         }
      },
   },

First the sleep part, then eat something, and 3 times produce coal (2, 2, and 3). So, it's always the same coal but the cycle consists of several steps.


Top Quote
WorldSavior
Avatar
Joined: 2016-10-15, 04:10
Posts: 2091
OS: Linux
Version: Recent tournament version
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Germany
Posted at: 2017-02-26, 21:59

king_of_nowhere wrote:

I tought there was something on mines that made them produce different amount of goods every time. I think I saw an atlantean coal mine give out one, two and even three pieces of coal with a single cycle. So you're telling me it is a mistake on my part?

Okay, so the mine coal mine is atlantean face-tongue.png

As Fuchur said, "one two three" is not normal there.

So "one two three" would not be possible if the ressources are not very very low


Wanted to save the world, then I got widetracked

Top Quote
king_of_nowhere
Avatar
Topic Opener
Joined: 2014-09-15, 18:35
Posts: 1668
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Posted at: 2017-02-27, 00:40

could also be that the mine was close to empty and i mistoook that for the normal behavior


Top Quote
WorldSavior
Avatar
Joined: 2016-10-15, 04:10
Posts: 2091
OS: Linux
Version: Recent tournament version
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Germany
Posted at: 2017-02-28, 17:38

Aha, okay...


Wanted to save the world, then I got widetracked

Top Quote
Nordfriese
Avatar
Joined: 2017-01-17, 18:07
Posts: 1929
OS: Debian Testing
Version: Latest master
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: 0x55555d3a34c0
Posted at: 2017-03-01, 11:57

By the way, I was wondering how exactly a mine´s "out of resources" message is triggered. On many maps, it is necessary to have lots of empty mines and rely on a 5% production chance. Such mines always fill my inbox with "No resources" messages, which is really annoying. But I can´t see when exactly a mine sends such a message: Is it after every unsuccessful attempt to work, or at the first failure after it produced something, or in fixed intervals?


Top Quote
GunChleoc
Avatar
Joined: 2013-10-07, 15:56
Posts: 3324
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: RenderedRect
Posted at: 2017-03-01, 12:35

There is a time limit that it will not trigger such messages for mines more often than every 60 minutes gametime.

The message is triggered when the resources fall below a percentage that is defined for each mine individually.


Busy indexing nil values

Top Quote
Nordfriese
Avatar
Joined: 2017-01-17, 18:07
Posts: 1929
OS: Debian Testing
Version: Latest master
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: 0x55555d3a34c0
Posted at: 2017-03-01, 13:05

(Perhaps this is a bit off-topic:)

In games where the player needs lots of empty mines, it´s really annoying that the message is repeated. I think it would be better if the message were triggered only once: The first-ever time a mine fails to produce.

Another possibility would be to add a "suppress warnings" button to the mine window (that could also be done for lumberjacks and their "no trees" message), which allows you to select whether you want to get the repeated warnings like now (default) or none at all. (Though I think the first suggestion would probably be easier to implement)


Top Quote
GunChleoc
Avatar
Joined: 2013-10-07, 15:56
Posts: 3324
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: RenderedRect
Posted at: 2017-03-01, 14:23

The suppress warnings button has been suggested multiple times for the lumberjacks. I was always in favour of tweaking the production thresholds instead. That can't be done for mines though, so we might need a button after all.


Busy indexing nil values

Top Quote
kaputtnik
Avatar
Joined: 2013-02-18, 20:48
Posts: 2433
OS: Archlinux
Version: current master
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Germany
Posted at: 2017-03-01, 15:34

Some time ago the "Out of ressources" message was discussed and a Bug report was opened for this face-smile.png


Fight simulator for Widelands:
https://wide-fighter.netlify.app/

Top Quote